We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”
Review of Adam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adam Hotel
Ranked #96 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Central location”
Reviewed August 19, 2006

Adam Guesthouse is situated at a convenient location. It's on the street running down from the famous church- Hallgrimskirkja, and you can even walk from the BSI Bus Terminal. There is a convenient store next to the guesthouse.
We arrived at 24:30, and the lady who let us in was very nice. However, after that we didn't see much of the staff. We were left pretty much on our own and there is no formal check in desk/reception area.
In the room there was tv, private bath, kitchen sink, fridge. Found the duvets to be very comfy.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — No staff seen during stay
  • Tips/Secrets — Confirm how to check out when you arrive.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dontnowhere2stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnar G, Owner at Adam Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello,
we would like to thank you very much for your stay!
You have booked SHARED facility accommodation..thats why price and standard is lower, than if you would pay for PRIVATE accommodation.
We will be happy to host you again sometime in future in our PRIVATE accommodation, where each room is equipped with a private bathroom, television, refrigerator and a basic kitchen necessary to make your own breakfast. All rooms have free WiFi Internet connection. Downstairs we have a grocery shop that's open til late and also lobby/coffee shop, where you can enjoy a cup of your favorite brew, to have a breakfast, or just browse the internet on our free WiFi hot spot.
We can provide you also with car rental service and arrange the airport transportation for you.
Thank you very much !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    19
    25
    61
See reviews for
6
44
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge, england
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2006

I was, to say the least, astonished to log on to Trip Advisor and see that the Adam Guesthouse has two five-star reviews. We arrived there after a week walking in the interior, staying in tents or communal huts. All we really wanted was a comfy bed and a clean room. A warm welcome would have been a pleasant bonus. I had booked a room at the Adam weeks before setting off for Iceland. On our arrival, no rooms were available in the main building. We were informed this in a cramped and stale smelling office. We were taken, by an exceedingly grumpy man who I believe was the owner, to an outhouse around the back of the main building and shown into what can only be described as a hovel. It was a fairly large room, with attached kitchenette and en-suite bathroom. The kitchen floor was filthy stained lino, and gave off such a general air of grime that I wouldn't have cooked there if you'd paid me. The curtains were dirty, frayed and held up with pins. There were also slatted blinds in varying states of collapse. The decor was hideous. The carpet was also dirty. The paint on the window frames was peeling and the windows hadn't been cleaned in months if not longer. The entire room reeked of stale cigarettes. The bed was, to be fair, perfectly comfortable, but the overall effect of this room was to induce deep depression. (For the sake of completness, the bathroom was also okay - it was wet-room style, which was a little impractical as the floor around the toilet would be soaked when you had a shower, but in the grand scheme of things this barely registered). Both of us had come down with a chest infection while in the interior and, while adrenelin had kept us going on the walk, were feeling very ropey by this stage. We were in no state for an argument or, more importantly, for trecking around looking for somewhere else to stay. As we were only booked in for two nights before heading off along the south coast, we decided to tolerate the room. This Guesthouse advertises itself on the basis of its recently renovated rooms (see the photo attached to an earlier review). To use this room as overflow, without any sort of discount (and no discount could be big enough) is a total and utter disgrace. I spoke to another member of staff, who was very pleasant and said she would see if she could get us a better room the following day. Nothing ever happened. I was stupid enough (and tired and ill enough, in my own defence) to pay at the start of my stay before I saw the room. Never again. If anyone who reads this still feels like handing their money to people who will fleece tourists in this way, for goodness' sake insist on a room in the main building. This was, by a country mile, the worst hotel room I have ever stayed in, anywhere.

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — The grime and the smell
  • Tips/Secrets — Sleep in a bus shelter if this room is your only alternative
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank mackemflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnar G, Owner at Adam Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello,
we would like to thank you very much for your stay!
You have booked SHARED facility accommodation..thats why price and standard is lower, than if you would pay for PRIVATE accommodation.
We will be happy to host you again sometime in future in our PRIVATE accommodation, where each room is equipped with a private bathroom, television, refrigerator and a basic kitchen necessary to make your own breakfast. All rooms have free WiFi Internet connection. Downstairs we have a grocery shop that's open til late and also lobby/coffee shop, where you can enjoy a cup of your favorite brew, to have a breakfast, or just browse the internet on our free WiFi hot spot.
We can provide you also with car rental service and arrange the airport transportation for you.
Thank you very much !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 24, 2006

I chose this guesthouse as it wasn't too expensive and had it's own wee kitchen. Arrived in the early hours of the morning and were shown to our room promptly by the friendly (and a little eccentric!) owner. It was clean and had plenty of space. The location is right in the middle of everything, and is perfect for sightseeing, drinking, eating etc around Reykjavik itself. Despite being so central, we were never bothered by any noise in the guesthouse or outside in the street. Adam guesthouse offers very good value car hire, but we'd already arranged this with another company. We had a fabulous week in Iceland, and Adam guesthouse made an ideal 'base camp' for exploring the island. In addition to this, they provide an inexpensive airport pick up/drop off service, which we used the day we departed. I recommend Adam guesthouse to anyone and everyone, regardless of how long you are staying. Top marks!!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnar G, Owner at Adam Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello,
we would like to thank you very much for your stay!
We will be happy to host you again sometime in future in our PRIVATE accommodation, where each room is equipped with a private bathroom, television, refrigerator and a basic kitchen necessary to make your own breakfast. All rooms have free WiFi Internet connection. Downstairs we have a grocery shop that's open til late and also lobby/coffee shop, where you can enjoy a cup of your favorite brew, to have a breakfast, or just browse the internet on our free WiFi hot spot.
We can provide you also with car rental service and arrange the airport transportation for you.
Thank you very much !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 18, 2005

We started out staying at a much more expensive hotel and moved to this place after a few days and we glad we made the move. This place used to be a hostel several years ago and is converted into something more like a hotel but still retains some hostel-like qualities. We;re not the types to stay in hostels, which is why I wanted to write this review - we probably would have been unwilling to stay in a place like this but once we saw it, we loved it. The hotel we were staying at was more than double the price of this place, and not worth it.

It's not fancy, but it's comfortable. The rooms had brightly colored bedding and bright windows. It's clean - many of the rooms have kitcheonettes which, given the high cost of food in Iceland, can come in handy, especially since there is a great convenience store right under the hotel. The rooms are private, with private baths.

The staff were friendly and full of advice on things to do in the city. The place was quiet (though we were there in May, a bit before the really busy season.)

The hotel had the feeling more of being "home" - not a hotel-like feeling. Definitely not fancy or posh, but secure and comfortable place to call home when exploring the city. It was a great place that I would defnitely recommend to anyone who would appreciate having a quiet, relaxed place -- as long as you aren't looking for mints on your pillows at night, this is a great place.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragnar G, Owner at Adam Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello,
we would like to thank you very much for your stay!
We will be happy to host you again sometime in future in our PRIVATE accommodation, where each room is equipped with a private bathroom, television, refrigerator and a basic kitchen necessary to make your own breakfast. All rooms have free WiFi Internet connection. Downstairs we have a grocery shop that's open til late and also lobby/coffee shop, where you can enjoy a cup of your favorite brew, to have a breakfast, or just browse the internet on our free WiFi hot spot.
We can provide you also with car rental service and arrange the airport transportation for you.
Thank you very much !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Guesthouse Anna
Guesthouse Anna
#46 of 109 in Reykjavik
44 reviews
Miõborg
Guesthouse Sunna
Guesthouse Sunna
#6 of 109 in Reykjavik
470 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik Rental Guesthouse
Reykjavik Rental Guesthouse
#53 of 109 in Reykjavik
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Grettir Guesthouse
Grettir Guesthouse
#30 of 109 in Reykjavik
169 reviews
Miõborg
OK Hotel
OK Hotel
#24 of 109 in Reykjavik
364 reviews
Miõborg
Aurora Guesthouse
Aurora Guesthouse
#29 of 109 in Reykjavik
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adam Hotel

Property: Adam Hotel
Address: Skolavoerdustigur 42, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Adam Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adam Hotel is located in the city center of Reykjavik, just few steps away from the city's most popular restaurants, clubs, bars and the main shopping street. The rooms have been renovated. Each room is equipped with a private or shared bathroom, television, refrigerator and a basic kitchen necessary to make your own breakfast. All rooms have free WiFi Internet connection. Downstairs we have a grocery shop that's open til late and also lobby/coffee shop, where you can enjoy a cup of your favorite brew, to have a breakfast, or just browse the internet on our free WiFi hot spot. We can provide you also with car rental service and arrange the airport transportation for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing