We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location only good thing”
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
derby
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“location only good thing”
Reviewed November 18, 2010

As I said in the title the hotel location was the only good thing about this hotel.I stayed for a week in October and was put in the annex of the hotel where the room must have been last updated in the seventies - dreadful-,the shower all though cleanish was of about the same period.Breakfast was the most boring buffet of the same cereals and jam with toast everyday.On the slight plus side there was an old noisy fridge in the room and they were quite happy for me to have a late check out. For the first time trip advisor let me down on this one!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVIOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    1,075
    282
    51
    33
See reviews for
299
1,069
194
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We booked a double room at £50 per night (so cheap as I'm guessing it's quite a quiet time of year in Reykjavik) - we stayed in room 412, on 4th Floor at front on hotel on the main street, which included a double bedroom, living room with kitchenette (fridge, sink, coffee maker, hot plate, glasses, cutlery, etc) and a shower room - all modern and clean.
The hotel is on the main shopping/bar/restaurant street in Reykjavik, so location was perfect - and not noisy at night, just a slight sound of music at 4am on the Friday night which didn't last long (& although it is the main street there is very little traffic and is just a single lane one-way street)
Breakfast was included in the rate, standard Continental breakfast with several breads, cereals, meat & cheese slices, fruit juices and hot drinks - not bad, given that most hotels nowadays charge extra for breakfast. This was served in the mexican-style restaurant that is internally-linked to the hotel (& reception also provide you with a 30% discount card for this restaurant which we used one night for dinner)
Overall, we loved this hotel - perfect location, simple modern style...all good!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJR83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2010

From the minute i arrived at hotel fron the staff have been nothing but friendly and very informative. The room is excellent and i look straight onto Laugavegur! fantastic, definately will book again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novemberstjarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
210 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Our tour guide, Go Travel Iceland, recommended Hotel Fron as being inexpensive, comfortable and convenient. We agree. It’s on the modest main shopping street, only two lanes wide.

The décor is unexceptional. We asked for a quiet room up high and were upgraded [perhaps because of the connection with GTI, to a spacious suite. Ample heat and hot water, although because of the geothermal source it took over two minutes to rise to our floor. The room was clean and very quiet. The efficient windows cut out all street noise. The bed was comfortable but room lighting inadequate. The bathroom was large enough if not roomy. A box of facial tissues, harsh toilet paper, no amenities but small pouches of shampoo. The fixtures worked except for the metal sink closure which was broken. The ample outlets were often located in odd places. The pillows on the couch failed to stay in place when sat on.

We dealt with three staff at the desk. All were helpful, two quite so. One of the more helpful provided us with all the extra towels we might want; there were no wash cloths. We’ve encountered their lack before but neglected to bring any. The least helpful directed us to an overpriced, dull meal at the Scandinavian next door. Our tour guides were much more informative.

The elevator was small and operated quickly. The breakfast buffet included three kinds of bread, two juices, two meats, a bland cheese, three cold cereals, jams, hot drinks. Quite adequate if not inventive.

Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dadhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I took advantage of Icelandair's "stopover" option to spend a few days in Reykjavik on my way from Boston to London.
A travel agent offered up this hotel as a "moderate" option.
The hotel is located on one of the main shopping streets in the city, which is a one-way street. Plenty of restaurants and shopping within walking distance, although stores close a 6 pm.
The hotel itself is in more than one building. I was directed out of the back door of the lobby and across a small courtyard to the building where my room was located. Elevator was very small; I had one checked bag and one carry-on and it *might* have been possible to fit another person with a bag into the elevator.
My room was on the second floor - I think it was 226 - and located directly over the lobby for the building. This is a disadvantage if you're a light sleeper like I am, as there are a significant number of people leaving the hotel very early in the morning to catch their morning flights, and they all let the door slam behind them on the way out of the building.
The room was clean but extremely small - I'm guessing that the bed was about 2 feet away from 2 of the walls, and maybe 4 feet from the third. Good storage space built into one way. Miniscule bathroom, very reminiscent of those in standard cabins on cruise ships, especially the pod-like shower stall. Hot water reeked of sulfur but that might be normal for Reykjavik given the geothermal methods used for generation of electricity and hot water.
Minibar (cube fridge) in the room, with prices listed on the front and glasses (2 wine, 2 other) on top.
Couldn't get the TV to work, but from what I learned on a tour, there's not much to watch in Iceland anyway.
Complementary breakfast in the restaurant attached to the main building: toast, cereal, cold meats and cheeses, etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alingsas, Sweden
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed a week at the Hotel Fron and were generally satisfied with it, considering the relatively low price.

Particulars - pro:
* good location with any number of restaurants etc close by
* silent rooms IF you ask for one in the court-side annexe
* friendly and helpful reception staff
* partial early breakfast (from 04.00) for those having to leave very early

Particulars - con:
* very slow WiFi - almost unuseable
* skimpy breakfast - no really fresh bread or eggs, but enough to fill up on
* superficial room cleaning
* somewhat tired but functional furniture and room

Except for breakfast and WiFi, the hotel met our expectations (given the price) and we would gladly stay there again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Stayed at hotel Fron for the last night of our 14 day stay in Iceland. Since we traveled around most of those 14 nights we have lots of hotels to compare this against, and it came in dead last! Some accommodations in Iceland are very basic (boarding school/dorm rooms that are used as hotels in the summer) and although not fancy they were all clean and the staff friendly. Hotel Fron was a huge disappointment from beginning to end. The staff are incredibly rude, it was like we were interrupting them. The room we were in looked and felt dingy and tired, the internet service was brutally slow, and did I mention the staff were incredibly rude!! We did not feel welcomed or comfortable at this hotel.
Although the location is great, I am sure there is a much more welcoming and inviting place to stay in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mebtrvlng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#27 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Property: Hotel Fron
Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing