We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and large rooms”
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2010

When we arrived we were upgraded to a studio apartment - a very pleasant surprise! The apartment was quite spacious with a small fridge, kitchenette and large lounge area. The staff were quite helpful, and the location is fabulous - right in the middle of the main shopping street. We booked this fairly cheaply through hotels.com, so would definitely recommend to everyone for only £52/night in central Reykjavik!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezza_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,856 - 1,862 of 2,293 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2010

Just back from Iceland. Stayed at Hotel Fron. Was given room in the seperate building which had sink,microwave and fridge so sort of mini apartment. Didn't use the facilities as restaurants around were excellent. Bathroom was small and didn't have much room to store toiletries etc. Beware of the sulphur smell from the hot tap or when having a shower. All natural of course and part of being in Iceland but initially we thought it was the drains! Beds were comfortable but pillows were not. Only one pillow per bed and so soft may as well not had any. Did manage to get another one each after contacting reception. Hotel itself was lovely and warm which was great after being out in the biting cold winds. Reception staff were helpful and booked trips with them which was put on our room bill. Free internet on 3rd floor of main block and free wireless also.
All in all pleased with Fron and in the best location as close to shops, cafes and restaurants. Would stay again without question. By the way breakfast was fine too.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFB43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

I stayed in a solo room in Feb, so I doubt they were at capacity and hence got a quieter room in back. Arrived around 8am, room was ready by 10am.

Pros:
- EXCELLENT LOCATION (and in reykjavik this is important if you don't have a car, as some of the hotels are quite a ways out- Loftletier, Nordica, etc). Right in the heart od downtown, and easily accessible to either main bus station (Hellmur or Laekybreaka).
- Decent breakfast (bread, meat, cheese, cereal, juice). Helps save money in Iceland (which is always good).
- Close everything but swimming pools
- Free WIFI

Cons:
- Very, very modest rooms (think dorm rooms). I've heard some of the larger kitchenette ones are nice, but my solo room was pretty basic.
- Front desk not especially helpful, but with persistance got my needs met.
- If you are not out of your room when the cleaning crew comes by (~9am), they won't come back.
- Beds are okay....not great.

Once again, if you want a basic place to sleep and explore Reykjavik for a great price, this hotel can't be beat. If you are trying to impress your wife/girlfriend, might look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcb193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Fron for a week. If you want luxury this is not the place. However, if you are looking for a good clean hotel in a fantastic location this is it!!!! We arrived at approx 1am, and there were no problems checking in-the flybus from Keflavik airport was very easy to take! Our room was in the builing to the back, and so we did not have any noise from the party-goers fri/sat night! Our room was great; we had a double room (twin beds pushed together as always), a sofa, a small kitchinette and bathroom! The kitchenette was great-we didnt book this but was very handy even in terms of making coffee etc. The room was clean and spacious and towels were changed daily. Be warned the water does smell of eggs due to the sulphur but you soon get used to this!

Breakfast was basic (bread, ham, cheese, cereal, yogurt) but an ideal start to the day; did get a little boring having the same thing everyday though! There are some really good restaurants/bars around- cafe Paris is great, uncle toms cabin (can't remember the Icelandic Name), and one down the end of the road (before you get to the main crossroads) think it was called Icebrekkar??? It was quite expensive but not extortionate but the food was brilliant!

Trips are great-you can book them straight from the hotel. The best one we went on was the Go Travel Iceland- south coast tour-you go in a small jeep vehicle- see waterfalls, glaciers and the coast. The guide we had was brilliant-really knew his stuff and was very enthusiastic!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Chose Hotel Fron after reading Tripadvisor reviews and because Expedia offered it as a first choice when i booked my package including flights.
Our first trip to Iceland to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday - our trip was for 5 nights and we tried to pack a lot in, so a luxury hotel wasnt needed, just convenience, cleaniness and all the basic amenities.
Arriving at 5pm on Saturday we were checked in immediately and were given room 228, across the courtyard in the extension at the back. This suited us, as we had been concerned about reports of noise in the main street. We needn't have worried as our room was at the end of the corridor, and although it was overlooking the courtyard to the main hotel was back from the main street.

We were given a twin room, with cooking facilities, although these hadnt been requested. We had a fridge, sink, 2 ring hob, microwave & coffee maker. There were glasses, crockery, cutlery, chopping boards, bread knife, bottle opener etc but only one saucepan! Table & 2 chairs, large chest of drawers and wardrobe, made up the main furniture and an adequate sized bathroom with individual shower cubicle. Three windows gave the room plenty of light, fresh towels, and very warm central heating (its all geo-thermal!)

As had been mentioned the breakfast served in the adjoining Mexican restaurant (there is a door from the foyer into this) was basic. apple or orange juice (unchilled in jugs on the bar) cornflakes or cheerios, sliced white, light brown or rye bread, ( a toaster to 'do your own' was at the end of the bar - a queue for toast often ensued though) butter, sliced gouda cheese, sliced ham & salami, sliced tomatoes & cucumber, pots of fruit flavoured yogurts and 2 types of jams & marmalade. There was also a bowl of apples and bananas which had been cut into 2. Tea & ready made coffee was also provided. Ok so it wasn't luxury but it was enough to start the day with and reflected what we were paying.

Reception was usually very helpful - the main guy who seemed to be on the desk during the day, booked our Golden Circle tour & the bus to the Blue Lagoon, he gave us directions, and reconfirmed our airport bus pick up - very helpful indeed.

Overall this was an excellent place to stay & I would definitely stay here again but a word of warning - give Santa Maria - the Mexican restaurant a miss. The service was slow & sloppy, food was tasteless and even though its cheap, I wouldn't ever go back - I had stomach pains all evening after eating there!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princesspentium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed 5 nights at Hotel Fron and would definitely stay here again. The location is great, its on one of the main shopping streets, short walk to anywhere you would want to go. We stayed in room 314, it was a good size, comfy bed with a great shower. We never experienced any noise even on friday and saturday nights. The breakfast was very basic - bread, ham, cheese, cucumber, tomato, yoghurt, fruit, juice. It was included though to can't complain. The women behind the check in desk weren't exactly a friendly bunch, but there is one guy that was very friendly and helpful, so if you need help look out for him. I booked a tour with him and he gave me a discount for cash. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

I actually stayed here for a full month this past January. I was in a studio apartment and it was wonderful. The kitchenette was great and you can save a TON of money by cooking for yourself (Go to Bonus for groceries as it's the cheapest and theres one further down Laugavegur).

The staff were all very friendly. If you need an early check in just email and ask, as they will accommodate you if they can. I'm sure it's more difficult during high season, but it doesn't hurt to ask. They will book lots of different excursions for you and can be helpful with recommendations.

The breakfast is decent, and it's nice that it's included in the price and it's easy to take a banana or an apple for the road.

The location is great, and it's probably the best price you'll find for a hotel that is that central. You can easily walk practically everywhere.

The Mexican restaurant attached to the hotel (where breakfast is served in the morning) is very good and reasonably priced.

If you are into the party scene there are tons of cool bars/pubs/clubs right on Laugavegur. Boston Bar is cute and so is Prikid. There are some really great cafes nearby as well (Babalu, Espresso Bar, and Kaffitar are my favourites). As other reviews have stated, you should request a room towards the back to minimize the loudness that is Laugavegur on Friday and Saturday nights.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,142 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
972 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
919 reviews
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#40 of 54 in Reykjavik
653 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $133 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing