We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Visit to this Hotel...”
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My partner and I have now stayed at Hotel Fron twice, both to celebrate New Year's Eve. This hotel is in a great central location, with comfortable rooms and a nice buffet breakfast. It's affordable, clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. They also offer a car park (all be it small) but there is a charge for using this. Happy to recommend and if we visit Reykjavik again, we will most probably stay here! Enjoy!

Room Tip: On both occasions we stayed in a Studio Apartment - recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LankyLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,459 - 1,465 of 2,293 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

A good base for exploring Reykjavik, right in the main shopping street. The apartments are well equipped with plenty of space. The staff are friendly and the breakfast was adequate. I would recommend this place to friends and family who want a nice hotel which is centrally located.

Room Tip: The back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mellieha1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel is located at an ideal location on the main shopping street. We stayed here 6 nights and have absolutely no complaints except that the wifi was slow. The hotel was a walkable distance from all the attractions in reykjavik and all the tour organizations stop there. We used iceland horizon (highly recommend!) and of course reykjavik excursions. If i went back to iceland, I would definitely want to stay here again. Great value for the below average cost of hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryancvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have just returned from an excellent family trip to Reykjavik. The hotel location is first class, with shops, restaurants and sights on the doorstep. The hotel staff had been very helpful when I made the booking, this continued when we arrived, booking excursions for us. Note: we added all excursions to our hotel bill and paid in one transaction at check out - saves on the current bank costs per transaction. We ended up with a great top floor apartment, 2 twins and a single room, all in the annexe across a courtyard. The apartment was just what we needed so that our family of 7 (all adults) could meet up before we went out. Breakfast was typical continental style - great yogurt, not so great coffee. The restaurant attached to the hotel served good food at reasonable cost. The fireworks on New Years Eve did not disapoint - absolutely stunning, we had a great view around the corner from the hotel, beside the main church. We plan to return to Reykjavik in the summer time as there is still so much to see and do! Loved it!!!

Room Tip: Annexe rooms across the courtyard takes you away from the noise of the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenacotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 3 nights in Iceland to celebrate the new year and to take in the key sights on the island.
The hotel certainly didn't disappoint, very family friendly and had the best location being central to all the shops and bars in Reykjavik. It also had a very nice Scandinavian restaurant attached which did all types of food, with dishes such as fish of the day, steak, pasta burgers etc.

The room was basic, but clean and cosy, with a en suite bathroom and self catering facilities with hobb and fridge and a small mini bar inside.

The breakfast was quite basic, toast, cereals, some cold meats, boiled eggs and fruit.

The location was particular good for celebrating the new year in as it was a very short walk around the corner from the lovely Church that overlooked the bay which had a superb array of fireworks!
We had a lovely holiday and would definitely stay again! Iceland is expensive but it's beauty is well worth seeing, and a trip for New Years would be well recommended!!

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were due to stay at the start of our holiday but had to be relocated due to overbooking. We were promised a good room on our return for the last four nights of our holiday and this was certainly the case! We got an apartment with separate bathroom and bedroom and with a full size fridge and studio kitchen. This really made our holiday and it was lovely to have chilled drinks to enjoy rather that always having to go out when the prices for alcohol in Iceland is that bit more expensive. As said in other reviews the hotel could not be better located - right in the middle fo the main shopping street but since our room was at the back of the property there was no noise even at the weekend. There is a cash machine a few shops away and you are also close to Sandholt Bakery (which is fabulous and sells fresh filled rolls as well as fantastic pastries and cakes) and the Bonus supermarket if you wanted to have a cheap lunch or one to take out on an excursion. The breakfast was continental but there was lots of choice and there was plenty of it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pound_Witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Nice, clean and basic hotel located in the very center of Reykjavik, with most attractions in walking distance. Good value for the price. The staff is friendly and helpful like Icelanders seem to be in general.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,142 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
972 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
917 reviews
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#40 of 54 in Reykjavik
653 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $133 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing