We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
CT
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a self catering studio, it was big enough for three adults. Good location for it's price as you can walk to most attractions. Reception was helpful and good mannered. Our studio was facing the parking yard, so no problem with the noise.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AC123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    1,105
    304
    56
    38
See reviews for
319
1,107
202
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a good place to stay. It is very close to everything - on the main street. We had a problem where we'd booked a double room and the room they gave us had twin beds but after I complained they upgraded us to an apartment style room which had a kitchen and was MUCH bigger than our original room. So thanks for that!!!

The breakfast was really good I think, bread, cereal, tea etc. Yeah it's kind of busy if you go down there at 930-10 but it opens at 630 so go down there at 7 and you'll have the pick of the tables.

The only complaint I have is that they seem to have only one person working at the reception and the line is really long to speak to someone. It seems like they should have more people working if they know they're going to be that busy.

I got them to organise my bus trip back to the airport and had no trouble.

The rooms are a bit dowdy but comfortable and suitable. It's a bargain definitely! #

Our room was at the back so had no trouble with noise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 656melaniep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family in this hotel and couldn't really fault it. Yes the breakfast is basic but the hotel doesn't promise anything else. We stayed in room 209 which we booked as a 2 bedroom apartment but upon arrival it was a 3 bedroom apartment. This room is at the back of the hotel and so there was no problem with noise. There is no lift in the rear building but the stairs are easy.
The staff are friendly and very helpful and the rooms are large and warm. If you are looking to come to this beautiful city, consider this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pipcarobeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed on the top floor of the blue building at the back of the hotel. Our apartment was great, spacious, well equipped kitchenette, fridge, microwave etc if you want to keep costs down by self catering. Also very warm and we had to keep turning the heating down! Not luxurious but well enough furnished and clean and comfortable. No problems with noise at all. We stayed four nights and found the breakfast buffet varied enough - meats, cheese, fruit, cereals, breads, jams etc. But the best thing was the city centre location. Just a few minutes walk from all the major attractions. Returning from tours, we saw where other people were staying and some of these were miles outside the city centre and I mean about a 15 minute drive!

Room Tip: Ask for a room which doesn't overlook the Main Street if you are worried about late night noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwinaTyphoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We traveled with a group of friends to Iceland for a special birthday celebration in November. Our good friend and travel agent, whom also traveled with us, selected the hotel based on reviews and research. Fantastic choice! We had a studio with a small kitchenette. The room was very clean and efficient and the decor was Scandinavian with light woods and contemporary styling (think IKEA). Although our room was at the back of the main building, it was very noisy on weekend nights due to a bar. Other than that, the hotel and location are superb! Hotel Fron is on the main shopping street with lots of restaurants, bars and shops nearby. The waterfront is approx. 10 minute walk from the hotel. We look forward to a return visit and will happily recommend the property to anyone traveling to Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Others advised us rooms in the buildings behind the main hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We found Hotel Fron to be clean, well kept, with good facilities, but not luxurious. Overall a good value for a mid-priced hotel.

We arrived early in the day and the room we had reserved wasn't ready yet so they put us in a studio instead, which was bigger than the room type we'd chosen. I wish we'd been there longer than one night to take advantage of the kitchenette.

The room was clean and had plenty of space, plus a small balcony. We had a little trouble with spotty wifi signal. The bed was comfortable. Bathroom was tiny but had a nice shower.

Breakfast was basic with granola, yogurt, cereals, cold cuts and cheeses. Filling and quick.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotorgirlBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We booked a studio in Hotel Fron on Laugavegur st. for five days in December 2013. Studio was nice and spacious for two people. Studio had a small kitchenette and necessary utensils, so you could make your own coffee (bring coffee sachets or buy from Bonus supermarket), fix a quick grub etc if you want to. Room had a small TV but no channels to talk of (but hey, i didn't go to Iceland to watch TV). All in all, value for money and I am happy i stayed there.

Pluses for the hotel were:

a) Located on the main shopping st.
b) Good supermarket (Bonus) in the vicinity - You could buy snacks / groceries etc if you want to cook / stock up for excursions etc.
c) Lots of bars, restaurants etc nearby
c) Short walk to waterfront (10 mins) and major attractions such as Church (5 mins), museums (15 mins)
d) All tour operators (even Hertz car rental) picks you up [Which I think would be true for all hotels]

Cons:
a) Breakfast provided in the morning was minimal. Nothing to rave about.
b) Rooms facing Laugavegur st. can get a little noisy in the night. Ask for rooms in the building out in the back if that's what bothers you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustBugK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,162 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#39 of 52 in Reykjavik
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,358 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
845 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Property: Hotel Fron
Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing