We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“secret escapes package”
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Really cosy hotel with friendly staff, fitting in perfectly with the country itself.
We stayed in a studio suite at rear of hotel, beds good, big room, kitchen area at back
and the Icelanders certainly know how to keep a room warm!
Ideally situated in the main high street of the town, central to bus/coach terminals, restaurants and bars. If you are going to Reykjavik I would seriously advise you to stay here as busy area is quite small and there were a lot of 'drop offs' in some very isolated areas when we returned from trips.

Room Tip: Only one very small gripe, and this goes for ALL hotels. Some of us like firm pillows, please, someo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,536 - 1,542 of 2,349 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

we stayed at Hotel Fron on recommendation of a friend and we would definitely recommend it to others.
Centrally located on the main street, reception staff were very friendly and helpful, even when asked about the Northern lights tour for the hundredth time that day.
Rooms were spacious and warm and very clean and were made up every day with clean towels etc. we also had a kitchenette area which was useful.
Tours could be booked at the hotel reception and a bus would come and collect you from the door and drop you off afterwards particularly helpful if you had been on a late night tour.
Very good value for money with breakfast included.
If you are thinking of booking a package to Iceland I would suggest you don't and book it direct yourself, you will save a fortune
This hotel is a real find.
The restaurant attached to it is also excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 82Lizzie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, the hotel is centrally located in the shopping streets, within walking distance to the harbour, church and other attractions. Reykjavik Excursions also provides pickup to and fro the hotel.

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Check in check out was fast.

Breakfast spread was good. Free WiFi in room. Room was clean and big. Definitely a must stay hotel when visiting Reykjavik. Value for money.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank guohui_ge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in the annexe building which was behind the main hotel and very quiet. Room was adequate with fridge and cooking facilities if you wanted them. Shower was excellent. Great value for money for a hotel right on the main street. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank im-km1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed for three days and two nights in Dec 2013. Booked a budget Easyjet city break thing so wasnt neccesarily expecting much. Boy was I wrong. Friendly and helpfull staff (we got a room upgrade at no charge because we mentioned it was our wedding anniversary), excellent warm and cosy rooms that were cleaned daily and an awesome location : basically Reykjavik High Street. The associated Hotel restaraunt is lovely. The breakfasts were nice and reception helped us efficiently book and organise excursions. This place seriously ticks a lot of boxes, and although we stayed as a couple I would recommend to anyone (the studio flat lends itself well to small family stays). When we return to Iceland (stunning place) if we can, then ideally we would want to be booking and staying here again : and you can't get a better review than that

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bugarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This Hotel was perfect for our first visit to Iceland, we had a lovely stay. The staff at the front desk were always ready to help and very friendly with accurate information.

We stayed four nights which absolutely flew by as we were pretty busy as you'd want to be. We went on excursion which we very easy to book on to, the guides are brilliant and full of information and the scenery is breath taking.

Getting back to the Hotel, it had a lovely breakfast spread which was variable enough for people to have something different each day even if they eat as much as I do. (so fill up on breakfast if your on a budget!) My only gripe about the room was that we had effectively been given a room with two single beds together but we managed to stay close enough. The Hotel itself is on the main shopping street and in walking distance to all restaurants so its perfect for your evening strolls.

Money! Don't bother about changing money before you get out there as you can get money from a near by ATM which only charges £1.70 or so for the transaction fee. £100 a day should do absolutely fine.

I've come back from this trip absolutely in love with this fascinating and ethical country and we will definitely be going back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the-gay-skater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it was fantastic! Really nice friendly people, very helpful, beds were sooooo comfy and the rooms nice and clean and warm and quiet. Breakfast was a bit basic but better than nothing. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Odinsve
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fosshotel Raudara
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fosshotel Lind
Fosshotel Lind
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#25 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,441 reviews
0.1 mi away
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hilda
Hotel Hilda
#43 of 54 in Reykjavik
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $146 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing