We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,555)
Filter reviews
2,555 results
Traveler rating
831
1,255
359
66
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
831
1,255
359
66
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main street bread scandinavian restaurant great location yogurt central location studio apartment cold meats small kitchenette cooking facilities hot water continental breakfast quiet room mini bar bonus supermarket self catering shops and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
1,730 - 1,735 of 2,555 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with my 14 year old daughter, Booked through Touris, great location, right in centre of town could walk to everywhere, twin room at front of hotel,had read reviews about the noise at weekends so bought earplugs. However didn't need them, yes it was a bit noisy but was so tired after out late hunting northern lights didn't wake me up. And yes did see them on second night. Good size room, beds really comfy, couldn't get my daughter out of bed in morning!. clean smart bathroom with great power shower. Only complaint was no kettle in room . Mini bar big enough to put own drinks in. Breakfast usual cold meats, cheese yoghurts etc, long queue for one toaster. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Our flight didn't leave until very late so booked a late checkout until 6pm for only 3000 kroner which was a godsend as on the last day the weather was very wet and windy and didn't have to wander about in the wet. Would recommend definitely. also ate in restaurant one night, gave 20% discount on alcohol befor 6pm. good choice of fish and seafood at normal ocelandic prices.

Room tip: there are self catering studios and apartments which could help keep cost down, if concerned about noise book a room at rear.
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docfamily164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Flew in on a Sunday morning, and arrived at 6AM, 8 hours before their check-in time of 2PM. We were told our room was still occupied but we could wait until they vacated. We waited around an hour and finally got into our room, very nice. The front desk was very helpful in regards to any questions and particularly in the booking of Excursions around Reykjavik. The free breakfast is rather lacking, not too much to feast on other than some breads, cheeses, and coffee. Something a little more hearty would be nice. The rooms are very spacious, we chose the Standard Apartment. The rooms themselves are not very well insulated, making them very noisy. Even as I am writing this, I can hear the upstairs tenants shuffling around in high heels, and doors slamming throughout the Hotel all during the night.

All in all, I think we would stay here again, given it's location. But perhaps in a different room, maybe a top floor if you can suggest it.

Room tip: Ask for a room away from Laugavegur, perhaps a top floor.
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

In the very heart of the city with everything close by, it can be a little noisy during weekend nights. We had a very spacious apartment, with 2 bedrooms and a third sleeping area, as well as a dining table and small kitchenette. It was warm, spotlessly clean and very flexible - a useful refuge from the storm we had one day!. Breakfast room comes under pressure at times but staff do a great job clearing tables and maintaining turnover. Reception were very helpful with any queries or issues.

Room tip: As two couples, we found the apartment very useful as there is no public lounge area apart from the smallish lobby area.
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was initially concerned as our Groupon package had filled their quota at the Radisson and as overflow we stayed at Hotel Fron. The room was clean and spacious equipped with free wifi and a functional kitchen (not that we used it). The front desk were always helpful with enquiries about tours and timings.

The hotel is situated on a popular street with plenty of shops, bars, cafes and restaurants, and as a first time visitor to Iceland, we were right in the mix, able to walk to most Reykjavik's main sites within minutes.

The complimentary Breakfast was decent, although consisted of a very European style array of cereals and cold-cuts.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We really liked this hotel right in the center of the shopping area. The staff were always very helpful and accommodating. The room was a bit tight but clean and comfortable. The breakfast which are included are in the adjoining restaurant offers a lot of variety. This is a good place to stay and we will stay here when we return.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpacker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews