We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly, welcoming.”
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
New Glasgow, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent location, friendly, welcoming.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We are on a one month Iceland tour, having been here two years ago for two weeks. All our arrangements were made by Nordic Visitor as part of a self drive tour, so, we don't know the specific prices for accommodation. Nordic Visitor, in their tour packages offer three types of accommodation and we booked comfort accommodation (private bathroom, "nice" hotels & guesthouses), breakfast is always included. This will be one of many reviews for this trip.

We stayed here at the end of our one month tour of Iceland and we loved this location. We had stayed here two years ago and much preferred it to the Fosshotel Baron where we stayed on our arrival in Iceland. At the end of the trip we had been booked into the Fosshotel Baron again and asked our tour agency to move us. We stayed one night at Baron and then moved, arriving at Fron at 10am. Even though we were way early and well before check in time of 2 pm, we were given a room at 11 am. The staff are helpful and friendly, the location is outstanding, on the main street in Reykjavik, breakfast was good and generous. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheQuietTravellerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    1,105
    304
    56
    38
See reviews for
319
1,107
202
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just back from Reykjavik after staying for four nights at the Fron hotel. A very good trip highlighted by seeing the Northern Lights on our first try! Others with us on the evening had been for three previous nights without success. Hotel was very central and convenient for walking around the main parts of the City. Close to a good selection of restaurants and bars. Remember that Iceland is pricey to on the main street you will obviously pay more. Our twin room was at the back of hotel and very quiet. We had a coffee maker in our room which was good for boiling water for our tea! Breakfast was buffet style and plentiful. The staff at breakfast were not very friendly and if you left anything on your table to get more, they usually took it away which was very wasteful. Reception staff were very helpful. We didnt eat at the hotel, but this was an option. There was also a bar. Again we didnt use. Discount cards were available in the reception area for local restaurants.

Room Tip: I would imagine the rooms at the back are quieter as there was often a constant stream of slow movin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I just stayed one night at Hotel Frön.
As I travelled alone, I got a single room which was spacious, very clean, with a comfy bed and a good and well-supplied bathroom.
They offer a basic continental breakfast. However it's good and you can fill yourself up before starting your day.
Staff is friendly and attentive although I felt a kind of unfriendliness from the mid-aged man from reception in the morning.
Location is awesome, right in the heart of the shop-and-touristy area of the city and some blocks away down the Hallgrímskirkja.
Free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hotel Fron could not be better located, in the main commercial/social street of Reykjavic. There are literally dozens of restaurants, bars and cafes a short walk from this hotel, and the harbour is a 5 min downhill walk so it is perfectly located for the tourist. There is a mini bar and coffee making equipment and cups in the standard double/twin rooms, but no coffee or milk is provided. The mini bar is stocked but you are able to place your own purchases in there as it is not electronically linked to the room as some are these days. The room was basic but clean and the shower was hot and powerful with the smell of sulphur from the free hot water the Icelanders get from their underground volcanic springs! Breakfast is included in the rate, which was a standard continental type of cold meats, boiled eggs, cereals and sliced bread (no pastries or buns) with a bit of fruit and yoghurt. The breakfast staff were a bit harassed and grumpy, but the reception staff all spoke excellent English and were nothing but helpful to everyone they dealt with. We will definitely return to Fron if we return to Iceland.

Room Tip: We were in the extension building behind the main street next to the car park and never heard a peep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittygangar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was traveling to Iceland solo so I chose Fron Hotel for it's central location, and because I'm not one for hostels. I arrived VERY early in the morning, around 7:30am, to the hotel and the hotel staff accommodated me and gave me a room key. That was great because I needed a nap after several hours of travel. The wi-fi worked well. The room was clean, and very typical of a European style hotel. They provided breakfast in the morning and everything was good, other than the random hair I found in my yogurt one morning. I figured, that could happen anywhere.

Hotel Fron is centrally located. I walked to the bus station twice during my stay in Iceland and was able to walk all around Reykjavik to go to dinner or for site-seeing. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Perfect location of the hotel, close to harbor, close to restaurants and shops. A lot of happening on Friday evening in the street which was great for me. Staff was very helpful and nice. Wifi is available in rooms making business easier. Rooms seemed old, but very clean and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights late September having booked a twin room. The hotel is right on the main shopping street with restaurants and so forth, and having been around the city other hotels are not particularly well placed for this. The down side is that on Friday and Saturday nights be prepared for noise and shouting from the street until around 5am!! We initially were given a room in the rear annexe, which frankly was poor. It was a cross between a transport café and bad student halls of residence, very dark with a bed wedged into each corner and fake wooden beams on the walls!
I was told this was an 'upgraded room' from the standard one that had been booked, however, having expressed concerns about the room we were given a room in the main hotel building. This was much better, other than the noise referred to above, as it overlooked the main street. I have no idea where the rooms are that are shown on the internet because we saw two and neither resembled the pictures. Windows of the room were filthy, long hairs left in the sink from previous guests and a glass shelf over the sink that you hit your head on when washing and cleaning your teeth!
What makes this hotel is the location but it comes at a price it appears. Bearable but don't expect great things. Would I stay here again...no...I would try somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S2981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,163 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#39 of 52 in Reykjavik
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,361 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
849 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Property: Hotel Fron
Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing