We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, great location”
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I cannot say enough about the location. Because of how central this was, we easily walked to all attractions and restaurants.

We had a room towards the rear of the hotel right by an exit & an outdoor staircase that lead into a small alley. It was like we had our own private entrance. From our room we did not experience any street noise worth mentioning at all. The staff was friendly and helpful. The pillows were a little weak - similar to putting a few articles of clothing in a pillowcase. The room and bathroom were clean. We did not have breakfast at the hotel but we did enjoy a decent breakfast at the little cafe right across the street instead (which is incorrectly mapped in Google for those who are looking for it). We would definitely book here again.

Room Tip: I believe our rooms were on the rear or south end of the hotel & we did not experience any notic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sneakyright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,579 - 1,585 of 2,317 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel located on one of the main streets of Iceland (Laugravegur), which can be pretty noisy and busy on evenings. (Reykjavik is completely different Iceland)
Still more expensive than hotels in Europe but good price compared to other Reykjavik hotels.
We stayed 2 nights after 14 nights spent in a tent to recover and accommodate to the civilization again.
Two bed app, TV, bathroom, tea making facilities.
Nice and helpful staff, as everywhere on Iceland.
Breakfast included, standard one.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladimir_Thomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night when we arrived and the last two before we left.
Rooms nice, we had a little kitchen in our room both times.. Could be noisey sometimes but you expect that.
The rooms at the front can be very noisey as its right on the Main Street with all the bars and people...staff very polite, and friendly..rooms clean, and bright.
Breakfast could be a bit mad if it was full... Simple selection of bread, meats and cheeses, also jams, but no pastries, which was a shame...
Perfect location for shopping, eating and sight seeing. You can't really go far wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here two nights on a stopover to France. We loved it. The hotel is right in the heart of shopping and restaurants. The hotel also has a nice little bar and café. The barmaid was very friendly and we enjoyed talking with her in the evening. The breakfast buffet is basic but just enough to get you going for the day.

Our room was just stunning. We had a small apartment for three. The beds were comfy, the bathroom had plenty of hot water and the Scandinavian furniture quite lovely.

We booked a couple of tours and a flybus to the airport that all went off without a hitch. Thank you hotel Fron.

This was our first trip to Iceland and will be back to both Iceland and the Fron!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IRSHMN_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our Icelandic holiday. We had a studio flat with kitchenette which was very handy to cook meals and relax in after travelling around. Room clean but TLC required however this did not spoil the place. Comfortable beds. Staff friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was the worst of our trip but we had a meal on our last night and it was one of the best of our trip. Good location for shopping/eating and walking around Reykjavik but if you have a hire car as we did I would not recommend it. Simple breakfast available if departing hotel before 7am. We got picked up from our hotel and then transfered to a bus for the journey to the airport. The trip to the airport takes 45 minutes from the bus station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trollskagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Fron for 3 nights earlier in September 2013. I was here with my girlfriend and we were using this as a base to explore Reykjavik and to do some of the tours around Iceland.

The location is great, it is right in the centre of where the tourists want to be and all the tour guides know about this place, so they will come and pick you up at reception and take you directly on your tour, which is really helpful.

The rooms were fine, they were spacious, comfortable and we even had a kitchenette which was nice to make some tea etc.

The restaurant was also very nice. They do a number of different specials which were nice and the atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly. This is not a pretentious, luxury hotel or restaurant but is very nice.

The staff at reception were on the whole very good. There was one man who was less than friendly and actually quite rude. But the rest of the staff were helpful and very good at what they do.

If I come back to Reykjavik it will definitely be to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Location couldn `t be better. Right on the main shopping street in Reykjavic and a walking distance from everywhere.Lots of good restaurants and cafes close bay. We booked a studio for our family of 3 on booking.com and asked for a room at the back of the hotel. They gave us an apartment with two rooms in a separate building located behind the hotel. Modern, clean, very spacious on a 2nd floor without elevator. One single room, one double, kitchen,a bright living room and a modern bathroom.
The accomodation was perfect for a family . We even had a diner there one night which was great to escape from the expensive restaurants in Reykjavik.
Average breakfast served in a busy breakfast room. Free Wi-fi that sometimes didn `t work well.
Very good value considering the hotel prices in Iceland. It was the cheaper of the 9 hotels we stayed during our Iceland trip and one of the best.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,153 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,218 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
933 reviews
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#26 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,426 reviews
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#38 of 54 in Reykjavik
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $140 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing