We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff”
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our Icelandic holiday. We had a studio flat with kitchenette which was very handy to cook meals and relax in after travelling around. Room clean but TLC required however this did not spoil the place. Comfortable beds. Staff friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was the worst of our trip but we had a meal on our last night and it was one of the best of our trip. Good location for shopping/eating and walking around Reykjavik but if you have a hire car as we did I would not recommend it. Simple breakfast available if departing hotel before 7am. We got picked up from our hotel and then transfered to a bus for the journey to the airport. The trip to the airport takes 45 minutes from the bus station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trollskagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    1,105
    304
    56
    38
See reviews for
319
1,107
202
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Fron for 3 nights earlier in September 2013. I was here with my girlfriend and we were using this as a base to explore Reykjavik and to do some of the tours around Iceland.

The location is great, it is right in the centre of where the tourists want to be and all the tour guides know about this place, so they will come and pick you up at reception and take you directly on your tour, which is really helpful.

The rooms were fine, they were spacious, comfortable and we even had a kitchenette which was nice to make some tea etc.

The restaurant was also very nice. They do a number of different specials which were nice and the atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly. This is not a pretentious, luxury hotel or restaurant but is very nice.

The staff at reception were on the whole very good. There was one man who was less than friendly and actually quite rude. But the rest of the staff were helpful and very good at what they do.

If I come back to Reykjavik it will definitely be to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 610 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Location couldn `t be better. Right on the main shopping street in Reykjavic and a walking distance from everywhere.Lots of good restaurants and cafes close bay. We booked a studio for our family of 3 on booking.com and asked for a room at the back of the hotel. They gave us an apartment with two rooms in a separate building located behind the hotel. Modern, clean, very spacious on a 2nd floor without elevator. One single room, one double, kitchen,a bright living room and a modern bathroom.
The accomodation was perfect for a family . We even had a diner there one night which was great to escape from the expensive restaurants in Reykjavik.
Average breakfast served in a busy breakfast room. Free Wi-fi that sometimes didn `t work well.
Very good value considering the hotel prices in Iceland. It was the cheaper of the 9 hotels we stayed during our Iceland trip and one of the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is in a great location - very central and convenient for the harbour, cathedral and many restaurants, all of which are within a few minutes walking distance. Our visit to Iceland was a family trip and so the 3 bedroom apartment in the Hotel Fron seemed just perfect. The apartment, on the 4th floor, was comfortable and spacious and certainly good value for money for a 3 star accommodation. The apartment could do with a bit of TLC but even although it looked a little "tired" this in no way deterred from our comfort. The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is, being on the main street with bars in abundance, we were disturbed a little with "techno"music coming from one of the clubs which went on until 4 am on Friday/Saturday and Saturday/Sunday night/morning. It wasn't so much the volume of music that disturbed us but the vibration caused by the volume. The staff In the hotel were very helpful, assisting us with excursion reservations and general information. The excursion tour companies pick up from this hotel using a shuttle service which takes you to the main bus station to pick up your tour / fly bus. This was much appreciated and we found it very convenient. We had to check out at 4am to catch an early morning flight and were pleasantly surprised to find a simple selection of breakfast items in the restauran at this early hour. This was really appreciated. Would I recommend this hotel? Well, despite my earlier comment about slight disturbance, I would happily recommend this hotel for a short stay in Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to minimise disturbance coming from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N-Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Fron is located in a great spot and the staff are quite nice and very helpful in giving directions! We booked a studio apartment but ended up in a one bedroom (no complaints with that :) ). We requested (and received) a room in the back of the hotel, so there were no noise problems.

Bathroom is a bit small, but I'm used to NYC apartment bathrooms so small bathrooms aren't new to me. The bed was a double, but with two twin blankets. This was actually pretty awesome as my husband and I are both bed hogs. It wasn't a sleep number bed, but it did the job! TV was small, but we didn't come to Iceland to watch tv! The breakfast was of good quality, the restaurant also had delicious dinners. Only real problem we had was with confusion over tour pickups. I would very much recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter. If space is an issue for you, definitely go with the one bedroom apar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed here for four nights with my sister during a short but fantastic trip to Iceland.

Wonderful location right in the centre of Reykjavik - you literally walk out of the front door and you are on the main street with all its quirky shops and little bars and cafes - and Bonus supermarket which is about five minutes away.

I'm not sure what we booked but we were given a small self catering apartment with a little kitchen area - which was perfect for what we wanted. It had a fridge and a hob with cupboards and lots of storage space. It was nothing fancy - but clean and functional and not at all noisy. We were though tucked away in the separate Hotel Fron building at the back of this block so that may be why.

The staff were very friendly and helpful with fluent perfect English. All the tours we booked on came right to the hotel - very convenient indeed.

The breakfast was served until 10am from 7am every day - great timings as we had a few late nights looking for the Northern Lights! It was cold meats and cheeses with toast and cereal, yoghurt and fruit too. Again - nothing fancy but absolutely fine for what we wanted.

All in all - a great stay in a well priced hotel in the centre of all the action.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back block of the hotel. These are quieter and self catering so you can save m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy_Lea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

As this was our last night in Reykjavik after a great trip through Iceland, we were surprised how noisy the room was. Although the size was adequate, the same could not be said about the bathroom. It was really small, and only one person could use it at a time. Some previous guest/s spilled something on the carpet, and it was very visible to the naked eye. Although we hardly watch TV the one in our room did not operate. The good thing about this place is it's location, but then get a room away from the main street.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the main street. It can be very noisy if you want to leave open your windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VampireNam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,162 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#39 of 52 in Reykjavik
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,359 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
845 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Property: Hotel Fron
Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing