We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Fron
Nearby Hotels
$182
$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$190
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fosshotel Raudara(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$212
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fosshotel Lind(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$184
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$270
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CenterHotel Klopp(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$200
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Odinsve(Reykjavik)
$175
$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,427)
Filter reviews
2,427 results
Traveler rating
788
1,201
333
63
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
788
1,201
333
63
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetbreadscandinavian restaurantgreat locationyogurtcentral locationattached restaurantstudio roomcold meatssmall kitchenettecooking facilitieshot waterkitchen areabreakfast staffcontinental breakfastsulphur smellmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,703 - 1,708 of 2,427 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location is the best in the country. This is right in the heart of Laugavegur. The room we got had a big balcony, extra bed for two more people, cooking facilities and was very spacious. All this for 130 Euros. This is a deal that you will not get in another European Capital, especially during the high tourist season.

The breakfast is very basic and nothing to brag about... but there are about 30 other great options for breakfast in 100 meter radius so no worries.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArniStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Fron for 2 nights in July 2013. We had booked a twin room on hotels.com for a decent rate. We arrived around 10am, figuring it would be too early to check in, but the front desk was nice enough to not only give us a room, but to upgrade my mom and I to a 2 bedroom apartment in the back building. Every time I spoke with anyone at the front desk they were very helpful and knowledgeable. The breakfast was decent but not too extravagant. We did not have a car but I noticed there was some parking on site for an additional cost. The apartment was very spacious with a flatscreen television, full kitchen and updated bathroom with bathtub, and a small balcony. The building our apartment was in was very quiet, despite the hotel being located on the main shopping street in Reykjavik. It is a very short walk to many bars, shops, and restaurants and about a 10 minute walk to the harbor. I would highly recommend Snaps Bistro for dinner - it's a bit south of the hotel, near Hallgrímskirkja. Also, there is a Bonus supermarket 3 blocks east on Laugavegur, if you have a kitchen in your room.

One thing to note: the Flybus and excursion buses will pick up/drop off a block away from the hotel since Laugavegur is sometimes closed to vehicles.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Struggled to find rooms in Reykjavik, but managed to find a couple at the hotel Fron. It's fine for a (relatively) low cost hotel. The included breakfast is OK, but nothing to get too excited about. The staff are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ians2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and loved every minute of it. The apartments are well equiped, large, and well kept. It is right on the main street of relkyavick, which is very convinience. There is a privat parking (cost). The breakfast is good.

Room Tip: If you are there in weend daysh dont take the front rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

A Friend and I are just back from 4 nights staying at Hotel Fron it is a lovely hotel right in the pedestrian part of Reykjavik. We had a room at the back so never heard any noise. When the Flybus drops you it is in a street 1 block down you think you have arrived in a terrible part of town with graffiti on all the walls but you walk through this square and into the pedestrial area and it is so different. We couldnt fault this hotel and the staff were all helpful with our trips.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank lindamack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews