We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #26 of 59 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

From the moment we landed we were very happy with our choice of hotel. We stayed for four days. We stayed in suite/apartment 125 which is round the back of th hotel in a new building. As per pictures the room was modern with leather sofa alarm clock and tv and free wifi access.

The kitchen had table and chairs, microwave coffee percolator, fridge washing liquid, wipe cloth, tea towel and all the utensils and pans that you will need.

We take a travel kettle as I drink tea rather than coffee.

The beds were very comfortable, it was very warm. This suite does not ave a view bout I would not let that put you off as being off the main street it was very quite.

The hotel itself is on a main and nice shopping area with 1 min walk to supermarket. I would recommend using bonus and not 1011 we shopped there first and it's much more expensive, search Thanet for grocery shopping in iceland nod you ill see I'm not he only one that thinks that lol.

Breakfast is continental, and fresh and plentiful, staff very friendly, I'd tun up early or after 8 as it can be busy, but there is a fast turnover so you won't wait long lol

We were picked up from hotel fron by busiceland which I highly recommend cheapest on the net and excellent for both th blue lagoon and golden circle tour see my reviews on this.

Getting from Keflavik we used flybus, easy to find head right as you exit you will see the kiosk, choose flybus plus if you want dropped of at hotel, they transfer you to smaller bus at the bus terminal

Whale watching in reykjavik I recommend elding it's 500 isk cheaper on on the tour I went on see 10 am 4th July on thir website or photos and video, we saw a humpback an other tour company's turned back this tour company stayed hole we ll watched and on that day was the biggest boat, offered weather suits anti sickness tablets for free no one was sick, has a cafe and is olds IAFW guidelines

In summary reykjavik awesome as was hotel fron

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank orca111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    889
    226
    36
    28
See reviews for
229
857
155
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Everything in town is near this hotel..walk to shops, restaurants, harbor, pond, etc. Front desk folks are extremely helpful..wakeup calls, umbrellas, confirmation of tours etc all handled with aplomb.

Hotel is on main street, but hotel has at least one building in the rear which is quieter and may have rooms larger than up front..so request that.

Hotel is also on the route of tour pickups, making it very convenient.

Room Tip: Choose room in back building, away from main street, for quiet and possibly more size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjbirnbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Hotel Fron is located in the heart of Reykjavik, along the main shopping district Laugavegur, which is chock full of some of the best restaurants and shopping around. This is an excellent location, unless one wants a a remote stay, without the yelling of party-goers and loud music on friday and weekend nights which can be faintly heard.

Facilities are excellent. All rooms comes with a mini bar, rooms have sufficient space to avoid being labelled claustrophobic as are some of the other hotels in this area, the toilets even have heaters for the towels(always nice to have warm towels after a shower), hairdryers are included. I booked a single room on one night, but was upgraded to a spacious double room for some reason. I spent another night in a single room, which this review is based on. Decor is new, and inviting.

All in all, for the price paid, this was value for money, compared to other more expensive hotels in the area, which offer much less, and make you pay more.

*secure luggage storage is also available. This is helpful for many of us who would like to spend a few days backpacking outside Reykjavik, and would like to leave the baggage behind.

For elderly folks and people with large items of luggage, you should request to have rooms that are at the same level as the lift landings. On my first night, I got a room on the third floor, but upon reaching the 3rd floor via lift, I still had to climb two flights of stairs to get to my room-- not too easy for older folks or those with extra needs.

Room Tip: For elderly folks and people with large items of luggage, you should request to have rooms that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marmottalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The location couldn't be better, the hotel is clean and has free wifi if that is important to you. Breakfast at the hotel is basic but satisfying, cheeses, tomato, cold hams, bread, cereals and fruit.
I recommend going to 'Bonus' which is just along the street and buying things for lunch and snacks, there is a kitchenette in your room which is great.
Eating out in Reykjavik can be expensive however portion sizes are large. The restaurant next to Hotel Fron (used as the breakfast room in the morning) is fantastic and I would definately recommend eating here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 841kirsty2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
122 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel's location is excellent, right on one of Reykjavik's shopping streets. Tour buses will pick you up close to the hotel. Otherwise this hotel is just average.

Reading other reviews, there seems to be different sized hotel rooms. Ours was extremely tiny. Seriously, this was the smallest hotel room we've ever seen. The bathroom was almost the same size as the room. The single beds were very narrow. Unfortunately, also the cleanliness wasn't the best. The carpet was stained and dirty, there was stuff (e.g. medicines) on the floor from the previous guest that hadn't been cleaned up. The bathroom had stains on the walls and shower doors. The worst thing was the window to the street. The windows were so dirty you couldn't see out properly - the huge bird droppings on the windows made it worse. They should seriously wash the property's windows asap.

Breakfast was typical continental breakfast. You might have to share your table with someone else, as the breakfast room is small. They will start serving breakfast at 4 am already, which is great if you have an early flight. On the third floor there is a business center. The free wifi worked really well throughout our stay.

Sleep quality isn't the best either. The walls are thin and you can hear everything from the neighbors, hallway and street. We didn't stay in the hotel during the weekend, so we didn't have noise issues from the night club next to the hotel.

The staff is courteous and helpful. Would probably though, stay in another hotel next time just because of the housekeeping problems.

Room Tip: Stay in a room far away from the street and the night club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
251 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here two nights during our stay in Iceland. We had a studio kitchenette. The price was very reasonable on booking.com. This was off the street quiet but dark. Not enough light or windows to see properly in our room. The fridge had a freezer - nice. We used the microwave for popcorn and there was a coffee maker but not needed because the coffee was great at the free breakfast. Gluten free great options for breakfast. Yogurt, fresh fruit, cheese toaster for my own bread. Beds were comfortable and rooms were decent. Two chairs and beds took up most of room. There were sitting areas throughout the floors for good reading. Nice lobby with 5-6 couches for waiting. Clean, front desk extremely helpful. Airport bus picks you up around the corner. Front desk will reserve for you. No need to stay in Keflavik for an early flight. Buses run all hours to get you there in plenty of time. Keflavik small and efficiently run airport. Lots of stores and eating places right outside the door. PARKING. You can use the meters free on the street before 10 am and after 6 pm. Ask the front desk. Plenty of parking sun night and through the week. We were not here on the weekend which I would guess parking would be harder.
I would stay here again. Bonus supermarket 2-3 blocks away.

Room Tip: Some rooms away from the street if you are here on weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ackart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Positives:
+ Centrally located, fairly easy to find and within walking distance of downtown Reykjavik and other sights (e.g. Hallgrimskirja)
+ Comfortable room and bathroom, very comfortable beds & pillows
+ Room has safe and refigerator
+ PC access on the floor and wifi access throughout
+ Helpful and friendly receptionist (well, one of them, the male receptionist was kind of rude)
+ Breakfast included - standard Icelandic (Continental) - cold cuts, cereal, toast, coffee, juice, etc.
+ One of the few hotels I stayed in in Iceland where the rooms could be darked adequately - important in summer when it does not get dark at night.
Negatives:
- Not much of a view (my room) but that was not really very important
- Off street parking available (a plus) but at an extra cost of 8 Euros

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank augustleo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
4th Floor Hotel
#50 of 59 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#30 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,301 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,453 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#21 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Property: Hotel Fron
Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, ETB, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing