We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the center, pickups for tours, breakfast wifi in room”
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here two nights during our stay in Iceland. We had a studio kitchenette. The price was very reasonable on booking.com. This was off the street quiet but dark. Not enough light or windows to see properly in our room. The fridge had a freezer - nice. We used the microwave for popcorn and there was a coffee maker but not needed because the coffee was great at the free breakfast. Gluten free great options for breakfast. Yogurt, fresh fruit, cheese toaster for my own bread. Beds were comfortable and rooms were decent. Two chairs and beds took up most of room. There were sitting areas throughout the floors for good reading. Nice lobby with 5-6 couches for waiting. Clean, front desk extremely helpful. Airport bus picks you up around the corner. Front desk will reserve for you. No need to stay in Keflavik for an early flight. Buses run all hours to get you there in plenty of time. Keflavik small and efficiently run airport. Lots of stores and eating places right outside the door. PARKING. You can use the meters free on the street before 10 am and after 6 pm. Ask the front desk. Plenty of parking sun night and through the week. We were not here on the weekend which I would guess parking would be harder.
I would stay here again. Bonus supermarket 2-3 blocks away.

Room Tip: Some rooms away from the street if you are here on weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ackart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,594 - 1,600 of 2,288 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Positives:
+ Centrally located, fairly easy to find and within walking distance of downtown Reykjavik and other sights (e.g. Hallgrimskirja)
+ Comfortable room and bathroom, very comfortable beds & pillows
+ Room has safe and refigerator
+ PC access on the floor and wifi access throughout
+ Helpful and friendly receptionist (well, one of them, the male receptionist was kind of rude)
+ Breakfast included - standard Icelandic (Continental) - cold cuts, cereal, toast, coffee, juice, etc.
+ One of the few hotels I stayed in in Iceland where the rooms could be darked adequately - important in summer when it does not get dark at night.
Negatives:
- Not much of a view (my room) but that was not really very important
- Off street parking available (a plus) but at an extra cost of 8 Euros

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank augustleo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

...that is the big plus of Hotel Fron. We stayed there for only one night after arriving in Reykjavik, so the distance to our car rental had been the main issue when choosing a hotel.

Our room has been in the backyard, so it was quite calm. The room was basic but ok and clean.

Breakfast was ok, but the room is quite small. So expect some kind of "traffic jam" at the buffet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christof B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel in the beginning of our Iceland tour and paid 160 eur for a night. It was quite expensive but we wanted to stay in the middle of Reykjavik. The hotel is on the main road Laugavegur and in the most popular part of it. Our big room was in the annex building in a peaceful courtyard. The room was clean and cozy. The breakfast was simple but enough for us. Free wifi was needed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mika7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel has a very central location. The rooms are OK and the service adequate. The breakfast was however quite lousy. Nice bakery close by. Cleanliness of hotel is good, but carpets on the floors is not preferrable.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verdenvilbedras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Nice hotel, I got an apartment and as I stayed for 9 days..it is so good to be able to cook..I needed assistants for booking of trips a couple of times..no worries..they booked, went on my bill..so great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank venueM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at hotel from in April, we asked for a room with cooking facilities in advance and this was excellent to have as saved loads on eating out! There is only a coffee machine for hot drinks no kettle but could boil water in pan. Nice clean room, at back of hotel so was quiet, breakfast was a bit boring after a week, but great over all hotel would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a self catering room in advance to save money as expensive to eat out everyday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank faye e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,141 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
971 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
916 reviews
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
653 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#40 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $133 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing