We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Central location...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Lower Austria, Austria
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Central location...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

...that is the big plus of Hotel Fron. We stayed there for only one night after arriving in Reykjavik, so the distance to our car rental had been the main issue when choosing a hotel.

Our room has been in the backyard, so it was quite calm. The room was basic but ok and clean.

Breakfast was ok, but the room is quite small. So expect some kind of "traffic jam" at the buffet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christof B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    925
    239
    39
    29
See reviews for
244
894
161
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel in the beginning of our Iceland tour and paid 160 eur for a night. It was quite expensive but we wanted to stay in the middle of Reykjavik. The hotel is on the main road Laugavegur and in the most popular part of it. Our big room was in the annex building in a peaceful courtyard. The room was clean and cozy. The breakfast was simple but enough for us. Free wifi was needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mika7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel has a very central location. The rooms are OK and the service adequate. The breakfast was however quite lousy. Nice bakery close by. Cleanliness of hotel is good, but carpets on the floors is not preferrable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verdenvilbedras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Nice hotel, I got an apartment and as I stayed for 9 days..it is so good to be able to cook..I needed assistants for booking of trips a couple of times..no worries..they booked, went on my bill..so great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venueM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at hotel from in April, we asked for a room with cooking facilities in advance and this was excellent to have as saved loads on eating out! There is only a coffee machine for hot drinks no kettle but could boil water in pan. Nice clean room, at back of hotel so was quiet, breakfast was a bit boring after a week, but great over all hotel would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a self catering room in advance to save money as expensive to eat out everyday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank faye e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The American traveler might be thrown off due to the small size of the rooms, but this is standard for European hotels. Hotel is located on Laugavegur Street with bars, cafe's, restaurants, galleries and shops right on the door step of the hotel. 5 minute walk to the waterfront, government offices, Straeto bus stop, Gray Line tour bus office. Breakfast is European continental with cereals, fruit yogurt, fresh bread, meats and cheeses. There are also numerous cafes and a grocery store just a 2 minute walk from Fron. Front desk is aware of flights on Icelandair arriving from North America early in the morning and makes a small amount of rooms available for early check in. Front desk will also allow you to book and pay for tours. If you are in the hotel during a weekend and are a light sleeper, a room facing Laugavegur is not advised as the bar and club crowd will be out on the street until at least 4:00 in the morning. Other than the room size and late night partyers, the Fron is an excellent place to stay in Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Laugavegur Street are great for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlCJ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton,AB
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The location is right on Laugavegur Street; lots of restaurants, stores and galleries. Parking was painful, We ended up parking right on the street at a meter. Luckily we only had to plug the meter till 6pm. Then you just need to ensure you either move your vehicle by 10am or plug the meter again. Our room overlooked the street, but we were not bothered by street noise. The curtains, though, could have been darker - did not block out enough of the bright night. The room was small, I think the bathroom was bigger! There is an elevator, but our room on the fourth floor still required we go up 2 sets of stairs - not great with suitcases!! The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. Breakfast was average; coffee, juices, bread, cold cuts, cheese, cereal, yogurt and fruit. Good wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchtravellers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Baron
#42 of 60 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,351 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 60 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 60 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#31 of 60 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#51 of 60 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Property: Hotel Fron
Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing