We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of all the action”
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“In the middle of all the action”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I really liked this location. I was in Reykjavik for Airwaves and Hotel Fron was a perfect spot. I felt comfortable and cozy in my single room. Spotless and always attended to, I was very happy with the service. I am planning on returning this summer and I am sure I will stay at Hotel Fron again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    1,105
    304
    56
    38
See reviews for
319
1,107
202
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

good hotel, we stayed there on two separate ocassions. the first time, we had a room in the back building, which was quieter, but the bathroom was not as nice as the one in the front building. If younstay in the front though, it can get a bit loud, with noise from the street.
very central, ok breakfast.
i wish he receptionist had known that hertz offers free shuttle service when you've booked a car from them.... I asked about this specifically, and they made us take a cab instead...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trini15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for five nights. As soon as we walked into the reception area we received a great service and despite arriving at 10.00 am and a few hours prior to the check in time were allocated a room straight away. We had a studio room on the 4th floor at the back of the hotel so were not facing onto the main street and therefore the room was very quiet. The self-catering facilities in the room were very good and the room was a good size. Continuous hot water is available with its own unqiue sulphur smell but we soon got used to that. As the hotel is on one of the main streets it is very central to everything. The breakfast was good though a few more tables might be needed in peak season. We could not fault this hotel and loved Iceland.

Room Tip: Pick a room to the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerEM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had originally booked this hotel based on previous reviews that told me it was at the heart of the city - and this was absolutely right. It was right on the main street, close to lovely shops, restaurants and bars. I wasn't sure what the rooms would be like - and was pleasantly surprised - kind of Ikea style simple feel to the room. The breakfast was simple but filling. The staff were efficient and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WessexZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haifa
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I am so happy we chose this hotel, the hotel is on the main street- where you have everything and all of the attractions are reachable by foot.
We got the studio room and it was of a really good size, had kitchen facilities, nice shower and ofcourse heating system.
The service was great, we got answers for all of our question.
The breakfast was nice, nothing fancy but you got all you need, only one tip for the hotel- maybe you should use more staff for the breakfast- it seemed to be so busy.- Of course the ladies at the breakfast was more than helpfull and always smiling- Dalia was nicest.-They have a restaurant but we never went there because you have such a choice of everything on the same street.
And no doubt I will choose this hotel at my next stays at this wondefull city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karpada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The location really can't be beat-- right in the middle of everything, walking distance to the water, and local sites. The reception staff were friendly and answered all of my silly questions throughout out stay. Check in was fast and easy, and our room was spacious, with a kitchenette and little lounge. We were able to park right at the hotel, for a small fee, but it was totally worht it as that part of the city seemed a little lacking in parking and everything around us was metered. My husband and I were visiting Reykjavik on a whim, on our way to paris for our honeymoon. We are already making plans to go again for an extended trip, and we will be definitely be staying at Hotel Fron again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank underwaterunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Sitting as we are in our bedroom apartment of this hotel, we just wanted to record our views to date. We are now here for our unscheduled third night courtesy of Hurricane Sandy and the staff could not have been more helpful. The 2 bedroom apartment comfortably hosts the four of us, though in truth we have not attempted to use the small kitchen. Breakfast is somewhat limited, but overall the top service really helps this hotel stand out. Oh yes, and the shower water really does stink!

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the nightclub if you want a peaceful night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,162 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#39 of 52 in Reykjavik
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,358 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
845 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Property: Hotel Fron
Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing