We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Reykjavik” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #25 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Reykjavik”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We all know the importance of location, location, location. This is a very nice hotel to stay because you can walk to almost any location in the central part of the city. We walked to major shopping locales and restaurants and to tours starting from the docks. It is a stop of Flybus and Reykjavik Excursions, which we used several times. The front desk is very helpful with general tourist information or will book a tour for you if you wish. I asked at the desk if they had a voltage convertor I could use and one was provided for me. I really have to give the front desk an excellent for service with a smile. They also stored our luggage for us in a secure storage room on the last day while we took in one more tour.

Breakfast is included in the stay, and my wife and I agreed that we had plenty to eat. Mind you it is cold cereal or hot oatmeal and yogurt, a variety of bread that can be toasted or eaten as is with a selection of jams, cheeses and meats. Coffee is hearty, and the orange juice is great. We saw a number of people packing lunches using the bread with cheese and meat.

The rooms are large by european standards, with plenty of room to stash luggage and clothes. They are not luxurious The beds were comfortable and were comprised of two singles that could be pushed together as a double bed. Our room had a desk and a sofa, and also a small kitchenette that we did not use, but I could see that if a traveler wanted to do Iceland on a budget that included preparing some of his/her own meals, the setup would be adequate as it included a small fridge and stove. The shower was clean and functional. The room was cleaned daily with fresh towels and the beds made up. I especially appreciated that everything was kept so clean.

The hotel draws a large variety of people from all over the world. Some are on tours and generally older while others are presumably exploring Iceland on their own and generally younger---all that makes for a very interesting mix of people to interact with.

Finally, as we returned from our tours and the tour bus was letting people off at the various hotels it became very apparent that the big name luxury hotels (chains) were located in the outskirts of the city. I am so happy we did not opt for one of those but chose the Hotel Fron instead.

Room Tip: Our friends had a "standard" room while we had the kitchenette. The layout of both was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DocSpoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    1,056
    270
    47
    33
See reviews for
286
1,039
191
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Cant fault anything here - bathroom was not beautiful but it all functioned. I keep forgetting north Americans are the only people that use facecloths to shower with! If you use one, bring it with you!

It was a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimscowdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Great place to stay while in Reykjavik. Walking distance from the nightlife and buses for tours/day trips.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Hotel Fron was kind enough to let me check in early - REALLY early! The single accommodations were cozy, but definitely enough for me! A clean bed, desk, fridge, and full private bathroom did the trick. The location couldn't be any better, as it's centrally located with shops and restaurants in every direction. If you are looking for a restful, country-side inn, this isn't the location for you. If you are without a car and/or looking for some fun in the evening, definitely stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaiBoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

After reading other reviews, I picked Hotel Fron as our hotel for our recent stay in Reykjavik. We stayed for a week in a studio room. Booked with airfare in an Expedia package, I paid about $85 per night which was really reasonable. It is in a great location. Walking distance to everything. Good restaurants and live music nearby. The breakfast was basic: Coffee, juice, bread, meat cheese, jams, fruit and cereal. But it was included and it was perfect for us. The front desk was helpful. They booked our tours for us, even though we used a lesser known tour company I had also read about on Tripadvisor. (Iceland Guided Tours. They were awesome!!!) Some reviews had mentioned the loud music on the weekends that went on all night. I did hear some faint music on Friday and Saturday night, but it did not keep me up. I did have a studio towards the back of the hotel on the second floor however. The main noise came from construction on the next street which was being dug up and jack-hammered while we were there. But this was in the day time and we were not in our room most of the day. I am not sure when that project will be finished, but I thought I'd mention it for those who like to nap in the day time. Overall, I'd say it was a great place to stay, the location was excellent, I got a great deal on it and it was clean, roomy and comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 205 which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lprasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

I really can't fault this lovely little hotel. The room was clean, warm and comfortable with a safe, free wi-fi and fantastic bathroom. Service was absolutely brilliant, which is the Icelandic standard, the staff couldn't do enough to help anytime day or night and our maid not only cleaned and dressed the room but also folded the clothes I had left lying on the chair - and she seemed genuinely surprised when we left a tip! The location was great too, right in the heart of the city. I can't wait to go back to Iceland, and I'll definitely be staying here again. Minor gripes... the breakfast was ok but not to my taste and I would like an extra pillow, although I am sure if I asked I would have been given one.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Right on the main shopping street, plenty of cafés and restaurants a few seconds away, a perfect location. The hotel is modern and clean, the tv was a bit rubbish (some stations didnt work or were blurry) but it is not a problem as you should be out all day seeing the sights. The breakfast was adequate but not amazing (no cooked food, just a toaster for something hot) and no pastries or croissants, just sliced bread. Also cereal, yogurt, jam, hams/salami, processed cheese, apples/bananas. We had a room for 3 (my son was on the sofa bed which was a bit squeaky) with a hob but no microwave. At 200 GBP for 4 nights for 3 people this hotel was fantastic value. The desk staff are very helpful. If you book a Northern Lights trip, be sure to check at the desk around 6pm to find out if it is cancelled (they dont generally operate if the weather is cloudy, which we were disappointed to find out).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#29 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Property: Hotel Fron
Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing