We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good value”
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good location and good value”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We had a clean, spacious studio in separate block at rear. Small kitchen area useful for preparing hot drinks etc- microwave and two hot rings so you could use for limited self catering. Beds comfortable and during our mid-week stay room was very quiet. Seating area good for a glass of wine in the evening. Buffet breakfast of cereals, juices, meat, cheese, toast, preserves and fresh fruit always looked appetising and was plentiful- available from 7am to 10am so good if you had an early start for trips. Hotel location perfect for sightseeing, shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    1,105
    304
    56
    38
See reviews for
319
1,107
202
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Looking at other peoples pictures my room was not like theirs. To be fair I did book very late and they didn't have much room left. My room was tiny, with a tiny bed small desk and bathroom. It was very clean and all I needed for sure.

Breakfast was good way to start the day and all the staff was most pleasant. Parking was a t a premium and very tight for parking, not for the nervous driver to say the least.

I was there for work and didn't spend much time in my room. On a budget this would be a great place to stay for sure. Location is in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskwatches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Hotel Fron is an efficient, clean, spacious place in a good location.
All service was very prompt and efficient, and the free breakfast each morning was a great way to start the day. The hotel is located on the main street in Reykjavik, so if you want to have a night on the town you will be within walking distance of your hotel! At the same time, the hotel itself is quiet, and you will never believe you are in the city at night. The location is ideal for travel anywhere in Reykjavik and is close to most tour operators and car rental offices.
The room included a large bathroom, its own balcony, and very good heating.
This is a great value for money and cheaper than some other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kkaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed here both at the beginning of our trip and at the end for a total of four nights. The rooms were very nice and clean and toasty warm. The staff was very helpful in finding tours and local restaurants, etc. It is in the heart of the center of Reykjavik near many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed in Reykjavik one night on the way from Seattle to Paris, France. We arrived about 9:15 am and left the next morning at 4:35 am, not the usual check-in and check-out times, but the hotel was very accomodating. Our room was large, very clean, and included a small kitchen (which we did not use). It was located close to the new concert hall and interesting shops and restaurants. I have a couple of minor reservations. First, the toilet seat was one of those very lightweight plastic seats, and it did not seem to be firmly attached to the toilet. Second, the bedsheets smelled as though they had been treated with a fragrant fabric softener, which I found slightly unpleasant. I am not allergic to the fragrance, but some people are; I just find it unpleasant. If we had been staying longer, I would have mentioned these things to the staff, but there didn't seem to be time. We were late for breakfast the day we arrived and there was no place to sit, so we had to look elsewhere. The hotel provided coffee and orange juice the morning we left, which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Conveniently situated close to the town Centre on the main shopping street. Our double room was at the front of the Hotel with a small balcony. The modern style room was very large with a small kitchen including a full sized fridge (with mini bar), microwave, cupboards, two hobs,sink and a coffee machine. There is no coffee, tea or milk in the room (as might be in a English hotel) but there are local supermarkets where these can be bought at reasonable prices.The bedroom and ensuite were clean and the room was comfortable with a double sofa and a dining table. The breakfast was a typical continental buffet style with plenty of choice. The room was well heated (we travelled in winter with plenty of snow) probably like the rest of iceland with its geothermal water. There was a slight smell of sulphur when the shower ran but again this is typical in Iceland. We also found that the staff were very helpful and not rude in our experience.The only negative aspect was that on one of the nights of our 5 night stay, there was a lot of noise from a nearby nightclub.
Close by there is an independent travel agent who was able to recommend alternative tours with special rates and was a good indicator of the likelihood of the Northern Lights.The tour buses picked up from the hotel. There was WiFi but this was very slow and a TV (but very few channels) although we had little need to use it in this interesting and unusual city.
The hotel was a high standard at the price paid compared to the UK. Altogether an excellent stay which we were sad to leave.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, West Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We emailed the Hotel before our stay and asked for a room with a bath. When we arrived they had upgraded us to a large 'apartment' room, with a large whirlpool bath. Very impressed. Staff were always friendly and helpful whatever the request - even offered us a kettle when I asked about finding a pint of milk to make some tea. Breakfast was in the cafe next door which was fine - a choice of beverages, cereals, toast etc. They booked a couple of excursions for us and pointed out the best operators, some of which we hadn't noticed. We had a very early departure and they had laid out tea, coffee juices and snacks in the reception area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardDenzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,163 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#39 of 52 in Reykjavik
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,361 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
849 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Property: Hotel Fron
Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing