We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,498)
Filter reviews
2,498 results
Traveler rating
807
1,231
351
66
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
807
1,231
351
66
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetbreadscandinavian restaurantgreat locationyogurtcentral locationcold meatsstudio roomsmall kitchenettecooking facilitieshot waterkitchen areabreakfast staffsulphur smellbreakfast was includedmini barbonus supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
1,942 - 1,947 of 2,498 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Looking at other peoples pictures my room was not like theirs. To be fair I did book very late and they didn't have much room left. My room was tiny, with a tiny bed small desk and bathroom. It was very clean and all I needed for sure.

Breakfast was good way to start the day and all the staff was most pleasant. Parking was a t a premium and very tight for parking, not for the nervous driver to say the least.

I was there for work and didn't spend much time in my room. On a budget this would be a great place to stay for sure. Location is in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saskwatches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Hotel Fron is an efficient, clean, spacious place in a good location.
All service was very prompt and efficient, and the free breakfast each morning was a great way to start the day. The hotel is located on the main street in Reykjavik, so if you want to have a night on the town you will be within walking distance of your hotel! At the same time, the hotel itself is quiet, and you will never believe you are in the city at night. The location is ideal for travel anywhere in Reykjavik and is close to most tour operators and car rental offices.
The room included a large bathroom, its own balcony, and very good heating.
This is a great value for money and cheaper than some other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kkaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed here both at the beginning of our trip and at the end for a total of four nights. The rooms were very nice and clean and toasty warm. The staff was very helpful in finding tours and local restaurants, etc. It is in the heart of the center of Reykjavik near many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed in Reykjavik one night on the way from Seattle to Paris, France. We arrived about 9:15 am and left the next morning at 4:35 am, not the usual check-in and check-out times, but the hotel was very accomodating. Our room was large, very clean, and included a small kitchen (which we did not use). It was located close to the new concert hall and interesting shops and restaurants. I have a couple of minor reservations. First, the toilet seat was one of those very lightweight plastic seats, and it did not seem to be firmly attached to the toilet. Second, the bedsheets smelled as though they had been treated with a fragrant fabric softener, which I found slightly unpleasant. I am not allergic to the fragrance, but some people are; I just find it unpleasant. If we had been staying longer, I would have mentioned these things to the staff, but there didn't seem to be time. We were late for breakfast the day we arrived and there was no place to sit, so we had to look elsewhere. The hotel provided coffee and orange juice the morning we left, which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Conveniently situated close to the town Centre on the main shopping street. Our double room was at the front of the Hotel with a small balcony. The modern style room was very large with a small kitchen including a full sized fridge (with mini bar), microwave, cupboards, two hobs,sink and a coffee machine. There is no coffee, tea or milk in the room (as might be in a English hotel) but there are local supermarkets where these can be bought at reasonable prices.The bedroom and ensuite were clean and the room was comfortable with a double sofa and a dining table. The breakfast was a typical continental buffet style with plenty of choice. The room was well heated (we travelled in winter with plenty of snow) probably like the rest of iceland with its geothermal water. There was a slight smell of sulphur when the shower ran but again this is typical in Iceland. We also found that the staff were very helpful and not rude in our experience.The only negative aspect was that on one of the nights of our 5 night stay, there was a lot of noise from a nearby nightclub.
Close by there is an independent travel agent who was able to recommend alternative tours with special rates and was a good indicator of the likelihood of the Northern Lights.The tour buses picked up from the hotel. There was WiFi but this was very slow and a TV (but very few channels) although we had little need to use it in this interesting and unusual city.
The hotel was a high standard at the price paid compared to the UK. Altogether an excellent stay which we were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GerryCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews