We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and perfect location”
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent service and perfect location”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I selected this hotel for the quality of the location, right downtown on the shopping street, near to all the restaurants and cafes. The staff was excellent, the room was perfect. I will make this my choice next time I return to Reykjavik. The price was also perfect for my small budget.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    1,092
    298
    55
    38
See reviews for
307
1,099
201
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed a week in Hotel Fron in Reykjavik and I liked the hotel very much. It was perfectly located on the Laugavegur, a walking distance of almost anywhere in Reykjavik. The room was much bigger than I expected and we had a little kitchen too (that is not too bad when thinking that Iceland is still pretty expensive experience). We also enjoyed the balcony a lot. Breakfast was very basic one but enough for us !!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I was very pleased with almost every aspect of this hotel -- cleanliness, relative newness, price (given that it's Reykjavik), appearance of the lobby, and especially the location! However, if you do stay here, especially on the weekends, I suggest you request a room AT THE BACK! This hotel, nice as it is, is located right on Laugavegur, the main shopping street, and on the weekends people are out partying late, and not at all quietly. It's a very sweet hotel, but you will have a better night's rest if your room is at the back of the hotel. Unless you're one of the revelers, that is -- in that case it probably won't matter where your room is ; )

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexaAshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem District, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

we stayed for our first and 2 last nights in Iceland. As a family of three we got a beautiful modern apartment in an adjacent building which had everything we could think of. The location was excellent and the front desk helpful even if a little bit busy. breakfast is an average experience. \we had better ones elsewhere in Iceland

an overall positive and recommended experience

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Hotel Fron is centrally and very conveniently located on one of the main shopping streets, Laugavegur. On our first visit, we had an apartment (room 108) which had two bedrooms, kitchen (fully equipped) and living area. This would have made a great place to stay for a prolonged visit, since it would have allowed one to avoid the high restaurant prices in Reykjavik. There is a Bonus supermarket just up the road. On our second stay, we had a regular room (#122) which was fine but had no coffee making facilities. Because the room is on the ground floor, facing on to the small parking area, the floor to ceiling windows are frosted, making the room a little claustrophobic. Probably better are the rooms on higher floors. Both rooms had a mini-bar and free safes. The hotel was scrupulously clean. Cars can be parked at the back of the hotel (900ISK per night) which was useful as we kept our rental car for a day of exploration of the Reykanes peninsula after returning to Reykjavik. There are only about nine spaces so we booked a space before arrival. Breakfast is the usual Icelandic buffet with cereals, cold meats etc. The breakfast room (which is a Mexican restaurant at night) is rather small for the size of the hotel leading to some overcrowding, especially when a tour group arrives together for breakfast. Overall, this is an excellent hotel with very friendly staff. Note that the street in front of the hotel, Laugavegur, is pedestrianized so taxis etc. cannot drop off at the main entrance. Also Flybus (to the airport) cannot pick up from the front which necessitates a short walk (about one block) to the pick-up point in front of Hotel Centro. If arriving by car, we found it best to use Grettisgata (one way, east to west) which runs behind the hotel and park in the pay-and-display public car park next to the apartments. Reception can then be accessed through the back gate next to the apartments. You only have to pay for the public car park between 10.00 and 18.00 so the car can be left there overnight if you cannot secure one of the hotel’s spaces (or do not want to pay for it). Laugavegur has a reputation of being one of Reykjavik’s rowdier streets, especially on weekend nights, but we had no problem. Hotel Fron has free wifi.
Down Laugavegur, towards the center, is Caruso’s, which is a very good Italian/Seafood restaurant with reasonable prices (by Icelandic standards).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SouthCarolinaRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Centrally located hotel with very helpful desk staff. Rooms spacious and clean. "Double" bed is two single beds pushed together. Basic breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvenDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
602 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Hotel Fron is a small hotel by USA standards. It was 80 to 90 rooms and is located on the main shopping street in the center of the old city. The rooms are on the small side but quite adequate; very clean and has a helpful staff. There is also a restaurant in the hotel which is open for breakfast as well as dinner. Since it is on the main street, it is a little noisy at times but very acceptable considering the convenience. Most of the larger hotels are located on the edge of the city and not convenient for exploring on foot like I love to do. Of course, there is no airconditioning since it is usually 55F during the daytime in the summer and it drops to around 45F at night. If I ever return to Iceland, I will stay there again.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, ask for a room facing the back parking lot since it is farthest from the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilivennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#26 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,344 reviews
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
576 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
506 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Property: Hotel Fron
Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing