We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,497)
Filter reviews
2,497 results
Traveler rating
806
1,231
351
66
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
806
1,231
351
66
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetbreadscandinavian restaurantgreat locationyogurtcentral locationcold meatsstudio roomsmall kitchenettecooking facilitieshot waterkitchen areabreakfast staffsulphur smellbreakfast was includedmini barbonus supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
2,112 - 2,117 of 2,497 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2007

Hotel Fron was a very good choice. Close to everything in town, and absolutely a hotel to recommend. We stayed from monday until friday. The rooms also have a little kitcken where you can make some breakfast or lunch. We ordered the breakfast at the hotel, since it it was a holiday. It was basic and alright.
The restaurants and shops was just a few steps away from the hotel.We hired a car the whole week, since we wanted to see the country, but if youre only staying in the city you dont need a car. A bicycle can be a better choice then.
Since we are a very active couple and like to train every day we found out that the car was needed. The running paths is not good in the city if youre feet doesnt like asphalt. We found some soft roads out of town, in the direction of Vik( right beside of the Morgenbladid newspaper offices). Very nice place to walk and run. We also trained at Laugardalur fitness center. A perfect place to begin the day.
We will also recommend the the vegetarian restaurant: A Næstu Grøsum, right beside of hotel Fron. Tasted wonderful.
Have a nice trip to Iceland.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank springerinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Fron on the first night of our touring holiday of Iceland - a Friday - and on the last night a week later on the Saturday. From a city sightseeing point of view the hotel is in an excellent location, right bang in the middle of everything.

Both the rooms we were given were in the appartment style part of the hotel. Both were a good size, very clean, comfortable and very warm with easy to control radiators. Room 228 was a little dated whereas Room 322 had clearly undergone a very good high quality upgrade recently. Both were supposed to be non smoking rooms but room 322 had a noticeable stale smoke odour - whether it was a hotel mix up or a guest smoking when they shouldn't I don't know.

Both rooms had cutlery and crockery for 4 and a coffee maker as apposed to a kettle, a sink, both had microwave ovens, a 2 ring electic hob, frying pan and saucepan, washing up liquid, tea towel etc.

The tv had a fair range of channels, many with Icelandic subtitles so the dialogue was still in English and CNN was available.

Neither room was carpeted so you could hear people above you move around sometimes but the noise wasn't that bad.

The showers in both rooms were very hot at night but only warm in the mornings.

Breakfast was limited but very fresh. Plates of sliced cheese, salami, processed meat, tomato and cucumber were on offer with yoghuts, 2 types of cereals, orange and apple juice, tea and coffee. There was a nice selection of assorted breads which you could toast.

The staff were friendly and helpful and recommnded the restaurant next door for an evening meal which turned out to be very good value for money compared to other places we ate in around Iceland - generally it is very expensive for food compared to the UK and the portions were large and delicious!

Both nights, unfortuately, were disturbed by the large number of drunks and night clubbers in the area around the hotel. Friday night was far worse than Saturday - from 11pm until we left for the airport at 4.30am the noise was consistantly very loud - loud music, slamming of car doors (a large car park at the back of the hotel seemed to be favoured by people out on the town for the night), lots of loud voices, shouting, car horns etc and things were not helped by people returning to the hotel making no attempt to close the large heavy room doors quietly. As we drove away we had to avoid drunks in the road and saw men relieving themselves in the street (although the guide books said the police were clamping down on this behaviour!)

From a quality/comfort point of view we were more than happy with the Hotel Fron but I could never recommend it to anyone I know due to the noise made by the revellers, which is obviously outside the hotel's control, but had a very detrimental effect on
our stay at the Fron.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank dedicatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

After reading about Hotel Fron in a Lonley Planet book we made our plans. The newer boutique style hotel is ideally located on the main shopping street in Reykjavik. The Flybus from the airport will drop you at the front door and all tours will pick-up/drop-off at the property, as well. The rates are very reasonable for Iceland and the hotel is modern, clean with nice guest rooms.
Edmond, as you've read in the other reviews, is a particular highlight of the property. Prior to are arrival he was quick to answer emails. He went above and beyond during our stay assisting us with everything from booking tours, locating points of interest and even helping me with my lost debit card. Upon check-in my husband and I overhead a group of older ladies who were very thankful to Edmond for all of his help. He is a real gem - you don't get service like that from a large hotel. He really made our trip an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTWPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2007

This hotel is a solid choice for anyone who wants to be in the center of Reykjavik. Hotel Fron is on Laugavegur, which is the main street where there are tons of shops and restaurants. We booked a studio deluxe and were upgraded to a one-bedroom apt located in the older part of the hotel in the back. It was very quiet even during the weekend. The overall decor could be updated along w/the bathroom, but the apartment was roomy; in fact, we even had a balcony with a view of the Hallgrimskirkja. The staff was pretty helpful when we had questions. It's certainly not a luxury hotel, but if you're looking for an apartment with hotel services in the heart of the city, definitely consider Hotel Fron.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank njpmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

Great hotel. We stayed 7 nights with our complete family (two adults, two kids (1 + 4 year).
We emailed Edmund and he took care of everything. When we arrived, everything was set as we agreed upon.

Fantastic location and a nice place to stay with kids.

breakfast was simple but good, rooms and beds were clean and service was fantastic (the receptionist tried to get me a dentist-appointment for over 40 minutes!!)

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank casa67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews