We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Reykjavik
Post
Inbox
Search
Review Highlights
Thank you for an amazing journey around Iceland!

I recently spent a week in Iceland coordinated by Lisa with Iceland Unlimited. It was the best trip... read more

Reviewed October 17, 2019
Darlene O
,
St. Thomas
Golden Circle Self Driven Trip

The trip was organized by Iceland Unlimited. It was a 8 nights and 9 days Self driven trip which... read more

Reviewed October 16, 2019
Amintus
Read all 408 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Reykjavik
from $53.20
More Info
from $58.86
More Info
from $134.00
More Info
from $95.08
More Info
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveler rating
387
14
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
387
14
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self drive ring road rental car detailed map local calls planning phase day trip road map driving trip daily itinerary south coast large map contact person comfort level highly recommend this company blue lagoon perfect trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 408 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2018

"Best Way to see Iceland" This company goes above and beyond to make sure you have the best possible experience, they answered all our questions, took the time to ensure we understood our route and were very friendly. We loved the self drive experience as we could choose how long we spent at sites, what time we wanted to go back to our hotels, and yet we had the security of knowing we had back up plan and people to call if anything went wrong (luckily we didnt expeiernce this). We took an 18 day tour around Iceland and walked away feeling that we had seen everything we wanted to see and really got to know the culture and history of the country.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank UnchartedBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018 via mobile

Found this agent in TripAdvisor forum- above average reviews. Fully agreed. Everything was concluded online. Andri who was the agent that handled my booking was professional and helpful; all response/answers to queries were prompt though not immediate ( about 2 days, could be the time zone difference). Our 9 days trip was seamless :1st day was meet & greet by private chauffeur; pre & post tour hotels were central convenient and comfortable, the 6 days ring road tour he arranged with another operator was comprehensive ( includes a glacier walk and a whale watching cruise) and with a small group of 16. A loan of a local mobile phone from Iceland unlimited for contingency was reassuring.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank theworldmyoyester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018

We did a 9 day ring road self-drive tour with Iceland Unlimited. The tour company and the tour were great!

Juliane took great care of us - helping us to plan out everything. We were in a rush, so she picked all of the hotels for us (rare for me as I usually scour TripAdvisor for everything). We loved all but 1 hotel (Icelandair Hotel) and they were all unique, quaint and in great locations. I am not good at leaving everything up to someone else, but it really worked out.

When we arrived, we went to the office and they walked us through everything we could do and see and reviewed the paper maps. It was a great way to kick off the tour.

Key highlights:

• The paper map was awesome! Even though we had a GPS most of time (a few dark places still!), it would have been painful to use it alone. The map allowed us to see how far the next town or area was, the best way to get from place to place (Iceland Unlimited highlighted the best routes to take) and when mistakes were made, easily see how you could get back on the right path.
• The GPS/hotspot device we got with the car was priceless - couldn't have made the trip without it! It allowed us to relax and just enjoy the scenery without fear of getting lost
• All of the hotels were great. Key stand-outs were the Ranga and the Alda (Icelandair was the only one we wouldn't go back to).

• We enjoyed the glacier hike and snorkeling and both tour companies were good.

• Everything was taken care of – not a single hotel or tour questioned that we were booked there or had problems with any of our arrangements. Flawless!

A few minor issues:
• Our phone never worked and the people at the office couldn't get a replacement to us. With the GPS device in the car, we didn't really miss it much.
I suggest looking at what is happening in the areas you are traveling in case there are any festivals or events you want to incorporate. For example, we missed the Gay Pride parade by a matter of hours but were excited to be able to run a 10K in the Reykjavik marathon. But we spent half the day before trying to get clothes and stuff we needed for it because we didn't know it was happening.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank pjsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

After studying my options for a long time
I decided on ICELAND UNLIMITED
Self drive 7 nights 8 days
5 stars organization and they really take care of you
I traveled in more than 120 countries and
Iceland IT IS DIFFERENT
Do yourself a huge favor and don’t waste
Your time or money
ICELAND UNLIMITED is the way to go !
Thank you so very much
Thank you Gudrun and thank you all staff
For making my trip one of the very best!!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank mariofromvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Juliane helped us plan a 10d road trip around Iceland and it was flawlessly executed. Never faced a moment of anxiety with the hotels or the tours that we had booked. Please note that we stayed at 9 different hotels and had 4 tours booked :)
We had some trouble with our car rental agency towards the end of the trip and although IU had nothing to do with it... they co-od with the car rental agency and made sure that things were fairly settled between us. In a foreign country, having a number to call and speak to someone familiar is important and we found great comfort in doing so.... whether it was to confirm the route or to find out ...where to eat or just ask... whatever.. when in doubt.

Thank you Iceland Unlimited & Juliane, for giving us 10 very memorable days !

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank visualiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews