We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely apartments in a good location...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planet Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Planet Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely apartments in a good location...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at The Planet Apartments back in March 2014 for a short break in Reykjavik. The location of the apartments is very good being in Walking distance of the main centre and lots of lovely restaurants are nearby. The apartment we had was in the style of a large open plan studio with a big comfy sofa and comfy bed. The heating and showers were very good (the showers do smell of eggs\sulpher because of the way the water is heated for some buildings in Iceland but you get used to this).

If you want to cook for yourself there are plenty of supermarkets in walking distance and the apartment has a fully equipped kitchen with cooker & dishwasher.

The young lady who was looking after the apartments named Diljá was super friendly and really helpful. The communication was excellent & she even went as far as to call and sort out our return bus transfer for us as they had somehow messed up our reservation.

If you're coming for a break in Iceland I'd recommend you stay here!

Restaurant tips - I highly recommend a visit to Fiskfelagid (Fish Company), Glo and also Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimShawUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgthor T, Manager at Planet Apartments, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you very much for recommending us! We were very happy to read your wonderful words and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Iceland.

We hope to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Dilja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    31
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
69
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alberta
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was looking for a centralized location and a room with some space to stretch out... and Planet Apartments delivered. My one bedroom - top floor suite was spacious, well decorated with modern furnishings, full kitchen with all cooking gear, satellite tv, large balcony with cityscape views and propane bar-b-q, lots of closet space, and dishwasher and washing machine.

If you're a traveller who likes to cook the odd meal for yourself and like the option of washing your clothes this is a great place. Borgthor was more than helpful and a nice guy. Only complaint was the step up into the bathtub, it would be difficult for a senior.

Room Tip: The building has an odd configuration and is oriented around an inner parking lot. But there is a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertaBushman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgthor T, Manager at Planet Apartments, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your nice words of your stay with us! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and that we could make your trip more enjoyable!

The next time you will visit us we will have a senior friendly apartment ready for you!

Best regards,

Borgthor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was an ideal place to stay while in Reykjavik. It's close to downtown, to great restaurants, to the harbor and within easy walking to most other sites in this wonderful city. A stop for the Hop-on-Hop-off bus is right outside the building. Borgthor was an ideal host and helped us get settled in our studio apartment quickly and gave us good pointers to make the most of our four day stay in the city. The apartment was extremely clean, well appointed and very comfortable. We loved it! It ticked all the boxes for us.

Room Tip: Bring a sleep mask if you like darkness. The all night daylight in June can affect sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgthor T, Manager at Planet Apartments, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words about your stay in Planet Apartments! We were very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Borgthor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Clean, prompt,comfortable bed, great kitchen and a garage spot. Do yourself a favor and rent a car instead of taking the $120 cab ride each way to the airport. Go swimming in the local pool instead of the Blue Lagoon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Monetharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgthor T, Manager at Planet Apartments, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are very delighted, that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Best regards,

Borgthor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Planet Apartments are located right by the harbour in Reykjavik. Everything is close by-> shops, restaurants, supermarkets etc...

Some of the rooms also face out onto the harbour but not he studio apartments unfortunately. We stayed in a studio apartment which had a little bit of harbour view to the side which was nice. (401)

There is free parking in the basement. You get a key for the basement when you check in and your own space. This is very useful. We had a rental car and as it's the city centre you need this or will be struggling to find a non pay parking space in town.

The apartments were quite large with everything you need: fully stocked kitchen with oven, microwave, freezer, coffee machine and all the standard stuff. Also dishwasher and tabs is a bonus.We didn't see a washing machine, but maybe you don't get one with studio apartments. The rest of the apartment is nicely decorated, has a comfortable bed, got plenty of towels, quality shower gel, hand soap and toilet roll.

Only negative for the summer is that there weren't any black out curtains so it doesn't get dark. Also the balcony door is not covered. Luckily we had eye covers to sleep which was OK for us.
Internet quality was good. We had a router that wasn't working, but the manager quickly changed it for us.

The manager was very kind and helpful. He talked through all the places we could visit as we had a rental car and were there were 4 days. We found his information more useful than the tourist office, and visited a lot of the places :-)

On arrival, it was confusing where we should go. We wandered around the apartments for a while looking for a sign of where to knock. Eventually we dug out our booking information to find a phone number to call and the manager quickly popped out of one of the apartments. I think it would be useful to have a note outside the apartments to say if you are checking in please knock at apartment ... However the rest of our stay was perfect and we would stay again.

Tips for the management at Planet:
- Black out curtains on all windows would be nice
- Information provided on where to go to check in
- Need a cheese grater, a cutting board and a good cutting knife (at least in apartment 401)

Note these are only minor tips. We very much enjoyed our stay! :-)

Room Tip: Studio rooms don't have full harbour views so go for a 1 bed apartment upwards. If you want a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Simmy_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgthor T, Manager at Planet Apartments, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your nice review with other travellers, we were very happy to hear that we could exceed your expectations! We changed the blinds in the rooms with a extra roller curtain. Next to that we tell the guest in which apartment we are located for any assistance. Thank you for your suggestions, we really appreciate it and try to think with our guests.

We are hoping to welcome you soon again.

Best regards,

Borgthor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nice apartment (we stayed in 501) with kitchen/den, bedroom with queen bed, and bathroom. Better than having a hotel room of similar price, as could spread out and also a washer for clothes. Easy to deal with, very kind manager, free parking. Very close to several restaurants and short walk to tourist district.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank winebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgthor T, Manager at Planet Apartments, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for you kind review! We are very happy that you've enjoyed the apartment so much.

Please contact us the next time you´ll visit Reykjavik

Best regards,

Borgthor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice room with good harbor view. It would be perfect if the apartment carries its own restaurant with nice seafood and good wine.

Bedroom's widdow curtain is not tight enough to cover the whole window.

Overall the room standard is good .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgthor T, Manager at Planet Apartments, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comment. Regarding the restaurant, we are an apartment company and do not have a restaurant like hotels. Across the building on 1 minute walking distance you will find several quality restaurants with seafood and whine.

Thank you for staying with us.


Best regards,

Borgthor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 59 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#5 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Apartments

Property: Planet Apartments
Address: AEgisgata 5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Planet Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 minute-walk from the bustling Laugavegur, Plánetan Apartments is in the central area of Reykjavík just few meters from the old harbour and close to all the main attractions. The apartments come with a balcony, free wi-fi and private parking. Featuring a stylish and contemporary living area, the open-plan Plánetan Apartments come with fully equipped kitchen, Tv channels and all linen included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HRS, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Planet Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing