We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Luxury and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments to your Saves list
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tryggvagata, 18 / 18C, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 Star Luxury and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Black Pearl's serviced apartments are furnished down to the last pin, with state-of-the-art fittings, excellent breakfasts served in suite, and customized tours (that we opted for) ably organized by Mr. Johannes. Take a bow, Ms Carla and Messrs. Marco and Francisco!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chandrashekhar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Central Mass
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

After 10 days circumnavigating the Ring Road, we parked our mud-spattered LandCruiser in the parking garage and ensconced ourselves in the luxury of the Black Pearl for a three-day stay. The expansive suite of rooms included a full kitchen (which we used only minimally, but could easily support a long-term stay), wonderful views, and an ultra-modern bath which incorporated a (much welcome) washer and dryer.

Everything about the place spoke of luxury - electronic controls for lighting and HVAC, a private elevator stop with card-key control, high-end appliances throughout. The staff was incredibly helpful, seeing to our various needs (including an extensive breakfast served en suite).

We found it convenient to shopping, sight-seeing, restaurants and museums. As for value, half the suite would easily cost eight times as much in New York (yes, I know, NYC, but still...). I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yesod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

As avid travelers we have stayed in many different hotels all over the world, so we have seen it all.
With Black Pearl hotel we were impressed from the minute we walked in. Centrally located. Parking spot is complimentary if you drive a car. The lobby was small but bright. The staff was smiling and ready to introduce you to the city.

Easy check-in and check-out. Our suite is the smallest in the building; It was spotless clean and came with a bedroom, a modern bathroom with plenty of amenities, a dinning area, and a kitchen with Nespresso machine, microwaves, oven, stoves and cook wares and utensils. Marble floor through out with electronic switch control lightning. Our room include laundry service package and our clean folded clothes were returned in a day, Very impressive.

Besides, the attention to details was what we had enjoyed the most, from borrowing umbrellas, getting boarding passes printed, to restaurant recommendations, the staff was always ready to assisted. They even carried our luggage to our room which not too many staff would want to do this in this part of the world.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, however breakfast can be sent to your room for a charge. A small market 24 (hr)) is within 5 minutes walk and there were tons of eateries in the area. Wifi is complimentary
.
The staff in this hotel are very well-trained and it shows in their customer services. A wonderful experience we look forward to coming again very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sfonorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The apartment exceeded our expectations! It was spacious for our family of four. Very new, impeccably clean, and wonderfully comfortable. The proximity to shops, restaurants, and the harbor is awesome. The views are beautiful and the balcony very peaceful. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. One evening while at a nearby restaurant I had a tray full of drinks spilled on me (and my white outfit!). I walked back to the hotel to quickly change. Since the staff had just seen me walk out to dinner not too long before i explained what had happened. She immediately offered to wash my clothes and had them ready for me upon our return that night. Thank you again for that and for adding to our terrific memories of Iceland!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amaliafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were a family of 16 ranging in age from 5 to 79 and all loved the hotel. We worked with them to secure our rooms and were put in one wing so we could be near each other. The hotel staff was courteous and helpful bent over backwards to accommodate our needs. The apartments are fully equipped and modern, quiet too. The hotel helped arrange breakfast for our group and upgraded our parents to lovely penthouse rooms. Everything is new and clean. The showers are amazing. The hotel is located walking distance from absolutely everything, just perfect. I highly recommend the Black Pearl!
Helene

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Black Pearl is a superb property located in the heart of Reykjavik.... Full marks to Carla, Marco, Inga and Anna for catering to all our requirements and queries with a smile and a desire to please. The rooms are outstanding, the furniture and fixtures modern, the attention to detail noteworthy. We travelled as a group and stayed for 4 days.... Would have loved to stay longer! The apartments have a superb location with the wharf on one side, the port in front and the city to the right.... During the summer the city actually "never sleeps"! The Icelanders are warm people and love to enjoy life! A great night life, superb restaurants and gorgeous natural beauty to explore makes Iceland today a dream destination for a holiday.... You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelindia09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Last September I was helping my friends from USA organize their wedding here in Iceland. It was all done with a very short notice, so when they arrived in Reykjavik all other Hotels seemed fully booked. But we found a room here at the Black Pearl and it looked great to begin with.

As my friend is a multi platform artist he didn't want to be disturbed while he was staying in the room, and requested that it would not be cleaned for the week that he was staying. And that he would need some people to come over to work with us on his wedding among other things he was planning to do here in Iceland.

The staff at the Black pearl did not honor any requests about privacy and would just show up in the elevator and start cleaning, much to our dismay and interrupting creative flow with vacuum noise and complaint from management about things not being tidy enough in the bedroom and things lying on the floor. I cant see how it is the managements business to have an opinion about how we organize our clothes or things we are working on.

From time to time, we would be getting visitors to hold meetings in the room. And it would always be a hassle for them to come up to the room. The management would insist that these people were not paying for the room and therefor not allowed up there. If you are paying a 1000$ a night I would like to be able to invite at least 20 people over without there being trouble at the reception, of-course as long as we are not disturbing other guests, which we were not doing, and this was all during daytime.

All in all, modern and nice rooms. A little plain for a 1000$ charge. But the service here was terrible and rude when it came to privacy and being allowed to use the room as an apartment that we thought we were renting out.
A little walk to the downtown area. Around 5 - 10 minutes to the main Restaurant and Bar area.

Too pricey for my taste, and a almost 7000$ charge for rudeness is crazy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Finnsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmmatias, Manager at Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Mr.Finnsson,
We would like to thank you for your review. We are very sorry to acknowledge you didn´t like the way you were treated during your friend´s stay last year.
In fact we are a family hotel, that is proud on offering a quiet, clean and comfortable environment, for that reason there is some rules we don´t give up. The guest was warned about these rules and he broke most of them.
Since this is not a guest´s experience review we feel obligated to keep this answer short in order to not break any confidentiality rule.
All the best
Carla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 55 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 55 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 2,461 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel
Skuggi Hotel
#5 of 55 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 55 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments

Address: Tryggvagata, 18 / 18C, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel serviced apartments - Your home away from home in Iceland!Black Pearl Reykjavik boasts guest rooms with King sized premier bedding, luxury toiletries from "Azzaro", fresh linen and fluffy white towels. The Deluxe Suites measures 115 square meters and the Standard Suites 75 square meters. All kitchens are fully equipped with cutlery, porcelain and glassware for 8 people, oven, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, kettle and Nespresso coffee maker (with a complete selection of complimentary coffee capsules).Situated in the most central area of downtown Reykjavik, we are within walking distance to landmarks, museums, shops and restaurants. Enjoy a perfect stay in the heart of Reykjavik with Black Pearl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing