We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Very nice room and service. Also the breakfast was really nice! The reception was very friendly. We had good time there. We will choice this hotel again next time :)

Room Tip: We stayed in 6 floor with good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhodaLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    606
    122
    22
    7
See reviews for
198
688
78
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The hotel is brand new and everything is very clean and modern:) The rooms are very small (and the bathroom even smaller!!), with not so good beds. The breakfast however was fantastic! The staff is very friendly and helpful. The Laugardalur Swimming Pool (an outside pool with hot tubs with various temperatures.......hot or hotter....), is just a few minutes walk from the hotel, and is a perfect place to relax after a long day out in the country.
Beside the hotel there are 2 restaurants, a pizza place (Eldsmidjan) and a "semi-vegetarian" (they also serve chicken...:) called Krúska. We highly recommend the Krúska, a superb place with the best of food quality and also with such a friendly staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Just got back from 5 nights at Reykjavik Lights hotel with my husband. The staff were very obliging and even checked us in early at 9am, much to our relief. We had a 'superior room' upgrade on the ticket but the gentleman at reception said it was better to have a slightly smaller room with a good view and we were happy he made it so. Do ask for a view of the bay if possible. The decor is imaginative and trendy but simple. The hotel was spotlessly clean and new and the bed was comfortable. The shower and the hotel in general was warm. No tea/coffee facilities in the room but the bar downstairs serve it. The hair dryer was effective so don't bring your own. Great breakfast: hot porridge, bread, cheese toast, choccie biccies, tasty picked fish (trust me) but not Fulll English, which is probably a good thing.
There's free parking for your hire car (cheaper than the coach trips and driving in Iceland is easy and safe. You can go and do a lot of the epic countryside by yourselves: golden triangle, Geyser, waterfalls, glaciers etc). The northern lights won't really be visible after the second week in April because is doesn't really get dark at night anymore. We were unlucky with the clouds ( boo ) but the tour company will honour your northern lights ticket for the next 12 months if you go back sometime (yay).
The hotel is a 20-30 minute easy walk in to town (there are buses but don't bother unless you are unable to walk far). There are plenty of good restaurants near the hotel. Recommend the Mexican take away for a hearty, inexpensive meal.
The hotel staff book trips with lots of the tour companies and hire cars from reception. Everyone speaks good English in Iceland and the prices are London +10 to 20% ie a fiver for a beer, £50 for a good main meal for two with drinks. There's art and music everywhere. Recommend Kex 'hostel' for a drink/meal in creative surroundings. The shopping is amazing but expensive. Try Cafe Rosenberg for live music and the Harpa building for a quiet refillable coffee. Great vinyl records at Lucky Records and a lovely gallery next door.
The thermal pool near the hotel (outdoors) is lovely if you can get over the nakedness in the changing rooms; nobody else was bothered so when in Reykjavik....
Book it, you'll have a blast and you won't be disappointed with the hotel. Basic, clean and friendly.

Room Tip: 7th floor sea view, it's the best! Can't imagine any of the rooms are noisy though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akumal_turtle_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We visited Reykjavik in January to see the lights and whales, but sadly saw neither. However we had a great time, load to do and see - and obviously they can't guarantee you seeing things. We stayed at the Lights. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast were fine, although nothing cooked apart from hard boiled eggs and do it yourself toast. The rooms were good but it might be worth booking a front one so that if there are lights in the night you get an extra opportunity, however this is on the road side. Plenty of buses into town or you can walk, not too far. The town is good, lovely cathedral and lots of museums and things to do. The hotel can elp you book things and very obliging.

Room Tip: The front rooms overlook the bay but also the road. If the lights appear in the night you get a war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Just back from a 4 night trip to Iceland. Hotel clean, modern and positioned close to city centre (about 20 mins walk) and local thermal baths. Bus stop just across the road but the walk is a very pleasant one. Nice continental breakfast -and happy hour (for 2 hours) at the bar every day. Staff very friendly and helpful -would defo stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room from the 5-7 floor -facing the front and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynpins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is a very nice, clean, modern hotel. The rooms were small but well designed to make the most of the available space. For a 3 night stay this wasn't a problem. Our room was very warm and cosy, and the bed was very comfortable. Staff were friendly, good selection of food at the breakfast buffet - no cooked food though. Free tea & coffee at the bar, which we unfortunately didn't find out until the last day!

Location is ok, it's about a 20 minute walk from the centre of Reykjavik but there are regular buses from right outside. There are several restaurants & cafes on the same block, 2 of which we tried and both were lovely.

We stayed as part of a package trip booked through Fleetway Travel and all pre-booked excursions picked up and dropped off at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raisinchicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights on a Northern Lights package trip, the hotel was warm, clean and modern. It is just about the furthest one from the centre of Reykjavik, about a twenty minute walk in along the harbour. But there is a bus stop across the road and the stop to get off on the way back is outside The Hilton a couple of minutes down the road. We also used taxis a couple of times as there were four of us and the hotel was happy to order us one and then we just asked restaurants we had dinner in to order us one to get back to the hotel. It's not the cheapest transport option but no more expensive than using a cab in London.
Some people appear to have found reception staff a bit rude but we asked them questions a couple of times a day and they were always very helpful, Icelandic people don't like to use superfluous words apparently so maybe that's it. It must also get a bit tedious answering the same questions again and again!
We had a twin room and it was a decent size and had everything we needed.
To sum up its a modern, clean hotel, which I would not hesitate to visit again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zhoecjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,528 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels

Property: Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Address: Sudurlandsbraut 12, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Háaleiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing