We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

A new, very modern hotel about 30 mins walk from the town. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Our room was a good size with functional furniture. It was clean, bright and the bed comfortable. We had a lovely view from the front of the hotel overlooking the sea and mountains in the distance. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.
There were a few restaurants nearby. The Pizzas from next door to the hotel were excellent.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esemkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    606
    122
    22
    7
See reviews for
198
688
78
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed from 20th until 23rd March 2014 .We were very happy with our room on 4th floor at the back ,It was overlooking the car park ,but as we were out & about every day seeing the fantastic sights the area has to offer , we didn't mind.! The room was spacious ,very clean & modern with a lovely warm feel about it & bathroom had a super shower .The soundproofing made it lovely & quiet & the bed ,duvets & pillows were super comfy . We slept very well .,We wanted a double bed but it was originally 2 singles, on us entering the room ,So we asked if we could have a double bed & in a very short time , the housekeeper came & changed it from 2 singles into a large double bed !Which was very obliging ,The lifts came quickly so no hanging about outside for ages & the security of the rooms was wonderful ,You even have to scan your key card to make the lift work .We found the staff very helpful indeed at the reception and had some lovely chats with Arnar ,an extremely pleasant young man who couldn't do enough for us to make our stay more enjoyable .Otto also was so helpful as was the blonde young woman who booked us in originally on 20th ,She was very informative also ..We found the Icelanders in general to be very friendly people ,It is expensive to eat and drink out .We went to the Steak bar a few metres up from out hotel on our last night We both had a starter ,Lamb steaks with jacket potato and veg & side salad,a bottle of average Sauvignon Blanc wine - Total cost approx £83 . A cup of tea (not a pot), costs on average between £2.50 & £3.00 .We would have liked a swimming pool at the hotel ,but the city has several good public outdoor swimming pools anyway ,(There's one across the main road from The Lights Hotel),including two "hot pots" (,jacuzzis) each one with a bit different water temperature than the other ,.It cost only a few £'s entrance fee open until 10pm & in fact EVERY village has a swimming pool as it's cheap to heat them with the geothermal natural hot water ,plentiful in Iceland ,so don't forget to pack your swimsuits ! Also there is a park across the main road from the hotel ,next to The Reykjavik Museum on Sigtun, with many sculptures outside to admire .Do go on the Golden Circle Tour if you can & The ,Northern Lights Tour (if visiting in Winter),and The Blue Lagoon as we did ,All trips are so amazing ! Also we were told that The Whale Watching is wonderful too .We will definitely be back & use this hotel again .There is SO much more we want to see & do in this magical country ! .

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice .Ours was very spacious & very quiet overlooking car park at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BANDQ_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were doing a 4 day Iceland trip and stayed 2 nights (first and last) in this hotel.
Very modern and functional. Very clean hotel and friendly staff. It looks fairly new and is modern and almost "minimalist".
It is a fair way out of the town (20 - 30 min walk).
There are quite a few places to eat nearby on the road towards the town centre.
Comfy beds and warm!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howardp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

In general, the hotel is very clean and comfortable and provided good value for money. Location is not bad- it is approx 20 minutes walk to the start of the town centre, and another 20 on from there to the harbour area. This is not a bad thing as it means the hotel is normally the first drop-off after any of the tours. The local geothermal pool is only 10 minutes walk across the road (just past the football stadium), and well worth a visit (same experience as Blue Lagoon, but one tenth the price). There are a number of restaurants located within a five minute walk of the hotel, all of which are reasonably priced (the pizzas next door are very good and they do "two for one" on takeaways if you don't mind eating in your hotel room and want to save a bit of cash).

Asked in advance for a high floor room at the front overlooking the bay and mountains, and was pleasantly surprised when we received such a room.

Breakfast was fine, plenty of choice. Most of the tours leave at either 8am or 8.30am so breakfast can be busy around this time, but there will generally be a table available. As others have mentioned, it can take staff a while to clear the the tables (maybe having a self-clearing system would work here, and the hotel could then truly resemble an Ikea store?!).

Our only real complaint/ area for improvement is that none of the hotel facilities were really explained to us on check-in, and there was no information about the hotel/ local area at all in the room. For example, it took us ages to work out that to use the lift you need to swipe your room card over the control panel. Also, no information about breakfast times etc- you had to ask. This may be because when we arrived (at approx 1pm), our room was not available so we checked in and left our luggage behind the desk and took a walk outside. When we returned, there was a different person on the desk who gave us our room card and they may have assumed the person who checked us in had already explained everything to us.

It would also be a nice touch to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room. This would not be much of an added expense for the hotel, and would make a big difference. (Luckily, we had read other reviews which warned us of this so we took a travel kettle with us).

Room Tip: High floor at the front have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monyash
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

A very pleasant, clean and smart hotel. About 40 minute walk to city centre but also on bus route. Convenient for local swimming baths. The staff at reception were always keen to help and you could easily arrange tours to Golden Circle and Northetn lights viewings through the hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyMJMonyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from three nights at the Lights. The first room we were given was on the first floor overlooking a rather large concrete slab, so we asked if there was a better room available. To say that the receptionist looked "put out" was an understatement. She was barely interested apart from saying rather loudly that "somebody had to have that room" - just glad it wasn't us, but she did reluctantly find us a room on the 6th floor. The room faced the coast, was clean, bright & modern but small. The bathroom was small but again, very modern and clean, with a good shower. One really good thing was that there seemed to be no sound transfer and although the hotel was fully booked, we never heard another soul from our room. The bed was comfy and the duvet was cosy.

The bar area was bright and modern too and we didn't find the drinks too expensive and the coffee was nice. Breakfast was the usual cereals, toast, ham, cheese and eggs with fruit and yoghurt - although I must say that the granola was really rather nice.

The key cards had a habit of suddenly stopping working and the reception staff could do with being a bit more pleasant and/or smiley. The road outside was a bit noisy but it did quiten down around 11pm.

Nice pizza restaurant next door and about 25 minutes walk to the centre of town, so all in all not a bad place to stay and I would consider stopping again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue1966-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is a very clean and tidy hotel. The staffs are very polite and helpful. The breakfast consists of a choice of cereals, fresh bread, cheeses and eggs. You get free wifi and the beds are very comfortable. On our first night we were given a ground floor room I asked for a top floor and was given this the next day for the duration of our stay (worth the views). Location is ok, it’s a good 20 minutes walk to the heart of the town centre. I would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newtocu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,528 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels

Property: Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Address: Sudurlandsbraut 12, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Háaleiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing