We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!!”

Old Iceland Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 483 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Steakhouse, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are a family run restaurant with icelandic home cooking. Our speciality is on seafood and icelandic lamb. We also offer a choice of three or a five course set menu OPENING HOURS: Sunday - Wednesday 11:30-15:30 / 17:00-22:00 Thursday - Saturday 11:30-15:30 / 17:00-23:00
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Great food, very friendly owner!! Everything was soooo good!! The crepes with whipped cream and jam were absolutely delicious! Prices were also very reasonable. The night we picked to go there was the one year anniversary of the restaurant and hopefully there will be many more years!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,137
    373
    54
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved the mashed fish pie”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Goodroo, the owner makes all her guests feel welcome and the food is simple but very good.

I went back on 2 nights and had the mashed fish, it's so good. The pancakes are nice too with nice whipped cream that does come out of a cream charger but is fresh on the day unlike the bought canister type cream.

Try the local beers too...also very nice.

My first visit to Iceland and what I particularly loved is this type of boutique eatery I haven't found anywhere else.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grazzaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simple and nice - at a reasonable price”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

went here for the icelandic fish soup and smoked fish.
very simple, very nice and the price was very reasonable.

The bead delish.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank allgoodnamesgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire,UK
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Unpretentious little café, good for lunch. We had a tasty fish soup which came with a malt bread. Followed by Icelandic pancakes. The pancakes were full of cream which was too much for me and itwasn't fresh cream but seemed like the cream you get in pressurised cans. Perhaps that is normal for Iceland but proper whipped cream would have been nicer.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 50_s0methings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gudrun66, Owner at Old Iceland Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I'm sorry you didn't like our whipped cream. It's from a cream charger, not a store bought pressurised can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional Icelandic food.”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Had a lovely lunch, lamb soup followed by a mashed fish dish done in an onion cream sauce. Great food, traditional menu, reasonable prices, good friendly service from the owner what more could you ask for.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aberdeenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Iceland Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Old Iceland Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing