We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Eve traditional Icelandic family style dinner”

Old Iceland Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 483 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Steakhouse, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a family run restaurant with icelandic home cooking. Our speciality is on seafood and icelandic lamb. We also offer a choice of three or a five course set menu OPENING HOURS: Sunday - Wednesday 11:30-15:30 / 17:00-22:00 Thursday - Saturday 11:30-15:30 / 17:00-23:00
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve traditional Icelandic family style dinner”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had some excellent meals in Iceland. Our experience at Gamla was one we will not forget. We arrived in Reykjavik on Christmas Eve day. Virtually everything shuts down that afternoon as church and family dinner afterwards begins at 6pm. Our hotel suggested Gamla, as the owner was preparing a family-style traditional Icelandic meal based on her mother's recipes. We were also asked to bring one Secret Santa gift for each person attending. Gudrun, one of the owners, was doing this for the first time, and we thought it a great success. There were about 20 people from various countries seated at 2 long tables. We were treated to several delicious courses: cured trout, lamb steak with sauce, caramelized potatoes, green beans, beets and rhubarb jam, homemade ice cream, and the special Christmas drink Icelandic malt with Appelsin. See Gamla's website for pictures of the evening. There was much gayety and fun as we received our secret Santa gifts one by one. We returned for lunch after our travels the following week. The restaurant/cafe is cozy, friendly and very welcoming. It is situated on the main "old town" shopping street and felt like a home away from home. Very good home-style food prepared in traditional Icelandic fashion. Ben and Alec (20-somethings) spent our last afternoon there eating and playing chess.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,138
    373
    54
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good place, if you like simple and good homemade soups”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

If you like simple and quite nice homemade soups and friendly service, I can recommend this place. If you expect something exceptional maybe you get dissapointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank iippa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great Fish Soup”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had lunch here during our stay in Reykjavik based on other Trip Advisor reviews. Once you get over the sticker shock of food in Iceland, you can relax and enjoy what is presented. The fish soup was excellent and my dining companions ordered a fish dish that was a combination of fish and potatoes. Both meals were very tasty as was the bread that accompanied the meal. Each entrée was the in $15 to $20 US range. As there was only one other table occupied when we stopped for a late lunch, we had an opportunity to chat with chef/owner who shared with us some of the Christmas traditions of Iceland. Definitely a great way to spend a December afternoon in Iceland.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome but Disappointed by the food”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in on the strength of trip advisor recommendation. Wasn't overwhelmed.

Ordered the mashed fish and a beer.

Beer was lovely. Icelandic. A dark beer. Recommend.

Mashed fish was hot in places, cold in places. Felt like a microwave job.

Not the most significant portion I've ever seen - was so hungry I ate it anyway but for £10 I would have expected more. Served with a few chunks of pepper, cucumber and tomato and a slice of bread which felt like an afterthought.

Owner seemed nice enough. Was very busy as seemed to be on her own. A bit stressed perhaps.

Finished with coffee and a pancake which came recommended. Coffee was pretty bitter. Pancake was unimpressive.

All in all...It was 'ok'. Didnt blow me away.

A bit of a tourist trap but came with a smile. If the quality of the meal matched the welcome and the price it could be a winner.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gudrun66, Owner at Old Iceland Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
We're terribly sorry our mashed fish wasn't heated properly and the serving size wasn't enough for you, wish you would've let us know so we could've rectified it right away.

Best regards
Guðrún and Alda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would go back in a heartbeat”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I reserved a seat here for Christmas dinner and unexpectedly found myself eating with the owner's family and a few other tourists. Such a pleasure to have a traditional Icelandic dinner in a family-style setting rather than surrounded by silent strangers. The food was incredible and the company was even better!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Iceland Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Old Iceland Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing