We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Very nice newly renovated fresh hotel. Smart design and right in the heart of the city. Nice livingroom separate from the bedroom. Also a small kitchen with a fridge and nespresso machine. Great breakfast and a wine bar with simple but good food.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mankieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Mankieboy!

Thank you for your sweet review! We would be happy to see you again!
Team Kvosin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 606 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We were a family of five and spent 3 nights in the family biggest room at the hotel. There were 3 separate bedrooms, one living room, dining table, kitchen and one toilet. The rooms were lovely but lacked a few things.

1) There were no telephone which meant we had to run downstairs every time we needed something
2) There were no slippers nor toiletries like toothbrush, cotton buds and cotton pads
3) There were no wardrobes or places that you could really hang your coats.
4) The shower lacked a curtain or glass door as it tends to flood the whole toilet after each shower.

Given that it was one of the biggest room that sleeps up to 7 people, there should really be at least two toilets so it's probably better to book two rooms if you're a group of over 4.

Breakfast was slightly unusual but we enjoyed it nonetheless. Just make sure you allow at least one hour for breakfast as they prepare on the spot and you may need to run around a bit for tea and coffee if you're in a rush. Go for the Greek yogurt and chocolate croissants for your two extra choice - they are delicious!

Reception staff was amazing. We found Jacqueline extremely helpful and friendly throughout our stay. 10/10 for reception staff!

I will definitely be back soon with my boyfriend.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Karen!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Yes, Jacqueline is a total darling! We'll be sure to pass on the praise.

In order to strive for eco-friendliness we don't leave out toiletries in the rooms, but we have toothbrushes and more upon request.

We'll be happy to welcome you and your boyfriend, next time round!
Greetings,
Team Kvosin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel downtown. Arrived early and while the room was being prepared we were offered complementary coffee from the front desk, a generous touch from the friendly staff. The hotel is very accessible by car, and there is street parking right in front.

We booked a "tiny" room for two, which was a comfortable size for us. However, if staying longer I would probably recommend one of the larger rooms. Really liked the decor and layout. In the bathroom they have a heated towel rack which was great. Would agree that this hotel is one of the best locations to stay downtown in the city. It is centrally located to all the best restaurants and attractions. The Parliament building is literally right across the street, so finding your way back is easy if you need to ask for directions.

Our favorite part our our stay here was the breakfast that is included. Breakfast is served at the Bergsson next door. You pick two "main" breakfast items, like bacon and eggs, and they are served with meats, cheese, bread, hummus and fruit. You won't leave hungry. Excellent way to start the day before going out to explore.

Room Tip: The "tiny" room offers good value. It didn't bother us, but we could hear footsteps a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OrangeWolf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dearest Orange Wolf!

Thank you for the kind words. Yes, the breakfast is an absolute blessing! We're lucky to have such tight collaboration with chef Thorisson, who is a bread-making magician!

Hope you'll manage a trip to Iceland again soon!
Team Kvosin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

First time to Iceland, and we wanted a centrally located hotel. The Kvosin met all these expectations. Gorgeous rooms, having a lounge area was great. Breakie very nice. Overall great. Staff are friendly, on that note, we had a second booking for later in our trip, which was mixed up, the staff member told us to settle in, as we had travelled far, and they would sort, true to this, they found us a room at another hotel, plus negotiated the same room rate. So greatly appreciated. Most definitely would stay again. Parking out the front as well, the bonus wine bar next door was great for a relaxing drink pre and post dinner. Thanks for a great start to our Iceland adventure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlackSpotLifestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear 4Sorellas!

Thank you for investing the time in writing this review! We're glad you liked the hotel and the service, and yes; -the Wine Bar is a real funambulist, dancing between being a haven for wine aficionados and a platform for local gossip.

Hope you'll return soon!
Team Kvosin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel earlier this month. The location is very central and the quality of rooms excellent - we loved the decor and furniture and the breakfast was wonderful, so healthy too. I can totally recommend this hotel for all the above reasons but first and foremost all of the staff were very friendly and went beyond duty in assisting with bookings and general information about the city. All the restaurants they booked for us were of top quality. If you go to Reykjavik you must stay here.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank fionarmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Fiona!

I'm glad you enjoyed the service, we are happy to give authentic local advice and I'm glad you were happy with the restaurants we recommended. We'd be happy to have you over again, and recommend some more!

Thank you for writing this review and we hope you'll return to our frosty island soon again!

Greetings,
Kvosin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We booked a family room which was a small apartment to ourselves. Warm, clean, comfortable. Nespresso machine and Aveda products added a touch of luxury. Trendy wine bar at the front of the hotel. Lovely breakfast. Almost too much to choose from. Staff were super helpful and welcoming. Parking right outside if you can get a space. Central location yet not noisy at all. Great restaurants nearby.

If i go back to Rejyavik i will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank epalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KvosinTeam, Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for the great headline and taking the time to write the review. Unfortunately nothing is perfect but that is what we strive to be every day.

Kvosin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Chose this based on online research for our destination wedding trip and it lived up to expectations with clean stylish rooms and even exceeded them with very friendly and accommodating staff, the best upgrade perfect for a family gathering, wonderful location near the lake and quaint old town area and with great breakfasts at a trendy and cute little cafe downstairs. The one odd thing was that there are no phones in the rooms which means we had to physically go to the front desk for any queries or requests. It's small enough and always staffed so that is not hard to do though a bit odd/inconvenient.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Desiree S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Desiree!

The pleasure of having you over was all ours! Hope your wedding in Snæfellsnes was sublime and that you had a great time in Iceland. Come back soon!

Greetings,
Team Kvosin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,749 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kvosin Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kvosin Downtown Hotel

Address: Kirkjutorg 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $265 - $823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kvosin Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kvosin Downtown Hotel is a boutique luxury hotel located in the heart of Reykjavík´s entertainment and cultural district, in a recently renovated historical building. Kvosin has the largest hotel rooms in Reykjavík, individually decorated in modern Scandinavian style, with artwork by local artists. All our rooms have a kitchen island, perfect for families and self catering guests. The unique design of the hotel gives guests plenty of private and public deck space to take in the midnight sun or possibly the northern lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kvosin Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing