We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel in center of everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you're looking for a nice, clean, comfortable hotel in the dead center of everything, Kvosin is for you! Not only is the hotel itself very nice - with fully equipped and beautiful rooms, big showers, and comfortable beds - but the complementary breakfast is quite frankly the best I've ever received at a hotel. Try the green smoothie! It's fabulous.

In addition to being an awesome hotel, Kovsin is located in the literal center of everything. While staying there, my traveling companion and I were able to enjoy downtown Reykjavik for dinner and drinks and then be back in our rooms with virtually no effort! The major sights and attractions are also walking distance, as are the departure points for many of the biggest and best tours.

Essentially: great hotel, great breakfast, great location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mamannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Mamannin

Wow, I'm sure glad you loved the breakfast! We're particularly happy with the fresh sourdough bread and the homemade hummus. It's just so fresh!

Be very sure to come back, maybe in the summer, this time?

Greetings,
Team Kvosin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 606 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Kvosin, located right in the heart of Reykjavik any service is very close by. The rooms are beautiful, equipped with everything you need. The staff was really helpful and fun to talk to and the breakfast was fantastic!

I do recommend Kvosin for everyone, traveling solo, with the family or friends.
You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidmarsigurdsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Davíð Már

Thank you for your concise and positive review. Welcome back again!

Bestu kveðjur,
Starfsfólk Kvosarinnar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We (a family of 4, two kids) stayed at the Kvosin hotel at the end of August and for the most part enjoyed it.

The hotel is really well located- walking distance from pretty much everything in downtown Reykjavik. The hotel was relatively new and we often had to tell Taxi drivers how to get there. There are plenty of food choices nearby and a taxi stand was easily found a block away.

We chose the hotel because it had a two-bedroom family room. This suite also had a dining room, a small kitchenette, and a small living room with a couch and a TV. The decor was very stylish and the beds were extremely comfortable. The shower was attached to one bedroom. One negative was that there was really nowhere to store clothes beyond some book shelves.

As others have noted, Reykjavik can get a little noisy at night. The hotel is above a wine bar with other restaurants/bars nearby. If you're a light sleeper, this is probably not the city for you.

Breakfast was included and served at the attached cafe. The food, especially the homemade bread, was delicious. But after a few days, it got a little monotonous- essentially the same food each day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear "Not Stiller"

Thank you for your review. I'm well aware of the lack of wardrobes, but we're happy to provide luggage racks upon request.

As new and new hotels have sprung up in Iceland in the last years, taxi drivers are still being a bit confused. It's becoming rarer and rarer though.

The sourdough bread is ridiculously delicious, isn't it? I hope you were offered some choices with your breakfast, in order to ease out the repetitiveness.

Thank you again, and see you soon!
Team Kvosin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great place in the centre of town. Kvosin is recently restored, the rooms are quirky and interesting, and made up to a high standard. Really enjoyed our stay in one of their middle-sized rooms which turned out to be a small suite. The staff were interesting and helpful. And the breakfast was a lot better than we've found in other Iceland hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Colin!

Thank you for your kind words! We're glad you like the breakfast! They say that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, so I'm hoping that it was the appropriate start for your adventurous days in Iceland!

Greetings,
Team Kvosin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Apologies to the Kvosin Hotel> the excursion was supplied by an independent supplier and not the Hotel and whilst the excursion was non refundable, we at Clearsky chose to refund Mr williams and many other customers as we felt this was our responsibilty. The 5 out of 5 review was most certainly warranted and we would recommend the Hotel to anyone thinking of travelling.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you so much for clearing this up!

Greetings,
The Kvosin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Kvosin. The location was great, the room (we had a bigger room) was excellent with nice view over the square and church opposite. It was very cosy to come back there after being out in the winds and snowy weather we had while we were in Iceland. The staff were also really helpful, recommended and made reservations at restaurants, gave directions and made sure we had a local cellphone, which was great for getting in touch with the tour guide we had booked.

Our only complaint really was about the cafe where breakfast is served. It's just too inconsistent. The first day we had a salad type plate with bacon and eggs, it was fine, we asked for pastries (spicy hummus was nice but not my kind of thing for breakfast) and were assured we could have them but they never came and we had to leave for our guided trip before we could ask again. The next day we had the lot, salad plate, bacon, eggs, pastries (which were delicious) and service was great. But on the final day we had to wait and wait, the service was awful and terribly slow. Different staff were working and we had no eggs, no bacon and ran out of time to ask for them, even a cup of coffee took ages to come, were told we weren't allowed pastries unless we paid extra. We did get them but they were awful, nothing like the ones the day before. It was a total shambles and, though not a big deal overall, was the only black mark I had against the hotel. Personally, I prefer being able to pay less for a room without breakfast, then I can go somewhere that serves what I want and with good service.

Aside from that, the hotel is a great base for seeing the city and Iceland.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomu x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Nomu X

Thank you for your review. It's good to get an honest feedback, 'cause that's the only way we can improve.

Your stay seems to have been overall positive and I'm glad that it was. The staff tries to go out of their way to be helpful!

I'm sorry about your inconsistent breakfast experience. Our breakfast is superb when it's at its best, but somehow our service seems to not have been up to par during your stay, although it normally is. We have taken this feedback to the restaurant and I'm confident that we've been able to solve this in the time that has passed since you gave your review.

Hope you'll stay with us again!
The Kvosin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I recently booked this hotel for a three night stay through Secret Escapes and would have rated it 5 out of 5 as the hotel, room and staff were excellent and it is well located for downtown Reykjavik. The rooms are spacious and comfortable (we stayed in what they call a "Bigger" room) and they come complete with separate sleeping area, sofa, kitchen island with hob and espresso machine, a separate WC and waterall shower.

However, I have been very disappointed by the way in which the hotel (according to correspondence from Secret Escapes' sub-agents, Clearksky Holidays), have responded to our request for a refund for the Northern Lights trip which was pre-booked. We were aware, before departing, that the pre-booked trip was dependent on weather conditions but did not appreciate that we would have to ultimately pay for a trip which we couldn't go on!

If we were to attempt to book this trip on the day, directly through the tour operator, Reykjavik Excursions, we would have been told by the travel company that it would not be possible due to weather conditions. So, why have we been penalised for booking in advance?

I believe this is a total con. Clearsky have actually very kindly refunded the cost to me as a gesture of goodwill (and probably because I have kicked up a fuss) but the cost of the trip ought to be refunded by the hotel. Essentially, the hotel hasn't had to pay the tour operator so why should they pocket the money for a trip which didn't go ahead?

It is all well and good advertising a deal as 40% off if they try to recover costs by retaining money for services not rendered! It would be better if they were to advertise a hotel only deal and advise people to book their own trips while they are in Iceland.

A lesson for us all - beware of booking pre-booked trips which are dependent on weather conditions because a seemingly good deal through Secret Escapes has not turned out to be a particularly good deal at all. I hope others don't fall into the same trap.

Room Tip: The "bigger" rooms were excellent with separate sleeping area, sofa, kitchen island with h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jatwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teitur_Jonasson, Owner at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Jatwilliams,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate it. We are very sorry about your Northern Lights trip being cancelled. The Northern Lights excursion and your hotel room was a part of a package provided by Clearsky Holidays. As is explained in a review of the hotel dated 11.12.2013 from Mr. Martin at Clearsky we only provided the hotel room in the package and had nothing to do with the Northern Lights excursion, we did not organize it or receive any payment for it. We are very glad Clearsky responded and refunded you for the cancelled trip and are very sorry for any inconvenience this caused you during your stay with us. We sincerely hope you will give the Northern Lights a second try and if you do we look very much forward to welcoming you again
The Kvosin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,749 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kvosin Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kvosin Downtown Hotel

Address: Kirkjutorg 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $265 - $823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kvosin Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kvosin Downtown Hotel is a boutique luxury hotel located in the heart of Reykjavík´s entertainment and cultural district, in a recently renovated historical building. Kvosin has the largest hotel rooms in Reykjavík, individually decorated in modern Scandinavian style, with artwork by local artists. All our rooms have a kitchen island, perfect for families and self catering guests. The unique design of the hotel gives guests plenty of private and public deck space to take in the midnight sun or possibly the northern lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kvosin Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing