We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in a great city!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay in a great city!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had two seperate reservations at Kvosin hotel late October 2013. We arrived late in the evening and on arrival we immedietely felt welcome and almost at home. The hotel is new and fresh and has a nice little boutique in the reception are. The evening receptionist (Italian man I think) went out of his way with his great service, helpfulness and positive attitude.

Our first night we had a large family apartment. The interior is stylish and clean. All aminities in the hotel are well thought out and beautifully presented. The beds and duvets are great and comfy! The apartment had a kitchenette, 2 bedrooms, living room and a nice tv area with a sofa. There were 2 balconies on both sides with great views.

The second room we had (2 days later) was a large room also with a kitchenette and a sitting area and same good amenities. The door to the room was facing the back side of the hotel and had to be accessed via the back side balcony which the nice young lady in the reception explained to us at check in (could otherwise be a bit confusing to find).

I have been in many Reykjavik hotels but this gem is definitely one of the best hotels in the city and we will absolutely stay there again .. and again.

Over all the hotel and service is great and has great attention to detail. The only negative thing that I can think of as far as our stay at the Kvosin hotel is that we had to go back home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BingoCph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi there!
Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward welcoming you again and again in the future. We agree, Edoardo, the Italian, is fantastic!

Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    108
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
194
238
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estepona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Kvosin has a perfect location in the middel of Reykjavik (you can walk everywhere), delicious breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, good beds and duvets, clean and comfortable room #305 and a very good shower! You only use codes to get in; no keys. Highly recommend it!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Merethe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for the great headline and taking the time to write the review. Unfortunately nothing is perfect but that is what we strive to be every day.

The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very relaxed stay here. I disagree with the service comments - it is very casual, but I found the people I talked with very helpful. We showed up early on a Sunday morning and they were all full. They got us breakfast (no charge) at the restaurant and let us hang out until our room was ready. But, it's definitely not a place to go if you want concierge type support from the front desk. We had a bright studio room that faced the street. There is a nice kitchen island and equipment to cook or eat in the room if you choose to. Loved the Nespresso coffee maker.

Things to know: the church bells across the street ring every 15 minutes; bring earplugs or request a rear facing room if you are a light sleeper. There is not a lot of storage in the room and the shower and toilet are separate.

Room Tip: Front rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors are bright and have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripCrazyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. You are right; we pride ourselves of having a down-to-earth but energetic approach to our service, and strive to be personal, helpful and casual. Good that you mention the church, -it is a good tip for those light-sleepers out there to bring earplugs. In fact, from here on in I’ll just make some in the reception for those affected. I understand that the bells might bother some of our guests, but others find it soothing (or even a helpful tool to sync to the new time zone). I hope to see you again soon!

The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Kvosin is a wonderful hotel and I would definitely stay there again. The staff are the best I have ever dealt with, very accommodating and a pleasure to talk to.

The room was very clean and modern, the only concern we had was our room was right above the door used for the attached restaurant and entrance and it was quite noisy so I would stay in a different room next time.

Room Tip: Suggest not staying in room 205.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWhiteCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi there John,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a feedback. I’m happy you like our staff, I also like them a lot, -they’re a talented bunch of diverse people! Concerning the restaurant, it has now relocated and we're working day and night into changing the space into more rooms to fit in all the wonderful people that'd like to stay with us.

Greetings,
The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We chose this hotel based on other Tripadvisor reviews for our September stay and were very satisfied with the accuracy of the positive reviews. Hotel manager,Birgir, was a delight providing us with timely feedback, great restaurant recommendations, and a surprise upgrade for our special occasion upon return from the east side of the island. Young front desk staff eager to please and always helpful with any task, big or small. Fantastic breakfast served downstairs daily could benefit from some variety but beats the Hilton Reykjavik hands down. And, free wireless in room a nice change for the price of Iceland hotels. Rooms very Scan design and super comfty...best hotel bed ever! Vinbarrin is a wonderful little wine bar which shares the front lobby. It's owner, Gunni Pali, treated us to delicious apps while we sipped delicious Italian reds. As for location, this a town made for walking and Kvosin is perfectly central. I found that our tour guides found us easily once we pronounced the hotel name correctly...one stumbling block for most Icelandic words is that they don't roll off the American tongue easily. Fortunately, the beauty of this city is how helpful and accommodating the Icelanders are across the board. Kvosin set the tone for a wonderful stay and when we return we will stay here again!

Room Tip: Inner corridor has quieter rooms, best views on upper floors facing north! Stay in The room that tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi!
You’re right, these Icelandic words can be a bit of a tongue twister. However, if you’re an assiduous learner you could probably even learn to pronounce classic cacophonous tourist-busters such as Eyjafjallafjökull! It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Gunni Palli at the Winebar is one of our hidden gems and his knowledge about wine is impeccable. As previously stated, we’ve improved our breakfast variety so you have something to look forward to for your next stay!

See you again!
The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

It was really nice to stay at the Kvosin, a small boutique hotel that may be best described as the opposite of institutional. Our room was large and comfortable, which was great to come back to after the daily touring in Iceland. The location was perfect; everything is in easy walking distance, including Reykjavik's best restaurants. The staff was friendly and helped us with arrangements. It was all very informal. We appreciated the free breakfast, although the fixed menu got repetitive after a few days. This hotel does not have institutional hotel type service, which was just what we wanted. The reviewers who criticized the hotel for this reason should stay elsewhere; it's not for them. Travelers must be aware of one thing-the Kvosin is not easy to find. Maps indicate it is on the central square, but in fact it is on an adjacent street behind the church. Since the hotel is new, people on the street don't know it and can't help you find it.

Room Tip: Best to face north on the second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback, Stephen. We have now been in operation for almost 6 months so people are starting to know where we are situated. You are right; we do strive to be informal, personal and authentic in our advice and service. I hope you’ll consider staying with us on the next occasion you find yourself on this tiny island we call home!

With warmest wishes,
The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have had a great stay at this hotel, just downtown and next to the only real wine bar of the whole country! Comfort is extraordinary. I have taken part to a few excursions "into the wild" with my family and after such dense days there was nothing better than returning back and enjoy the comfort and central location. A great way to save up time, since you do not need to plan to go anywhere: the hotel is ten seconds from the parliament itself and basically from anything.
The friendly and young men at the desk gave us tips on restaurants and improvised anything at any time of the day to rapidly organize tours around Reykjavik and in the Eastern region.
The rooms did not have any phones, but we were offered a mobile for free.
Breakfast was excellent, although repetitive.
The hotel is luxurious, but the atmosphere never pompous, but rather family-like. Somewhat an unusual but definitely positive experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi there Johannes,
Thank you very much for the feedback. I am very glad that our service concept came through as we are here to make the stay as friendly and relaxed as possible. As we often say we want to be our guest’s home away from home.

With greetings from Iceland,
The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
986 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
970 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kvosin Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kvosin Downtown Hotel

Property: Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Address: Kirkjutorg 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kvosin Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kvosin is located in the heart of Reykjavík. And by heart, I mean heart, not kidney, spleen or thyroid. In less then three minutes walking distance are cafés, bars, clubs, museums, Harpa (concerts and conventions), the mayor, ducks and politicians working in the Icelandic parliament next door (nevermind).Let's see. I've got Normal rooms, Bigger rooms, Biggest rooms and Larger than life rooms but only one Tiny room. I'm inspired by my experience as a traveller: I want a good bed, I want to cook, I want to watch big TV, I want to bring my friends or kids, I want space and I want fun. So, here you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Kvosin Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing