We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have been all over the world we loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“We have been all over the world we loved this hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beautifully appointed suite (called VON) flooded with light, very comfortable bed, kitchen with a Nespresso machine! large screen TV, outdoor space. It is in what is arguably the best location.
It is a short walk to many of the best restaurants, like the Fish Market and the Grille Market. It is just a few blocks to the main shopping street as well.
The Kvosin is opposite a charming church so it is very quiet, that matters when some nights one goes to sleep prior to sunset.
Great desk staff all young and trying very hard to answer all the tourist's questions, which I think can be demanding, I heard one woman ask where her daughter might go to practice soccer....,I especially liked Yogi, short, for his name which was unpronounceable to me in what is rumored to be one of the three (3) hardest languages to learn. The later is no worry as everyone, and I mean everyone speaks English. Yogi, always found us just what we were looking for. The only problem we encountered was with the housekeeping staff, all nice, but, on a couple of occasions our room was not done until quite late in the day....The Kvosin is only open two months so one needs to give a bit of latitude.
It is not inexpensive, but little is in Reykjavic, it is well worth it, so much to see and to do we took road trips almost every day.

Room Tip: We only saw the one we stayed in but I am sure the Website is helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you so much for great feedback. It is true that we had some growing pains in the first couple of months but we are glad to announce that these slight issues have all been addressed at this point.

Yogi’s real name is actually “Jökull” wich means glacier in Icelandic, which is somewhat fitting to the boy, as he sure is cool (but with the warmest heart!). He was with us this past summer and he is a true star. He’s no longer working in our lobby but you might find him working at the restaurant on occasions. If you want to try to pronounce his name, try this: Yeuh-kudl. Anyway, enough about glaciers. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay! See you soon, I hope!

The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    109
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
204
241
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandviken, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

New and modern in an old atmosphere! Service minded staff, clean, cosy, beautiful, comfortable, very good taste when it comes to design. Perfect situated in town center but still in peaceful and beautiful part of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Sjo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
There is just one word for this, Anna: TAKK ! (Thank you)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in a so called "bigger room", at extra cost, for 5 nights in August. This features kitchen and lounge facilities as well as a sleeping area, bathroom and shower.
The main problem was the absence of staff or management. The front desk was manned by a succession of young students or a waitress from the adjoining cafe. There were no other staff apart from contract cleaners. Our room was hardly serviced. One evening we came back after a tiring all day excursion to find the bed unmade, unwashed crockery in the sink, dirty kitchen surfaces, bins not emptied and towels not changed. In fact crockery was never washed up. We did not do this ourselves as there was no stacking area and no teatowel.
Our first floor room was accessed from the stairs across an outdoor boarded walkway. Upon leaving our room for an early morning excursion we found that the door from the walkway to the stairs down was locked by a combination. Our room combination did not work, there was no telephone in our room and we appeared to be stuck! By chance we found a back staircase to the adjoining cafe that was also locked, but fortunately someone let us in. We were later told that the landing door had a different combination that we should have been given and that it should not have been locked. Two days later it was locked again!
Although the lounge / kitchen area was spacious, the sleeping area was cramped and claustrophobic and the bathroom was miniscule. There was no information of any kind in the room apart from books on Iceland. At night there was periodic loud thudding noise that seemed to come from an adjoining kitchen, which kept us awake.
The final thrust was that we asked one of the students to arrange our pick up for the return journey to the airport and gave him our return tickets to do so. He said this was arranged. However on the return journey our tickets were inspected and we were told that they were with a different bus company, so the student had made a booking error. We ended up paying the fare twice.
We travel extensively and have never stayed at a hotel with no management or full time staff.

Room Tip: Make sure you are given all the combinations for room and passageway doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David40DR206PC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear David,
Thank you so very much for your valuable feedback. I am so terribly sorry for the things that seem to have gone wrong during your stay. We were actually in the early days of our operations at that time and have since then used your feedback to improve our service. Guests now receive a code that works both on their room and the common doors.

It is true that some of our staff are part time employees along with studying but we are continuously training them. As it was during our early days I wish you would give us another chance during your next visit to Iceland and we would be happy to receive you again and make up for this!

With warmest greetings from cold, old Iceland,
Inga Auðbjörg,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A bunch of us stayed at Kvosin Downtown Hotel while in Reykjavik for a wedding celebration early June. Hotel is brand new and boasts impeccable style. Rooms we occupied were either for 2 or 4 people and are spacious with plenty of hang-out area and comfortable beds. Newly-weds held a gathering in the penthouse and (to no one's surprise) it is indeed the best room to chill in. The two terraces offer amazing views and are big enough to probably host the whole town.
Location -wise hotel is smack in the centre of Reykjavik, so don't even think twice about it. Breakfast is served at a cute coffee shop adjacent to the hotel and it was delicious.
Enough said ... clearly a no-brainer. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Hotel website has pretty cool and accurate pictures and sketches of rooms offered. We had a front fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emunka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
It was so great hosting the wedding party you mention this summer and I am so happy that all of you enjoyed the stay. Now, taking part in a wedding celebration makes love and affection contagious, so lets hope more from the group will get hitched up soon and then they’ll know where to go! And thanks for mentioning our website which we are very proud of.

Greetings,
The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

A small newly opened design hotel in top location of Reykjavik. Very comfortable beds, nice bathroom and high quality in all details. The service of f&b was non existing when we visited but a Vine Bar were supposed to open in mid july. Breakfast was served in a small neighbor Restaurant and was quite OK. The system with codes in stead of room keys is brilliant. Room rates are high but may be acceptable when all service in-house are up running. Must be the best hotel in R.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TangoStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback. The Winebar is now open and offering Lunch, Dinner and even live music ogncertain days. It is great to hear the great feedback especially when we were in our early days.

With gratitude,
The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Kvosin hotel this past weekend as we celebrated a birthday. We had 4 rooms and the top suite was unbelievable. With 2 rooms (1 double bed / bunkbed in the other), an amazing stereo system and 2 spectacular Patios. I was told by the locals that it likely was the best hotel room in Reykavik. The staff were amazing and a special shout out to Emilio! They are completing a new restaurant which will be the cherry topping on the cake. The restaurant that they currently use, provided a delightful breakfast and lunch if you chose to eat there. I would recommend this hotel to everyone far and wide. The location is perfect right next to Hotel Borg and no more than 5 minutes to anyplace that you need to get to in the heart of Reykavik! A magnificent spot!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hance_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
How great you were able to celebrate the birthday in style! Emilio (Edoardo actually) has been with us right from the start and we’re very pleased with his work. Your shout out to him is very appreciated! Our Vínbarinn restaurant is now in full force and offers meals during lunch and dinner time, along with Reykjavík’s biggest selection of wines. Thanks for recommending our hotel, I sure hope you’ll be back soon!

With best regards,
The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were in a 2-room suite which was sizeable (in terms of common area- living room, dining area) but had tiny bedrooms (basically the size of a double bed). The bathroom was nice, but anytime you shower the whole bathroom floor gets wet.

While I think the room size was small, some of our friends who stayed in some of the other rooms had quite sizeable rooms so I think it just depends on which one you book!

The interior decoration is amazing- very modern and yet rustic- everything made of natural elements with neutral coloring (grey/yellow... gorgeous!)

Staff was overall very helpful and courteous, and we even had a BBQ in the courtyard (organized by my cousin who got married in Iceland during this trip).

Location was convenient right near center of town.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, Jennifer. You're probably referring to our “Biggest” room, -our rooms are designed into previously existing apartments so they differ somewhat in size and price. I am so glad you liked our Icelandic/Scandinavian design and thank you for a nice review.

With greetings from Iceland,
The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
999 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kvosin Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kvosin Downtown Hotel

Property: Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Address: Kirkjutorg 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kvosin Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kvosin is located in the heart of Reykjavík. And by heart, I mean heart, not kidney, spleen or thyroid. In less then three minutes walking distance are cafés, bars, clubs, museums, Harpa (concerts and conventions), the mayor, ducks and politicians working in the Icelandic parliament next door (nevermind).Let's see. I've got Normal rooms, Bigger rooms, Biggest rooms and Larger than life rooms but only one Tiny room. I'm inspired by my experience as a traveller: I want a good bed, I want to cook, I want to watch big TV, I want to bring my friends or kids, I want space and I want fun. So, here you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kvosin Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing