We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go see, stay & enjoy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go see, stay & enjoy”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A bunch of us stayed at Kvosin Downtown Hotel while in Reykjavik for a wedding celebration early June. Hotel is brand new and boasts impeccable style. Rooms we occupied were either for 2 or 4 people and are spacious with plenty of hang-out area and comfortable beds. Newly-weds held a gathering in the penthouse and (to no one's surprise) it is indeed the best room to chill in. The two terraces offer amazing views and are big enough to probably host the whole town.
Location -wise hotel is smack in the centre of Reykjavik, so don't even think twice about it. Breakfast is served at a cute coffee shop adjacent to the hotel and it was delicious.
Enough said ... clearly a no-brainer. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Hotel website has pretty cool and accurate pictures and sketches of rooms offered. We had a front fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emunka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
It was so great hosting the wedding party you mention this summer and I am so happy that all of you enjoyed the stay. Now, taking part in a wedding celebration makes love and affection contagious, so lets hope more from the group will get hitched up soon and then they’ll know where to go! And thanks for mentioning our website which we are very proud of.

Greetings,
The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    108
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
194
238
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
141 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

A small newly opened design hotel in top location of Reykjavik. Very comfortable beds, nice bathroom and high quality in all details. The service of f&b was non existing when we visited but a Vine Bar were supposed to open in mid july. Breakfast was served in a small neighbor Restaurant and was quite OK. The system with codes in stead of room keys is brilliant. Room rates are high but may be acceptable when all service in-house are up running. Must be the best hotel in R.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TangoStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback. The Winebar is now open and offering Lunch, Dinner and even live music ogncertain days. It is great to hear the great feedback especially when we were in our early days.

With gratitude,
The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Kvosin hotel this past weekend as we celebrated a birthday. We had 4 rooms and the top suite was unbelievable. With 2 rooms (1 double bed / bunkbed in the other), an amazing stereo system and 2 spectacular Patios. I was told by the locals that it likely was the best hotel room in Reykavik. The staff were amazing and a special shout out to Emilio! They are completing a new restaurant which will be the cherry topping on the cake. The restaurant that they currently use, provided a delightful breakfast and lunch if you chose to eat there. I would recommend this hotel to everyone far and wide. The location is perfect right next to Hotel Borg and no more than 5 minutes to anyplace that you need to get to in the heart of Reykavik! A magnificent spot!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hance_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
How great you were able to celebrate the birthday in style! Emilio (Edoardo actually) has been with us right from the start and we’re very pleased with his work. Your shout out to him is very appreciated! Our Vínbarinn restaurant is now in full force and offers meals during lunch and dinner time, along with Reykjavík’s biggest selection of wines. Thanks for recommending our hotel, I sure hope you’ll be back soon!

With best regards,
The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were in a 2-room suite which was sizeable (in terms of common area- living room, dining area) but had tiny bedrooms (basically the size of a double bed). The bathroom was nice, but anytime you shower the whole bathroom floor gets wet.

While I think the room size was small, some of our friends who stayed in some of the other rooms had quite sizeable rooms so I think it just depends on which one you book!

The interior decoration is amazing- very modern and yet rustic- everything made of natural elements with neutral coloring (grey/yellow... gorgeous!)

Staff was overall very helpful and courteous, and we even had a BBQ in the courtyard (organized by my cousin who got married in Iceland during this trip).

Location was convenient right near center of town.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, Jennifer. You're probably referring to our “Biggest” room, -our rooms are designed into previously existing apartments so they differ somewhat in size and price. I am so glad you liked our Icelandic/Scandinavian design and thank you for a nice review.

With greetings from Iceland,
The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

its a wow @ every turn! i've been to many boutique hotels but by far this is the best...excellent location...stayed for 4 nights for a wedding party and we had the whole hotel so i got to nose around most of the rooms...every single one is top notch! well thought of lay-outs and amazing audio systems...love the keyless entry too! if they could only have squeezed a bath in the rooms as it would be nice to have a soak after a long day of sight seeing...nevertheless the showers are amazing!

Room Tip: 305 is great but all rooms are amazing! seriously!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi there Jasper,
Thank you for the great review. I am happy you got to see most of our rooms and also great you used our audio system as there you can either listen to Icelandic radio or plug your own device with a mini-jack and play your own music. I’m sorry that the rooms don’t include a bath tub but I’d like to point out that the nearest swimming pool is open ‘til 10 PM during work days and it’s actually an incredibly authentic venue with a delightful atmosphere.

Greetings,
The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We rented the entire hotel for our destination wedding in Iceland and having everyone at Kvosin was one of the highlights. Because we had the whole place, I can you we've seen the insides of every room and there isn't one bad room in this place. The finishing is all of the highest quality and finest taste. Comfortable beds, beautiful bathrooms, Aveda products, and scrumptious breakfast every morning at Bergsson downstairs. The newly opened hotel had service beyond 5 stars and location is incredible, right in the heart of charming Reykjavik. All attractions are within easy walking distance. For those of you wishing to impress and throw a party/gathering, Suite 401 covers the entire top floor and boasts 2 unbelievable balconies, totaling 1000 sq ft. We can't thank Kvosin and it's amazing manager Birgir enough for the hospitality and for going out of their way to make this a memorable stay for all of us and our guests. We had an overflow of guests who had to stay at other locations and I think they were all jealous of what they saw at Kvosin. We will definitely return to Iceland at some point and will stay here again and recommend it to all our friends without a doubt. Amazing place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emai_trippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you so very much for your splendid review. It was a great honour for us to host your wedding celebration, which was the first one ever at our hotel. I hope everything is going great and look forward to see you here for anniversaries to come!

With warm wishes and handful of smiles,
The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomer, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our service at the hotel was excellent. The staff goes out of their way to help you find or do anything. It was newly remodeled and they did an excellent job. The location is in a convenient place downtown. What we liked was the home like atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inga_Audbjorg, Front Office Manager at Kvosin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you very much for the compact and nice review. I am very happy that you mentioned our staff as we had just opened at this time and your staff members were incredible in helping us get going. We're so proud that they're always willing to go the extra mile; which is why we remember to give them a high five every day!

Come back soon!

The Kvosin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
987 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
970 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kvosin Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kvosin Downtown Hotel

Property: Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Address: Kirkjutorg 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kvosin Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kvosin is located in the heart of Reykjavík. And by heart, I mean heart, not kidney, spleen or thyroid. In less then three minutes walking distance are cafés, bars, clubs, museums, Harpa (concerts and conventions), the mayor, ducks and politicians working in the Icelandic parliament next door (nevermind).Let's see. I've got Normal rooms, Bigger rooms, Biggest rooms and Larger than life rooms but only one Tiny room. I'm inspired by my experience as a traveller: I want a good bed, I want to cook, I want to watch big TV, I want to bring my friends or kids, I want space and I want fun. So, here you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Kvosin Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing