We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The best hostel I've been to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bus Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bus Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
“The best hostel I've been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I am well travelled, in my late 30's and I know a good hostel when I see one. I am a current guest at the hostel and have enjoyed every second. People complaining about a mess in the kitchen? This is the cleanest hostel kitchen I have seen. And the best equipped. The beds are the best I've slept in and the showers.... no words. Spacious bathrooms, no communal showers and everything is so clean. If a 10 min walk is a long walk to you then yes, Bus hostel is in a bad location. The decor is the best I've seen. Full of character, fun and so cozy. Expect a 4 star hotel service from the staff because that is what you will get. The manager is so nice, always there and solves everything with a smile and in true professional manner.

Room Tip: The price difference between a 4 and 6 bed dorm is very little. Recomend room 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Million thanks for your wonderful review! Thank you! Love from the Bus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    85
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
6
40
89
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at Bus Hostel for a week during the Iceland Airwaves Festival. And it was so much fun! The people working there are very nice and always there to help you out with booking tourist things and all that stuff. The rooms are cosy and clean, so is the lobby. If I ever stay in Reykjavik again it will definitly be in Bus Hostel :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unalupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you, thank you! We loved Airwaves and all the life around it. Thank you for staying with us and we see you again hopefully! Best from the Bus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

You would have to see it. Blocked sink full of stinky water and dirty dishes. Mess on the shelf for guests' food. There are cute signs warning guests that a puffin might die when when dishes aren't washed. Well that doesn't really work. They will ALL DIE then! You got to put up strong rules and enforce them. Put a fake CCTV cam there and a sign that threatens the guests that their credit cards will be charged when they don't wash AND DRY their dishes. Don't let them keep their food in the kitchen outside of the fridge. Mess will happen and more mess will follow. Clean the kitchen every other day. Find out what broken window principle is.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skrat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Now you mention it - we haven't seen a puffin in quite some time!! :)
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are terribly, awfully, deeply sorry that you feel this badly about our beloved kitchen. But million thanks for the tips, they are most appreciated. We do however clean the kitchen twice per shift so you must have been staying when we had super, duper messy guests. All the best from the Bus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked our double room for 5 nights on their website, (55€, basically less expensive than a room on airbnb in Reykjavik). Because of their october offers, the Bus hostel gave us a complementary one day car rental (their partner SADcars, a car rental company, shares the same office). Isn't it a great deal? :-) (BTW, you can get your car at Keflavik and leave it at the Bus hostel with no extra fee!)

Our room was bright. The bedding was a bit soft for us, but quiet comfortable. We were able to adjust the heater. There were 5 power outlets (this is pretty convenient when you have several devices to recharge). The room was enough clean (but unswept under the bed).

In the morning, you have free toasts (bread, marmelade, peanut butter, chocolate spread) in the shared kitchen (in which you have everything you need to cook but it's a little messy!)

There is a nice big lounge room with a bar, and in the evening, it's very cozy when they light up the candles.

The staff was friendly and helpful too. They gave us good tips for dining in town.
They also have free rental bikes (but we didn't need it)

The location is convenient if you rent a car because it's easy to park (and it's free).

Overall, we recommend this place. We will certainly come back for our next stay in Reykjavik!

Room Tip: the room 17 is convenient, it's just in front of one of the 4 shared bathrooms of the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellevilleZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us and for your thorough and descriptive review. So much appreciated. Hope to see you again! Hugs from the Bus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I spent 10 days in Iceland, and 3 of those nights were at the bus hostel. Though I arrived very late on a Sunday, the receptionist at the front desk was helpful and polite. I stayed an additional night and made many new friends, including some of the staff.

After travelling around the country, there was only one place in mind to spend my last night before my flight back to the US - the bus hostel.

The place has a very new feel to it, as the rooms are very clean. But the main lounge has a comfortable, worn in feel to it that I appreciated and could tell the other patrons did too. The bus hostel is high on my list of recommendations for places to stay while traveling in Iceland.

-Chris

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmath109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you Chris. We loved having you as well and your friends miss you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I had the best HOSTEL experience staying at the Bus Hostel, what a great atmosphere! Excellent staff, they were all very helpful and friendly. All the facilities were so very clean. High standard bathrooms with very good space and a pleasant and very well equipped kitchen. Rooms are very nice, comfortable bedding, good size, great luminosity, nice decoration. But a special mention has to go to the communal room since it doesn't feel like an ordinary one, it's actually a magical place where everyone interacts and makes friends easily, so much that no one wants to leave there, only if it is to go out to experience the amazing Reykjavík nightlife. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed and I travel a lot!
The Bus Hostel was an important point of my trip, It was such a pleasure to be a guest. Internet connection is awEsome too. I not only recommend it as I will definitely stay there next time I visit Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrunoLitome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
You had me at magical! Thank you for your kind words and for staying with us. Bless from all of us at the Bus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is my first time to stay at a hostel and I love it! It's decoration is very hip and eclectic! The reception people were very proactive, helpful and friendly especially the tall guy with a hat.

There are plenty of bathrooms and all of them are spotless! I wonder how they can keep it that clean all the time. Lol

There's also a very strong and stable WiFi signal as well, what more I can ask for! It's a perfect stay for travelers who would love to meet new and interesting people!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerenceNip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you. We loved having you. It is people like you who make the Bus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hlemmur Square
#7 of 94 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
#2 of 94 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kex Hostel
Kex Hostel
#5 of 94 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
The Capital-Inn
#58 of 115 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Loft Hostel
#3 of 94 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bus Hostel

Property: Bus Hostel
Address: Skogarhlid 10, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bus Hostel. We offer a relaxed and inviting environment for the budget-conscious traveler. Our dorms are simple, bright and comfortable ranging from 4 to 24 bed rooms as well as more private room options. The dorms are sleeping bag accommodation, however our private rooms come complete with duvets and towels. Additionally, all of our rooms and common areas have access to our free wifi.Our spacious bathrooms all come with private showers. You can relax in our lounge which is complete with a small bar. The bar has excellent happy hour prices and a very reasonably priced breakfast. Or you can prepare your meal in one of our two fully equipped kitchens. We are happy to help you plan your trip in Iceland. The front desk is open 24/7, and our friendly staff are more than happy to help you book your return shuttle, tours or give you directions around town. We have a car rental at the front desk and plenty of parking outside. Bus Hostel Reykjavik is located only a few minutes away from the major bus routes in and out of Reykjavik. We are a 15 minute walk from the main shopping streets in the downtown area in one direction and Kringlan the mall in the other. Perlan, the Klambratun park and Kjarvalsstadir art museum are all just ten minute walks from us as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing