We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bus Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

All facilities are presented, lockers for free, well organized kitchen, you can easily store your products in a fridge.
We were very glad to stay in this hostel. Cheap and really convenient!
We recommend it to everyone :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Oleg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We wish you all the best in the future and thank you for staying with us. Love from the Bus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    104
    38
    10
    6
See reviews for
6
48
107
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The Bus Hostel is a fun and quirky set up - with a relaxed and playful atmosphere yet quiet and not chaotic in any sense. A 14 person room is clean, bland and the mattresses are pretty comfortable. However bedding is an extra fee and a locker requires a deposit, although the hostel is a safe and friendly. There are plenty of plugs about and the staff can lend adaptors. Another great perk that sets the bus hostel apart is the bike lending scheme, whereby you can rent a bike for the day for free but with a small deposit. They are good and durable bikes but the saddles are quite uncomfortable. The kitchen facilities are excellent with all sorts of hardware supplied for you and other fridge facilities with split Shelves by floor, which a a great idea that works very well.
Showers are very clean and very spacious. The logistics of the hostel work very fluently. It is in a pretty good location - close to the bus station (about 8 minutes walking) and about 12 minutes walk from town centre.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us. We truly appreciate this help in building our reputation. And remember - it is people like you who make the Bus! Love and travels from us all at the Bus Hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
319 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We only spent one night (booked very short term). Very clean and new infrastructure, nice lounge and good rooms. Only drawback is its distance to the centre but there are options to go. Friendly and efficient service, wifi included.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We truly appreciate that you took the time to rate us. And thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you again. Tata! The Bus gang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piestany, Slovakia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hostel is a newly reconstructed, all furnishing and facilities are new, clean and well maintained. We had an impression, that the hostel stuff still need to gain their experience about keeping the hostel (there were mistakes at the checkin), however, they tried to do their best to solve issue. They also did not tell us that there is a free bike rental - what we would definitely use, as the hostel is not directly in the centre (ca. 20 min walk). I only found our from tripadvisor now :-( If we had knew, hostel rating would be Excellent.
Other than this, we enjoy close distance to the bus station, Perlan museum, public beach with thermal water and grocery shops. There is a small kitchen, however, it may become busy in the mornings. Nice surprise was also a free toast that the hostel offers in the morning.
We stayed in several hostels in Iceland, and this one was far the best value in Reykjavik and the whole country,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasto H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for liking us! We like you too!! Sorry to hear that you had problems at check in but since we had recently opened when you were here we were all in training and are doing our best:) Even more sorry that you did not know about our super cool bikes! All info is on our web-site and announced on our noticeboard. Hope to see you again! Hugs. The Bus Hostel peops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at Bus Hostel for 3 nights at the end of a 6 month Europe exchange. Stayed in a 4 bed dorm but my friend and I had it to ourselves! This place had really nice wooden beds, new (non squeaky) lockers, really nice bathrooms and showers and a kitchen equipped with all the cooking supplies you could want. The downstairs common room was also fantastic, like an old school library- and the hostel playlist was just my type of music! The staff were also super friendly and helpful, a definite bonus!

Now for what I didn't like- a little far from downtown (a 15 min or so walk) which is fine but the most direct route makes you cross a highway illegally. You didn't get any linens, not even sheets or a pillow case without paying extra, which kind of sucked, but the beds were comfy! There was also nothing really around it, so when we got in late we resorted to gas station food because that was the only thing within a 10 min walk.

But overall a great place, if they had given linens I would have probably given them excellent!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chelly_bean77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for liking our music hahah. We LOVE it too. Roger Whittaker being a favorite:) Thank you also for staying with us and for rating us. I just must point out that there is no illegal crossing over highways - there is an under-passage - designed for pedestrians that you just must have missed:) Happy travels! The Bus hostel gang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed for 4nights in late June 2013. Cool, new, modern and very clean hostel. Big beds and private bathrooms. Although its just out of town - about a fifteen minute walk - the free bicycle rental turned this into a highlight. Very peaceful and picturesque cycling down into town! The staff at the hostel were extremely friendly and accommodating - the nicest we've met! Recommend a stay here!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. Made our day. Love. The Bus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sur, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at Bus Hostel two separate times in the spring of 2013. Once with my boyfriend for one week when it was newly open, and then a second time with three friends toward the end of my Iceland trip. On the first stay, being that it was a brand new hostel, there were initially a few problems, but the staff went above and beyond in remedying the situations. The staff were always friendly and helpful, even when super busy, and late at night. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay, the beds were clean and comfortable, the kitchen was tidy and had everything we needed to cook our own meals, the bathrooms were spacious and clean, and the other guests were very friendly. Two weeks later myself and three friends stayed for two nights, at that point the hostel was more packed, the kitchen was more difficult to navigate (they were in the process of constructing the hangout area downstairs), but the staff were still the nicest hostel staff I have ever had the pleasure of staying with. I really felt the hostel went above and beyond to make both my stays a wonderful experience. My other favorite thing about this hostel was the blackout curtains! A must for me, at that time of year. I highly recommend staying with Bus Hostel Reykjavik.

Room Tip: I only stayed in the 4 person dorms, they were great. The bunkbeds are high so that you can comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JSCali4nia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for rating us. We love returning friends. Welcome. We like you. xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hlemmur Square
#8 of 98 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
#4 of 98 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Galaxy Pod Hostel
#2 of 98 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oddsson Hostel
#19 of 98 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
The Capital-Inn
#58 of 106 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Laugardalur
Reykjavik City Hostel
Reykjavik City Hostel
#18 of 98 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bus Hostel

Property: Bus Hostel
Address: Skogarhlid 10, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bus Hostel. We offer a relaxed and inviting environment for the budget-conscious traveler. Our dorms are simple, bright and comfortable ranging from 4 to 24 bed rooms as well as more private room options. The dorms are sleeping bag accommodation, however our private rooms come complete with duvets and towels. Additionally, all of our rooms and common areas have access to our free wifi.Our spacious bathrooms all come with private showers. You can relax in our lounge which is complete with a small bar. The bar has excellent happy hour prices and a very reasonably priced breakfast. Or you can prepare your meal in one of our two fully equipped kitchens. We are happy to help you plan your trip in Iceland. The front desk is open 24/7, and our friendly staff are more than happy to help you book your return shuttle, tours or give you directions around town. We have a car rental at the front desk and plenty of parking outside. Bus Hostel Reykjavik is located only a few minutes away from the major bus routes in and out of Reykjavik. We are a 15 minute walk from the main shopping streets in the downtown area in one direction and Kringlan the mall in the other. Perlan, the Klambratun park and Kjarvalsstadir art museum are all just ten minute walks from us as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Bus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing