We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best value hostel in Reykjavik”
Review of Bus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bus Hostel
Ranked #11 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Piestany, Slovakia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best value hostel in Reykjavik”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hostel is a newly reconstructed, all furnishing and facilities are new, clean and well maintained. We had an impression, that the hostel stuff still need to gain their experience about keeping the hostel (there were mistakes at the checkin), however, they tried to do their best to solve issue. They also did not tell us that there is a free bike rental - what we would definitely use, as the hostel is not directly in the centre (ca. 20 min walk). I only found our from tripadvisor now :-( If we had knew, hostel rating would be Excellent.
Other than this, we enjoy close distance to the bus station, Perlan museum, public beach with thermal water and grocery shops. There is a small kitchen, however, it may become busy in the mornings. Nice surprise was also a free toast that the hostel offers in the morning.
We stayed in several hostels in Iceland, and this one was far the best value in Reykjavik and the whole country,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasto H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for liking us! We like you too!! Sorry to hear that you had problems at check in but since we had recently opened when you were here we were all in training and are doing our best:) Even more sorry that you did not know about our super cool bikes! All info is on our web-site and announced on our noticeboard. Hope to see you again! Hugs. The Bus Hostel peops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    110
    41
    12
    6
See reviews for
6
50
117
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at Bus Hostel for 3 nights at the end of a 6 month Europe exchange. Stayed in a 4 bed dorm but my friend and I had it to ourselves! This place had really nice wooden beds, new (non squeaky) lockers, really nice bathrooms and showers and a kitchen equipped with all the cooking supplies you could want. The downstairs common room was also fantastic, like an old school library- and the hostel playlist was just my type of music! The staff were also super friendly and helpful, a definite bonus!

Now for what I didn't like- a little far from downtown (a 15 min or so walk) which is fine but the most direct route makes you cross a highway illegally. You didn't get any linens, not even sheets or a pillow case without paying extra, which kind of sucked, but the beds were comfy! There was also nothing really around it, so when we got in late we resorted to gas station food because that was the only thing within a 10 min walk.

But overall a great place, if they had given linens I would have probably given them excellent!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chelly_bean77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for liking our music hahah. We LOVE it too. Roger Whittaker being a favorite:) Thank you also for staying with us and for rating us. I just must point out that there is no illegal crossing over highways - there is an under-passage - designed for pedestrians that you just must have missed:) Happy travels! The Bus hostel gang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed for 4nights in late June 2013. Cool, new, modern and very clean hostel. Big beds and private bathrooms. Although its just out of town - about a fifteen minute walk - the free bicycle rental turned this into a highlight. Very peaceful and picturesque cycling down into town! The staff at the hostel were extremely friendly and accommodating - the nicest we've met! Recommend a stay here!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. Made our day. Love. The Bus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sur, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at Bus Hostel two separate times in the spring of 2013. Once with my boyfriend for one week when it was newly open, and then a second time with three friends toward the end of my Iceland trip. On the first stay, being that it was a brand new hostel, there were initially a few problems, but the staff went above and beyond in remedying the situations. The staff were always friendly and helpful, even when super busy, and late at night. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay, the beds were clean and comfortable, the kitchen was tidy and had everything we needed to cook our own meals, the bathrooms were spacious and clean, and the other guests were very friendly. Two weeks later myself and three friends stayed for two nights, at that point the hostel was more packed, the kitchen was more difficult to navigate (they were in the process of constructing the hangout area downstairs), but the staff were still the nicest hostel staff I have ever had the pleasure of staying with. I really felt the hostel went above and beyond to make both my stays a wonderful experience. My other favorite thing about this hostel was the blackout curtains! A must for me, at that time of year. I highly recommend staying with Bus Hostel Reykjavik.

Room Tip: I only stayed in the 4 person dorms, they were great. The bunkbeds are high so that you can comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JSCali4nia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for rating us. We love returning friends. Welcome. We like you. xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Bus Hostel. It was a great option in a town where accomodation is expensive and lackluster. The location can be a little tricky, but it is easy to get to if you have a car (and free parking!) and walking down to the city centre only takes 15minutes. Plus, there are many bus options.

Our room was clean, the fixtures throughout the building our new, and the bathrooms were kept in order (a rarity for hostels). The lounge is uber cool, great place to chill and plan your next day's travels.

The staff were also really cool and helpful, they made our stay that much better.

Highly recommend the hostel as an more affordable option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff_Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
So thankful for you taking the time to review us and for your kind words. Be happy. The Bus gang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed there only one night before leaving iceland. We were allowed to store our luggage for 2 days there and still could use the kitchen and common room after checking out and dry our clothes. Everyone was very friendly, the rooms new and clean -full recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We only happen to receive friendly guests and this helps us in being friendly:) Thank you so much for your review. The Bus Hostel peops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice and clean and spacious. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good location for the airport for internal flights and it didnt take long to walk into the city either, about 15 or 20 mins.
Nice and clean and spacious. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good location for the airport for internal flights and it didnt take long to walk into the city either, about 15 or 20 mins.
Nice and clean and spacious. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good location for the airport for internal flights and it didnt take long to walk into the city either, about 15 or 20 mins.
Nice and clean and spacious. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good location for the airport for internal flights and it didnt take long to walk into the city either, about 15 or 20 mins.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank KarenThuihiulluiiulh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristinolafs, Manager at Bus Hostel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Million thanks for re-instating your wonderful views so many times:) Love from us all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 102 in Reykjavik
1,081 reviews
Oddsson Hostel
#17 of 102 in Reykjavik
77 reviews
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
#3 of 102 in Reykjavik
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#4 of 102 in Reykjavik
385 reviews
Galaxy Pod Hostel
#2 of 102 in Reykjavik
203 reviews
Laugardalur
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
#18 of 102 in Reykjavik
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bus Hostel

Property: Bus Hostel
Address: Skogarhlid 10, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bus Hostel. We offer a relaxed and inviting environment for the budget-conscious traveler. Our dorms are simple, bright and comfortable ranging from 4 to 24 bed rooms as well as more private room options. The dorms are sleeping bag accommodation, however our private rooms come complete with duvets and towels. Additionally, all of our rooms and common areas have access to our free wifi.Our spacious bathrooms all come with private showers. You can relax in our lounge which is complete with a small bar. The bar has excellent happy hour prices and a very reasonably priced breakfast. Or you can prepare your meal in one of our two fully equipped kitchens. We are happy to help you plan your trip in Iceland. The front desk is open 24/7, and our friendly staff are more than happy to help you book your return shuttle, tours or give you directions around town. We have a car rental at the front desk and plenty of parking outside. Bus Hostel Reykjavik is located only a few minutes away from the major bus routes in and out of Reykjavik. We are a 15 minute walk from the main shopping streets in the downtown area in one direction and Kringlan the mall in the other. Perlan, the Klambratun park and Kjarvalsstadir art museum are all just ten minute walks from us as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your Bus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing