We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iceland Offroad - Fantastic Day Tour!”

Iceland Offroad - Private Tours
Ranked #94 of 366 Tours in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Iceland off road, 4x4 offroad tours, Private tours, Hiking, Caving and all round out doors and activity tours.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our guide Beck picked me up at the bus station along with only two other passengers, off we went to the South Coast with Beck providing a great knowledgeable commentary on the landscape, history and culture. Amazing caves, waterfalls and scenery. Heading offroad and crossing streams, he took us right up to a glacier, amazing! Down to the beach and along the waters edge just in front of the crashing surf. I have been offroading for many years in Australia and though I was good at river crossings and beach driving. But I now realize I am a only beginner compared to Beck! On way home we hit some snow and ice on roads, no problems for Beck and I felt totally safe. Iceland Offroad, can't recommend them enough, you certainly get your moneys worth. Good job!

Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan4x4, Owner at Iceland Offroad - Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 252 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stefan our guide for the day was great. He was very friendly and was happy to answer any of our questions. He told us facts of the landscape but also facts about Icelandic society. It was a really great way to get to learn about Iceland. Plus we could go anywhere we wanted to go which is much better than the bus tour where you don't have a choice. We seen the geysers, waterfalls, glaciers and black sands all in one day. Plus we stopped for Icelandic icecream which was cool. Definitely will recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan4x4, Owner at Iceland Offroad - Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Birgir was an excellent guide for the day, showing us many highlights of the South Iceland landscape that he knows well and which he enjoyed sharing with our family. He was full of interesting information about the landscape and about Icelandic society and recent history. Much of the day we were on our own, away from the crowds, and this was a particularly appreciated when we made the short walk to the glacier. We would highly recommend taking a private tour with Iceland Offroad.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan4x4, Owner at Iceland Offroad - Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you so much for the good review. Every review helps us build up a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

There was nothing left to be desired when travelling with steffan - we did a nine hour tour to the nearest glacier, with some amazing stops on the way (lava caving, hot springs, solheimar, crater and more) and he was full of information on a wide variety of topics - actually we were not able to come up with a question he could not answer... ;-) He was very friendly, humorous and thoughtful and engaged fully in interesting discussions and it felt like maybe two hours in the end. This was awesome and fully recommendable.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Nicolai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan4x4, Owner at Iceland Offroad - Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely review. Going to hotsprings after driving on glaciers just can't go wrong!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Absolutely unforgettable experience! Coming form Hong Kong, we formed a small group for lava caving with Stefan. Stefan is very knowledgeable with the lava caves and made me feel that he is the "owner" of the caves. No one knows the caves better than he does. Adventurous, educative, my friends and I enjoyed the tour a lot. I have no hesitation to recommend this to anyone who are interested in lava caving.

Thanks Stefan! You gave us a very enjoyable tour!

Anson

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Anson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan4x4, Owner at Iceland Offroad - Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you so very much for the good review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iceland Offroad - Private Tours also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Iceland Offroad - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing