We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, tidy, and excellent service”
Review of Hlemmur Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hlemmur Square
Ranked #10 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy, and excellent service”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

With a good location next to the Hlemmur bus station, and it's own bar downstairs, Hlemmur Square is a great place for shared accommodation. The dorm I stayed in (12 bed mixed) was deserted in April, but blackout curtains were in place to shield from the summer sun, and there were chairs, a table, and a sink in the room. The bar downstairs seemed very popular with locals, particularly during happy hour (4-8pm, half price draught beer) and there was a huge beer selection - standard prices were pretty high, but that's Reykjavik for you.
The service was particularly good - when my final day's tour location was changed last minute, the staff helpfully ensured that my luggage was placed on the airport bus, which saved me from an expensive taxi ride back to the city.

Room Tip: When I visited around Easter 2014, the 12-man dorm only ever had a maximum of 2 occupied beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratbort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    413
    161
    42
    19
See reviews for
43
204
495
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

One of the great aspects of Reykjavik is the range of temporary accommodations for travelers, ranging from inexpensive hostels to 4-star luxury properties. We stayed at Hlemmur Square, near the city central bus hub of the same name. Located at Laugavegur 105, Hlemmur is a unique blend of bar, upscale hostel, hotel, and restaurant, all located under the same roof. We stayed in one of their apartments and it quickly became a home away from home.

[ N.B. This was originally posted in my food and travel blog at http://struckbywanderlustblog.wordpress.com/reykjavik/ ]

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David-Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel at random not knowing Reykjavik. Could not have made a better choice. The location within easy walking distance of the centre and harbour was perfect.

The hotel rooms on the 5th floor were spacious and immaculate and the enormous beds were extremely comfortable.

A great selection of beers, some really strong, is splendid feature, and the friendliness of the staff is unsurpassed: they will do everything to help in terms of arranging trips and to make your stay totally memorable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has all the great facilities for your stay Reykjavik. Rooms are spacious and the beds are extremely comfortable. Big power showers and plenty of towels and linen. Location wise you are opposite a supermarket for snacks and last minute essentials. You are based at the start of the main shopping street and takes about 10 minute walk to the main church and 25 min to the far side of the old harbour. Staff are very welcoming at check in and helpful during our stay. Only slight negative is that breakfast service is a little slow (but this may be the Reykjavik way of life). So if you're in a rush in the mornings or booked onto a tour leave plenty of time to get breakfast which is menu based with around 7 choices, all cooked well. Very good hotel and would recommend for your Icelandic trip.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishEccentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The staff make this place awesome. Each staff member I met went out of their way to make my trip great, from answering endless questions, to providing great suggestions, contacting tour companies, and making sure I got to the airport in time for my flight.

The beds are comfy, the showers fantastic and the location is great. Hlemmur Square is right next to a main bus terminal, and thus nearly every bus you see will take you 'home' (just make sure it's headed in he right direction!)

There are 2 grocery stores nearby; one across the street and one a few blocks away. The one across the street is open late, but twice as expensive as the one a few blocks away.

Hlemmur square is a great base of operations for a tourist in reykjavik. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolSWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pristina, Kosovo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at this hotel and loved it! The huge bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever had (my girlfriend wanted to take it with her), the customer service was great and the location was ideal. The cost was also reasonable, especially when compared with the price of some comparable places around town. Finally, I enjoyed chatting with the bar staff and having a few beers during happy hour. Altogether a great experience-- I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Hotel very surprising. The rooms are of a high standard as are the staff. I would return anytime I visit Reykjavik. I was made to feel extremely welcome. Thank you Klaus,you are doing a great job there.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visyso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
999 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,596 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hlemmur Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hlemmur Square

Property: Hlemmur Square
Address: Laugavegur 105, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hlemmur Square 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel and Social Hostel with cafe, bar, restaurant and tourist information office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hlemmur Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing