We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Only Had Breakfast Here”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Borg Restaurant

Borg Restaurant
Ranked #225 of 462 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Bar, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
240 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“We Only Had Breakfast Here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at The Borg Hotel, and because our days started early, it only made sense to have breakfast here. It was the usual European breakfast in a very nice setting. Nothing to write home about but we enjoyed each morning there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    18
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

The spread is extraordinary and varied. The room full of light and classic Art Deco. Huge windows on the square.
There is no hurry to get out, but do get in before 10h00.
Pricey - but worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TODD L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hirtshals, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing closure”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

I was so super excited to try this place out and treat my Aunt to a nice meal for her birthday. I had made a booking months in advance. Needless to say. we showed up for our delicious meal only to be greeted with a CLOSED sign! Apparently they are now closed due to renovations or some other thing. That is all good, but they should have contacted us to let us know! I think that was a bit mean of them to be honest. Otherwise, it looked like nice atmosphere from the windows!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunilla5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Good service, tasty food but very very little portions. We left still hungry and had to make a second dinner home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
199 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Overhyped and overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Just because it is located in a fantastic hotel doesn't automatically make a restaurant a hit. My wife and I were staying at the hotel so ate here on our first night.

Friendly staff; minimalist menu (both in terms of choice and description); only one portion of lamb available so I had the cod (mistake). I had the smoked lamb starter and was presented with three thin slices of meat and a salad, barely a mouthful.

My main was a pretentious mix of beautifully cooked fish on a bed salad including orange segments, cubes of pineapple and melon/mango. The robust mix of flavours completely overpowered the fish.

We had a couple of glasses of wine between us; coffee in place of dessert and a liquor. The bill seemed excessive at £100+.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyeddieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borg Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Borg Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing