We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food and good drinks”
Review of Borg Restaurant

Borg Restaurant
Ranked #232 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Seafood, Scandinavian, International, Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice food and good drinks”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went there for a short and small dinner.
The food was alright, unfortunately the service was not so attentive but helpful when
they did help us out.Although for being in Reykjavik, I think this restaurant is good. I would recommend you to try it out when staying in Reykjavik.
The drinks was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mats007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    18
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
200 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Best desserts in Reykjavik”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Starting with the desserts. The Carrot cake was incredible, totally unlike any other. Similarly the Chilli Choclate with blood orange ice cream wasdifficult to match in taste and quality. Main course were the fish tasters which were very pleasant and well presented, if a bit unspectacular overall. Decor of the restaurant is Art Deco and the table lay out was uncrowded. One disappointment was the Cheesy Mango Tango cocktail which combined Grand Marnier, chutney and Camembert! Having ordered I was eventually told the ingredients were not available, then when asked exactly how it was made, was sheepishly told the bar tender didn't know how to make it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“classy without being pretentious”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went to the Borg on a local friends recommendation and was not disappointed! Obviously an upscale place, I was expecting the food to be overcomplicated and the service a little frou frou... It was such a pleasant surprise when the waiters were attentive, well informed, helpful and stealth. The food was superb. We had the tasting menu of 9 delicious courses with impeccable presentation and such delicious, multilayered flavours! The portion sizes were generous and very artfully presented. I only wish we had discovered this restaurant earlier so we could return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank vegagala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast buffet”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Used the Borg as our breakfast place as our guest house did not have a restaurant. The buffet has a very good selection for a hearty breakfast AND wonderful coffee in pots at each table. Buffet was fairly priced at $2500 K (our guest house has a deal with the Borg). Service was friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Il
Level Contributor
301 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb restaurant”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were on a tour of Iceland with Adventures Abroad. Fortunately our tour guide loves good food and took us to Borg on our last night. We had a 9 course meal and each dish was excellent. It was as if one were in the most expensive restaurant in the States. The service matched the food. I don't eat meat and my dish was served without it. The decor was beautiful. We have had many fine meals in our lives and this one was the best.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank angten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borg Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Borg Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing