We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worlds Best Hostel?”
Review of Loft HI Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loft HI Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Perhaps. I've stayed in a few and this was definitely the best. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, perfect location, decent breakfast, clean stylish interior. I loved staying here and can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be a bit noisy on Friday/Saturday night due to nightlife in the area. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 417 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

Loft Hostel is perfect in every possible way. It's located extremely centrally, has WiFi (very important!), a great vibe, very clean rooms, and extremely professional staff!

Would recommend to anyone ever going to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arjun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

It is definitely one of the best Hostels I stayed so far. Everything went smooth. I stayed in a private room. This is a bit of a bad compromise. It is actually a two persons hostel-bed room and you have to pay for two beds, although you are a single person. This is a bit odd. What to do. However, breakfast is good, the view from the breakfast lounge and the terrace is excellent. Perfectly located in the very center of the town near the harbor. My room was quite, others reported a bit of a noise coming downstairs from a bar. And you have to check out by 10.00 hrs which is a bit early. But I would stay there again. Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Journeylist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a laid back, well-positioned, clean hostel. I spent 3 nights in an all-female dorm in the off season, when things were fairly quiet. On my first and second nights there was only 1 other occupant in my dorm, and on the third night there were 3 of us. The dorm room had its own toilet and shower which were always clean, and each bed has a separate reading light and power points. Security is good, too - under the bunks there is a locker to store your valuables (bring a padlock), and you use a security card to access both the floor and the room itself.
On the top floor there's a large lounge/bar/common area with comfy sofas and books. On one of the nights I stayed there was entertainment - a guy singing and playing an acoustic - the whole place has a really chilled, easy-going atmosphere.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Heidi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This was one of the nicest hostels I've stayed at. We were with a group of 8 and had a room to ourselves, the beds were comfortable and the upstairs lounge/common area felt like a cool indie cafe. On our first night, there was a concert there and lots of locals came out to watch.

From the balcony you we were able to see the Northern Lights very clearly, even with all of the light polution of the city.

It's located in an extremely central location and overall we had a great experience here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I have only good things to say about this hostel: Awesome, helpful, friendly staff (they'll book all your tours for you). PERFECT location. Balcony. Easy to meet other travelers and locals. Happy hour for 3hrs/day. Linen included. Everything is clean and new. Each bed has its own little light/space for belongings. Safes in each room (bring your own lock). Free working wifi.

I was traveling by myself and stayed 5 nights in the 8 bed dorm. Everything was wonderful and I would definitely recommend/stay again. Enjoy it :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daniellelynn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hostel is no frills but near perfect! Fresh linen included (not always the case in Iceland). Very comfortable, non-creaky beds with great pillows. Each bunk has it's own power outlet, light and cubby. Large rooms, each with an ensuit bathroom and great shower. Everything is clean. The staff are friendly, smiley and helpful. The common areas have a cool vibe.

My only complaint would be that the guest kicthen is smaller and less well equiped than you'd expect for the size of the hostel.

I hope they keep up the great standards!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyRevels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,883 reviews
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
#2 of 110 in Reykjavik
493 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 110 in Reykjavik
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kex Hostel
Kex Hostel
#5 of 110 in Reykjavik
849 reviews
Galaxy Pod Hostel
#3 of 110 in Reykjavik
248 reviews
Oddsson Hostel
#14 of 110 in Reykjavik
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loft HI Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft HI Hostel

Address: Bankastraeti 7, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $56 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Loft HI Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2013 and has already made a huge impression; in 2014 voted the Best HI Hostel in the world and then the best hostel in Iceland at the 2015 Hoscars. Loft is located on Reykjavík's main street, next to all major attractions. It boasts one of the finest views in town with its large top floor balcony overlooking the center - a great spot to people watch or catch a glimpse of the northern lights in winter. Make yourself at home in our spacious lounge where you can pick something out of our book swap shelves, play board games and have a tasty cup of coffee with one. Facilities also include free WiFi and computer access, fully equipped guest kitchen and free luggage storage. We host fun events a few times a week and all are free entry and welcome to all. Also there's happy hour every day between 4PM&7PM. Loft is certified as fully accessible hostel and offers a wide range of 4-8 bedded dorms and double rooms, each equipped with a private bathroom. Linen is included in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loft HI Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing