We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top shelf!”
Review of Loft HI Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loft HI Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top shelf!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hostel is no frills but near perfect! Fresh linen included (not always the case in Iceland). Very comfortable, non-creaky beds with great pillows. Each bunk has it's own power outlet, light and cubby. Large rooms, each with an ensuit bathroom and great shower. Everything is clean. The staff are friendly, smiley and helpful. The common areas have a cool vibe.

My only complaint would be that the guest kicthen is smaller and less well equiped than you'd expect for the size of the hostel.

I hope they keep up the great standards!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyRevels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    94
    26
    0
    8
See reviews for
23
57
162
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Ive stayed in many hostels over the last few years and this one rates among the best.

- great beds all with power and lights.
- amazing showers.
- friendly staff
- great location
- slightly more expensive than other hostels in iceland but worth it
- wifi works everywhere and is free

Stayed 3 separate nights and all the rooms were good and clean.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank str1pes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirraO, General Manager at Loft HI Hostel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Loft. It's great that you had an awesome stay with us and you enjoyed everything this crazy little city had to offer. We look to personalize every guests stay by listening and making individual recommendations. We can't wait to have you visit us again. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Cheers,

Sirra
Loft Hostel, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The staff (who are on the desk 24/7) are amazingly helpful offering a locals perspective, speak many languages, able to book tours and buses to the airport etc could not be more helpful if they tried. The communal/ social area is gorgeous and welcomes musicians- whilst we stayed there was a band playing and a random group of people with banjos/ guitars which was pretty cool! The kitchen has more than enough crockery/pans and even a range of condiments to use.
The rooms were lovely, really comfy beds, very quiet and lovely clean bathroom attached (we had a twin share).
The best hostel I have ever stayed in- would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themonacledoctopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirraO, General Manager at Loft HI Hostel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear themonacledoctopus
Thanks for providing such a wonderful review of Loft following your stay with us this January, it was our absolute pleasure to host you! We truly appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback as it helps us continue to deliver an outstanding guest experience.

Thank you once again for your glowing review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Loft when you’re next in the city.

Kind regards,
Sirra, Loft Hostel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I loved everything about this hostel sincerely. Locations is great, the rooms are awesome, the hygiene too and the kitchen conditions are also very good. You ve live music, table games, table football, a nice bar and you'll feel at home. There was only one negative thing about one of the receptionists, Luke, that's was a bit rude in one of the night's, but that's a little piece of water in the ocean. reccomended for all ages .

best regards from portugal

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joaonrgoncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This place is the perfect location, wonderful accommodations, and lovely staff. I personally had long conversations with many of the staff, they were more than helpful over Xmas and New Years. The rooms are neat and tidy, with a great atmosphere. I stayed in a coed dorm with my friend, and we were nothing but comfortable. There was a shower room with a sink and mirror, and a toilet room with sink and mirror. Perfect so everyone had access to a sink and the shower and the toilet were not occupied at the same time. This is easily the best hostel I have stayed in. The kitchen system there was fantastic, everyone has a basket for their groceries. The common room was a fun place to talk to people, and just hang out.
The location is right on one of the main drags in Reykjavik. About a 10 min walk from the large Lutheran church, Coffee shop right across the street, the Grey Line tour service is down the street. Just a great place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinbb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was my very first stay in a hostel as I always thought that hostels were primarily for the young. However my stay at The Loft has changed my mind and opened up a whole new world for me. Everything about it was fantastic - great location, extremely clean, very quiet and comfortable, and, above all, the staff and the other guests were friendly and helpful. I was travelling with my sons and we had a four person room with its own en-suite, which was basic but met our needs and allowed us a level of privacy. It was great having a well equipped kitchen for our use and, although we only prepared our own breakfast, it helped to save money as well as give us a good start to the day. I thoroughly recommend the Loft Hostel to anyone, no matter what your age.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieAnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SirraO, General Manager at Loft HI Hostel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi Aussie
Thank you very much for staying at the Loft and for sharing your experience. It's great that you discovered us for an option to stay at. We enjoy welcoming guests who have never stayed at a hostel before and introduce our property. Please be sure to stay with us again during our Summer season to take full advantage of our terrace, bike rentals and BBQ's! We can't wait to see you again.

Take care,
Sirra, Loft Hostel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hostel is at the city center. It has bar and cafe at 4th floor, so it is good to spend time with friends. Staff is kind and helpful. The hostel was also clean. The breakfast is not included in the price and I do not recommend to have breakfast at the hostel. You can have cheaper and more delicious at outside. I highly recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
571 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,671 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loft HI Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft HI Hostel

Property: Loft HI Hostel
Address: Bankastraeti 7, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Loft HI Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loft, recently voted by guests as the best HI hostel worldwide for 2014. Loft is located downtown Reykjavik, on city's main street, next door to all the major attractions and buzzing nightlife. Loft boasts one of the finest views in town with its large top floor balcony cafe overlooking the center - a great spot to people watch or catch a glimpse of the northern lights in winter. Loft Cafe & Bar offers top quality Cemex coffee, beer from local breweries as well as some homemade sweet and savory treats. The famous (often vegetarian/vegan) Coocoo's Soup is served Mon-Fri from lunch. Fast and free WiFi throughout all areas. Facilities include guest kitchen with BBQ terrace. Free luggage storage during stay. Free Computer access. Board Games. Book Exchange. Children's Corner. Selections of great rooms! All rooms have complementary linen. All rooms are en suite. All 4-8 bedded rooms have lockers for valuables (bring your own lock or buy at the reception). Spacious 6 - 8 bedded dormitories (mixed / female only). Private 4-5 bedded rooms. Deluxe Double or budget Twin/Double rooms. Loft is an ECO certified HI Hostel. Inspiring events every week: live music, DJ's, movie nights, markets, art collaborations and unmissable hostel events featuring the best local talents. Foosball tournaments. Reception / Tour Desk / Cafe & Bar is open 24 hours a day. We are there to help you out with anything; give you the local scoop on bars, restaurants, music-scene, the way out of town - and more. We arrange all excursions with complimentary pickup & drop off. Loft Team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loft HI Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing