We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“perfect start in reykjavik” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loft Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loft Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
antwerpen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“perfect start in reykjavik”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

central location, superfriendly staff, great breakfast, modern interior. The best start we could have for our trip through Iceland. Negative point: we couldn't book without full payment in advance. Unfortunately they didn't have a secured way to do this

Room Tip: you better ask for a room away from the streetside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank elisabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    86
    17
    0
    5
See reviews for
18
48
139
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Literally the best staff I've ever met. Everything is new and clean. Great kitchen. The best location.

Had tons of fun staying here for almost a month. Stayed in the 8 bed, 6 bed, and private room. All of them were great. I didn't even think about moving to another hostel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Amazing experience of my stay Reykjavik, a homey place to come back to after a cold and rainy adventure - soft wooden feel of the cafeteria with gourmet herbal teas and organic coffee, delightful atmosphere all around. Rooms clean and spacious and motivated young enthusiastic staff! location is top - 66 degrees North shop right underneath - 2 mins from Airport transfer. Better than a hotel! Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Loft hostel may be new, but they've already figured everything out! Incredibly clean, quiet, with incredibly friendly and helpful staff. They also have an awesome rooftop patio and a very hip / relaxing lounge cafe / bar to hang out in.

Perfect location right in the hippest part of downtown Reykjavik and close to all the sights.

Best hostel experience I've had! Check them out!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Loft Hostel for two nights, and I am truly impressed by this impeccable hostel! It is brand new, so everything looks fresh and clean, but I am not under the impression that this will fade soon.

The rooms are nice, with comfortable beds including pillows and blankets, and they are ensuite, too, so you do not have to stumble out at night to find a toilet - and everything is just superbly clean. The lounge and cafe area with the patio overlooking Reykjavik is inviting and has a good vibe. Staff is friendly, helpful, and always willing to give a little extra just to make your stay more comfortable. Usually more comfortable in my own room, I could have easily stayed here for a longer period.

The location is ridiculously central, so you are right in the center of Reykjavik (so yes, you might hear outside noise on weekend nights).

Do I have anything I did not like? Well, I, too, think the breakfast could add a little variety, and I would have loved to be able to open a window in my room - but then these are just minor things and really do not influence my overall judgement.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serendipitously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at Loft for eight nights in two rooms, as both a solo traveler and with a friend, and loved every minute. The rooms were spacious and each bed had a light/charging/storage nook. The lounge is inviting, guests support nice, and staff stellar. They were a wealth of knowledge and helped pan trips, including alternatives where they thought it necessary. The only improvement I'd request is a more varied breakfast... but really, everything else was so awesome that I can't complain!

Room Tip: You're in Reykjavik, runtur is happening whether you're there or not. Embrace it and make us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrfyshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The Loft Hostel has a fabulous location, is brand new, has spacious rooms, friendly staff and many tours and daytrips you can book there.
The breakfast will get boring if you stay couple of days. Could use some improvement or variation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_new_guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 59 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
#6 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loft Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft Hostel

Property: Loft Hostel
Address: Bankastraeti 7, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Loft Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loft, recently voted by guests as the best HI hostel worldwide for 2014. Loft is located downtown Reykjavik, on city's main street, next door to all the major attractions and buzzing nightlife. Loft boasts one of the finest views in town with its large top floor balcony cafe overlooking the center - a great spot to people watch or catch a glimpse of the northern lights in winter. Loft Cafe & Bar offers top quality Cemex coffee, beer from local breweries as well as some homemade sweet and savory treats. The famous (often vegetarian/vegan) Coocoo's Soup is served Mon-Fri from lunch. Fast and free WiFi throughout all areas. Facilities include guest kitchen with BBQ terrace. Free luggage storage during stay. Free Computer access. Board Games. Book Exchange. Children's Corner. Selections of great rooms! All rooms have complementary linen. All rooms are en suite. All 4-8 bedded rooms have lockers for valuables (bring your own lock or buy at the reception). Spacious 6 - 8 bedded dormitories (mixed / female only). Private 4-5 bedded rooms. Deluxe Double or budget Twin/Double rooms. Loft is an ECO certified HI Hostel. Inspiring events every week: live music, DJ's, movie nights, markets, art collaborations and unmissable hostel events featuring the best local talents. Foosball tournaments. Reception / Tour Desk / Cafe & Bar is open 24 hours a day. We are there to help you out with anything; give you the local scoop on bars, restaurants, music-scene, the way out of town - and more. We arrange all excursions with complimentary pickup & drop off. Loft Team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Loft Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing