We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Magical Iceland - Food & Wine Tours
from $248.65
More Info
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
133
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
133
0
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 133 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2017

My husband, 2 adult sons and myself so enjoyed the day we spent with Ymir! Whenever we visit a new place, I look for a local food tour as I have found it is such a great way to learn about the area, the food and the best restaurants. Locals always know the ropes! Ymir’s tour was by far the best we have ever experienced. His idea to combine the Golden Circle Tour with a Gourmet Food Tour was brilliant. One cannot visit Iceland without touring the Golden Circle. The Gullfoss Waterfall, Geysir and Thingvellir National Park are all must sees for good reason but adding stops at a Secret Lagoon, a greenhouse and a farm and enjoying wonderful fresh foods and drinks all along the way makes for one spectacular day! It is obvious that Ymir cares deeply about his business and sharing his beautiful country and delicious foods with travelers who come to visit Iceland! The food was all wonderful! None of us could pick a favorite because we really did love it all! Well, the fermented shark is the only thing we might pass up the next time but the vodka helped it go down and if you are visiting Iceland one must try the fermented shark so thank you Ymir for the experience! Ymir’s good nature and excitement to share life in Iceland with us made for a truly memorable day! Thank you Ymir and thank you Hebba for your delicious contributions to our tour.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank MaryAnnC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ýmir A, Owner at Magical Iceland - Food & Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

TAKK for the wonderful words - they mean the world to me and Hebba <3

Wishing you and all your boys nothing but LUCK & LOVE <3

ps if you ask me then the fermented shark is ONLY in "this life" to give that awarded access to that vodka shot ! ;)

LUV Ýmir & Hebba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017

Every day and hour were filled with new and exciting adventures from being met by Ymir at 6:45 AM with red heart balloons and until our final evening with Aurora Borealis. There were so many adventures with people and places that it is hard to say which was the best. Like asking" Which child do you love the most?" Loved all of it and can't wait to visit that happiest of countries again. June Caldwell

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ýmir A, Owner at Magical Iceland - Food & Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Dear June

Every single day with you and your beautiful family was magic - TAKK <3

Me and Hebba are waiting with even more red balloons and dancing Aurora for your next visit to NIceland :)

We wish you nothing but LUCK & LOVE in "this thing called life" <3

Ýmir & Hebba <3

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017

We were so lucky to have booked a whole week with Ymir. It was truly the trip of a lifetime, and we all travel extensively! There were 4 of us, and he helped plan an amazing itinerary to see all the significant landmarks and experiences in Iceland, and then stayed with us throughout the week. His lovely wife Hebba joined us for part of the trip and she was an incredible hostess as well. We think Ymir must be a magical elf with all his positive energy and insight into the county. We started with the Reykjavick tour, complete with all the food the drink traditional to the area (including fermented shark and black death!). Our day at the Snaefellsness Pennsula was amazing - seeing the beach with the magic pepples, meeting the local good witch and tasting her tea, seeing the seals at Ytri Tunga. We then did the Golden Circle, starting with bathing in the "secret lagoon", lunch at an impressive greenhouse to see Tomatoes growing with indoors with thermal energy, savoring the best of a local dairy farm with the best beef and lamb we have every tasted. He showed us all the magical waterfalls, we saw multitudes of rainbows. We hiked the Smokey Valley. We helicoptered and landed on a glacier, we hiked over volcanoes, and to top it all off, we saw the Northern Lights. Ymir made sure each day was optimal for us. And he captured our trip all on his camera, so we have better pictures than we could have every imagined. Thank you to Ymir and Hebba. An amazing week of Icelandic adventure and magic. We will be forever grateful to Ymir.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank jolietnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ýmir A, Owner at Magical Iceland - Food & Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Dear Friends

TAKK <3 - Correction : "WE" (as in me and Hebba) are the lucky ones to be with the four of you ;)

LUV from your "magical elf" (love that !!! :)) and his lovely wife (soooo true ;))

Ýmir & Hebba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

My Husband and I just came back from 8 days in Iceland. Each day was an exciting adventure. However, our favorite day was spent with Ymir on the Magical Iceland Private Tour. If you do one tour, definitely spend your day doing this. Ymir will take you around the Golden Circle, feeding you delicious food and drink all day. You will definitely see and taste the best of Iceland. You will also learn a lot and have SO MUCH FUN!!
Thank you Ymir! Can't wait to visit again!!
Cheryl & Jeff

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank cralter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ýmir A, Owner at Magical Iceland - Food & Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

TAKK for a beautiful day and beautiful review :) <3

It takes at least 2 - 3 to Tango and we sure did dance ;)

Wishing you both LUCK & LOVE in "this thing called life"

LUV Ýmir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017

A fascinating exploration of Icelandic food and culture. Emir is very knowledgable and extremely personable. He takes you to places and enables you to experience food that you would be unlikely to find on your own. It is expensive, but for us it was worth it.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank robyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ýmir A, Owner at Magical Iceland - Food & Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Takk ! <3 for the beautiful review :) - It means the world to me !

Wishing you nothing but LUCK & LOVE (and of course some great gourmet food and drinks) in "this thing called life" <3

LUV Ýmir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews