We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Iceland!”
Review of MAR Restaurant

MAR Restaurant
Ranked #107 of 473 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $58
Cuisines: Seafood, Scandinavian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
New York City, New York
1 review
“Best meal in Iceland!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Went to this restaurant with some friends while in Iceland. Had the lobster soup and the ribeye steak, just wonderful. Service was good and the house cocktail with a name that I cannot remember, was really really good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raged467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear raged467,

Thank you very much for your kind comment, it brightens the day to hear from happy customers. Our house cocktail is called Key Lime Delight :)

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    136
    52
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing risotto and steaks with an Argentinian twist”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Probably the very best dinner during our week in Reykjavik, during which we only had good food.
The lobster soup was probably the best I have ever enjoyed and the lobster risotto was just amazing. Had two different steaks, file mignon and rib-eye, both perfect. Could have considered to just serve this with chimichurri even though the pepper sauce was good. Had a really nice Argentinian Malbec wine with this.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear PeterXXXX,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It is surely a pleasure to read about your satisfaction with those choices and we are proud to top your dining experiences in Iceland.

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We dropped in at lunch time for quick snack for something, and found Mar restaurant menu very attracting with normal price level for Iceland. We came in when lunch time for employees was almost over, and we had good space and peaceful time for our lunch. Good place at least in day time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jorma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Jorma M,

Thank you very much for this review and your kind comments about your dining experience with us.

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had some really nice fish at MAR restaurant by the harbour in Reykjavik .. good service and the price was ok .. I recommend it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Liz D,

We are very happy to hear that you appreciated your dining experience at MAR restaurant, it's such a pleasure meeting our guests expectations.

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Fish Soup”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Oh this restaurant had the best fish soup and the bread was to die for. Will definitly go back when we visit again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AbbySabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear AbbySabean,

Thank you for choosing MAR restaurant and taking the time to share your kind comments about our fish soup. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAR Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to MAR Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing