We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch”
Review of MAR Restaurant

MAR Restaurant
Ranked #114 of 519 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $61
Cuisines: Seafood, Scandinavian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We dropped in at lunch time for quick snack for something, and found Mar restaurant menu very attracting with normal price level for Iceland. We came in when lunch time for employees was almost over, and we had good space and peaceful time for our lunch. Good place at least in day time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jorma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Jorma M,

Thank you very much for this review and your kind comments about your dining experience with us.

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 371 of 473 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had some really nice fish at MAR restaurant by the harbour in Reykjavik .. good service and the price was ok .. I recommend it!

Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Liz D,

We are very happy to hear that you appreciated your dining experience at MAR restaurant, it's such a pleasure meeting our guests expectations.

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Oh this restaurant had the best fish soup and the bread was to die for. Will definitly go back when we visit again.

Thank AbbySabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear AbbySabean,

Thank you for choosing MAR restaurant and taking the time to share your kind comments about our fish soup. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Was ok. Quality of the food wasn't fantastic eg tough steak. Don't have the taster menu as its just a rehash of everything else on the menu with smaller portions. The maitre d' was good but let down by a couple of the waiters who could both have been on there 1st nights.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bouttells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Bouttells,

Thank you for taking time to post a review about your dining experience at MAR restaurant. We are really sorry to hear about your disappointing experience and would like to apologize for any inconveniences. Rest assured that your comments have been passed to our team members.

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had dinner in MAR, and by far was the best dining experience we had on the whole trip.
After a while looking at the menu, we decided to take both the tasting menu. As with most tasting menus, we had to order it both so we did. It is expensive as some reviewers have said, but food in Iceland is very very expensive, so its something you have to take on account.

The menu included a rissotto with lobster (incredible), scallops, salmon, bacalao (don't remember the translation), lamb (we preferred lamb over meat and they had no problem with it) and 3 desserts.

Everything was amazing and will visit again when in Reykjavik.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sergei P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at MAR Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Sergei P,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your dining experience at MAR restaurant. It is always a pleasure to read about our guests satisfaction and we are proud that you consider our tasting menu the best meal you had in Iceland.

Kind regards,
The team at MAR restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAR Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to MAR Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing