We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Coffee”
Review of Mokka Kaffi

Mokka Kaffi
Ranked #5 of 24 Coffee & Tea in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: An Icelandic tradition since 1958. Mokka is one of Reykjavik's oldest cafés and the first to install an espresso machine and serve espresso, cappuccino, and café latte in Iceland. There's a tempting selection of sandwitches, cakes, and the coffee and hot chocolate are excllent with their famous house waffles, served with cream and jam. The déckor - red carpet, leatherette booths and stools - hasn't changed much althought the art on the walls is changed every 4-6 weeks as the café has doubled as an Art gallery with new art for sale since opening.
Lyon, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Coffee”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

After two months living in France and struggling with their filtered coffee, coming to this place was heaven. Amazing coffee and great atmosphere. I recommend the Mocha with cream.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dilireba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    99
    23
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cookies and chocolate.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Small and cozy place. I had a cup of hot chocolate and oatmeal cookie. I have to say the second one was the best I had in my life.

No wifi there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Urszula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Classic”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

A cafe with a great nostalgic feel to it. Good coffee, beautiful interior - the morning silence is best experienced here. Tables outside too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heidihoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Whole in the Wall Gem”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Before we went to Kaffi Mokka, we read other reviews about it being the oldest cafe in Reykjavik. We were just happy it was open on a Sunday and had espresso! It's true that it's the oldest cafe and likewise style is original and unfussy. No pretension here, just excellent waffles and coffee. The only downside is that there is no wifi, but really, I was happy to disconnect for an hour or two.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HistrionicAlibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good coffee”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Lovely little coffee shop, nice relaxed atmosphere perfect place to take the weight off your feet.
We had heard good things about it and were not disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddie_tcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mokka Kaffi also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Mokka Kaffi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing