We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing epic experience like no other!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nordurflug Helicopter Tours

Nordurflug Helicopter Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$288.55*
and up
Mountain Helicopter Tour with Summit Landing from Reykjavik
Ranked #5 of 329 Tours in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Norðurflug seeks to please the adventurous ones, to satisfy your wanderlust and, most of all, to showcase Iceland’s raw and untamed landscape. We are proud to be the largest helicopter service in Iceland with a long reputation of exceptional customer service and high operational standards. Our job seems pretty easy when you consider the natural scenery does half the work, but the other half consists of a hard working team of pilots, customer service staff and everyone else who keeps this company running smoothly. We are rated as one of the country’s best tour operators on Trip Advisor, reflecting our staff who always provide exceptional service with care. You can compare operating a company like ours with a clockwork mechanism - everyone is working hand in hand to enable our customer an unforgettable and unique journey. Most people say that flying with us was the highlight of their whole time spent in Iceland. Book with us to find out why!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing epic experience like no other!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

My helicopter trip with Nordurflug was one of those incredible experiences that I'll always remember. There really is nothing like it. We flew out or Reykjavik, and the further we flew away from the city, the emptier the landscape became. We saw mountains, we saw how the tectonic plates slowly drift apart, until we arrived at the glacier. The helicopter dropped us off a the spot and took off for a while, so we could really experience the surreal icy emptiness. No human traces anywhere, no civilization, just snow ice and mountains.

10 minutes later the helicopter picked us up and showed us more of Iceland unique geographical characteristics.

I would recommend this to anyone, this experience alone was worth the trip to Iceland!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank newrafael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    852
    21
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I had booked a surprise trip over Rekyjavik to Mt Esja for my husband's 50th along with our 15yr old son. An hour before our slot Sola called offering a free upgrade if we could get there in 15 mins. We did of course and were lucky to be offered the Countless Craters tour. Our pilot Gudjon was so informative and took us to places we never dreamt we would see- flying over mountains,craters,snow,lakes,the Blue Lagoon, the Coast,Keflavik airport and of course Rekyjavik itself. The scenery was breathtaking and our pilot just fantastic. Thank you so much for such a special trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ibizamad29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sooo worth the money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were hesitant in spending so much money on one tour but this was off the charts for us. There is nothing that compares to seeing the beautiful landscape Iceland has to offer from the air. Our pilot told us the weather would be a little windy and offered us the option of coming back another time if we do not feel comfortable but we went for it anyway and he was absolutely wonderful and managing the wind gusts.

We did the geothermal tour and exceeded our expectations. Landing in the middle of a valley with so much natural geothermal activity was amazing. Our pilot also took the time to explain some of the natural elements and different kinds of geothermal activity. Since the wind gusts prevented us from seeing more mountains and volcanoes, he overcompensated by showing us an in depth tour of Reykjavik by air.

Overall an amazing experience and one we will never ever forget! I would definitely recommend this tour if you like a more personal feel and don't have time to do a long tedious bus tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Epically accommodating and the best experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Nordurflug has been nothing but professional, giving the best experience and service to my husband and I. Unfortunately (or fortunately) we booked for the most expensive package which was the "Glacier Lagoon Experience". The weather was forecasted to be wonderful that morning so we went for it. However the weather turned on us and we didn't quite get the experience we paid for. Sola was understanding and quick to fix this. She offered us another 2 hour ride inland the next day which we missed out on. The pilot told us that morning was the best day of the season and we were definitely in for a treat! I don't have words to describe the beauty of Iceland. This unforgettable experience was worth every penny and even more. Thanks Nordurflug!  

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank illusion9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The highlight of our time in Iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We travelled to Iceland in September 2013 and took a flight with Nordurflug Helicopter Tours. This was the highlight of our holiday. Unfortunately the weather was not suitable on our initial booking for a flight but the friendly office staff took the stress out of the situation and organised an alternate date and time to fit with our other holiday commitments. The flight was just wonderful. The pilot was very professional. His skill as a pilot and a tour guide made the flight one we were very glad to have persevered to take in our short time in Iceland. We plan to come back with family members and the first priority will be a longer flight as there is no better way to see the diversity of landscape and dramatic scenery and features that makes up Iceland. We recommend highly a helicopter flight with Nordurflug, it was awesome.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CuriousGeorge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nordurflug Helicopter Tours also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Nordurflug Helicopter Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing