We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals ever!”
Review of Fridrik V - CLOSED

Fridrik V
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scandinavian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best meals ever!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We dined here on a recent trip to Reykjavik and all of us agreed that it was wonderful. Four of us had the 5 course tasting menu with beer pairings and one had the 5 course tasting menu with non-alcoholic pairings. The food was phenomenal! The wait staff was extremely knowledgeable; and it was great that they showed you where on the Iceland map (at each table) the different components of your meal came from.

Fridrik came around and checked in on the meal, which is always very nice.

We were told that our table was ours for the night and proceeded to have a lovely 4 hour meal; and we never felt rushed or hurried. How often does that happen?!

The restaurant was also very accommodating to two of our party who did not eat seafood. They were served a lovely meal that was just as thoughtful and delicious.

Make your reservation ad go now!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachellevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    70
    19
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best meal ever ... I mean ever!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I've eaten at a lot of restaurants all over Europe but can honestly say that my surprise meal at Fridrik V was by far the best I have ever eaten. The restaurant is located on the main shopping street of Reykjavik, Laugavegur and is one experience not to be missed.
The restaurant is run by husband and wife team Fridrik and Arnrun who go out their way to make you feel welcome, Fridrik cooks gastronomic delights in the kitchen while Arnrun chats to the guests and tells you about the wonderful food you are about to eat.
To sum up, two of the most lovely people you are likely to meet, absolutely first class service, wonderful homely atmosphere and food to die for.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NigelR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Well-earned #1 spot!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Our best meal experience. Ever.

Menu: you choose from a 3 or 5-course meal. For drinks you can have each course paired with wine, beer or a non-alcoholic drink -- this was a real treat for us as "non-drinkers". They served very cool juices and mixed drinks with flavours complementing each dish.

Reservations: We chose this restaurant for our only dinner in Reykjavik, so I made reservations about a week before our trip. They were very responsive via email. If you have any dietary restrictions, I highly recommend doing this so you can let them know ahead of time. They catered to our many & somewhat random restrictions in the fixed menu for the night we were there.

Space: The restaurant itself is small and intimate. Dimly lit and cozy, it makes for a great romantic/special occasion choice. That said, they were welcoming to us in our tourist garb as well (i.e. jeans & hiking boots)!

Service: Attentive, while giving us the time and space to enjoy our meal.

Food: Each course was an experience to savour, from the range of innovative flavour combinations to learning where the (mostly) local ingredients were from. While you may not love every dish, I don't see how you could be disappointed with the meal as a whole because of the variety within it. It was also fun to wait to find out what the next surprise course was!

Value: This is the only place in Iceland we would've paid more (which is a huge compliment considering Iceland's normally exorbitant prices!). I think we paid around $200 for our meal for 2 and it was worth every penny for this caliber of a restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OurWorldAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“4 hours of gourmet excellence!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

For our final evening in Iceland, and based on other reviews on Trip Advisor, we booked in to Fridric for their 5 course set menu and we were not disappointed !!
We spent 4 hours receiving excellent service and a fantastic dining experience.
We were provided with a map of Iceland at the table and as each course ( and national beer ) was served, we were informed where each ingredient was sourced from....where else do you get that??! We were also given special unexpected small treats between the 5 courses,
which were also a unique experience.
Without going in to fine detail, the evening was a foodies ( and real ale drinkers ) delight and was excellent value for money.
To top it off we saw the northern lights ( which we had given up on seeing ) on the way back to the hotel !!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank robbie1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing all round!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I booked this restaurant in advance for our last dinner in Iceland before heading home the next day. Checked tripadvisor and this was top so had to try it out. We went for the 5 courses with non-alcoholic drinks. The restaurant blew us away with the service, attention to detail with every course being explained to us attentively, where ingredients were from, how its made etc. It was so interesting to know rather than gobble all the food down in 5 seconds! The fish course was particularly good - probably the best we've ever had. All courses were exceptional to be honest and we liked the little in-between tasters. The malt and blueberry drink was our favourite! I would definitely recommend this restaurant for anyone visiting Reykjavik - one of our highlights! We were surprised by the bill too - around £50-60 pp for this set menu - if we had this in London it would be double! Top marks for this top restaurant and deserves the top spot here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LucieLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fridrik V also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing