We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not just a wonderful meal, a memorable experience”
Review of Fridrik V - CLOSED

Fridrik V
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not just a wonderful meal, a memorable experience”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our week in Reykjavik happened to span Valentines, so I decided to book a table for the 14th in case all the best restaurants were full. A few days before I received an e-mail from Fridrik's to ask if we could arrive early because there were going to be singers.
Not knowing what to expect we arrived at 7 pm to a warm welcome and found the intimate space filled mainly with locals. What a joy to be entertained between courses by three top quality opera singers who were having as much fun as the diners.
The wonderful set menu included a creamy lobster bisque, trio of fresh fish, icelandic beef and a divine chocolate torte all with an amazing mix of flavours. It may not be worth a 3000 mile detour to visit, but 300 miles.....probably!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Retiring_Dustman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    70
    19
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb local food, served with passion”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had the 5 course meal with wine - all chosen by the chef with as many local ingredients as possible. The food was marvellous. As each course was served, the ingreditents were listed and their source explained. All staff were knowledgeable and friendly and the whole evening was a great experience. Would thoroughly recommend. As far as I can remember, the courses we had (not necessarily exactly in this order) were: Goose liver pate; charcuterie of meats; goose egg with fillet of local fish; lobster bisque; lamb served in a tournedos style which was the 'main' course and melted in the mouth; selection of desserts; four local cheeses.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vivienneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D&G
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely....what a surprise”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Our meal was excellent....bit concerned about the surprise menu....but should not have had concern....lovely!! Would highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank birdtable2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent....what a surprise!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Was not looking forward to the "surprise" menu and neither was my dining partner however, the meal and the experience was excellent. Highly recommend !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdtable12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“You must go here”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had the three course surprise meal. It was an amazing experience. Every ingredient possible comes from Iceland. The staff explains the meal....delightfully entertains with descriptions of the food. The tastes were amazing. I must comment on the price. At first blush the 6900 kronas per person seems a lot. When you convert to dollars and realize that tip and service are included...this is actually a bargain meal. GO. GO. YOU WILL ENJOY THIS AMAZING TREAT.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelersTwoPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fridrik V also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing