We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Family atmosphere in the centre of Reykjavik” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brattagata Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brattagata Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family atmosphere in the centre of Reykjavik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We are always staying at Brattagata during our business trips to Iceland. We always feel there almost like at home. Location is perfect - the very center of the city close to many great restaurants. Best host ever, tasty breakfasts and cozy clean rooms. You will not do mistake staying there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
18
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were traveling around Iceland and this was our first and last stop. This guesthouse was the best accommodation we had (quality vs. price).
Great host and perfect location with shops/restaurants nearby.
Spacious rooms, well equipped shared rooms (especially kitchen).
Living room full of nice publications about Iceland which gave us perfect tips for trips.
Photo my wife made from terrace of this house don`t need more comments :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FijObb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My recent stay at Brattagata Guesthouse was definitely one of the main highlights on a 3 week European adventure. The guesthouse is located in the old part of the city, close to all major attractions. Ingunn was extremely helpful in advising us on activities for our short two day stay. Our room was spacious, warm, and meticulously clean. Breakfasts were wonderful, including smoked salmon, muesli and yogurt, fruit, breads, and sometimes eggs. Ingunn was kind e out to make us an early breakfast before we left for the airport at 6:30am. She is truly a jewel. Her grandchildren are also always happy to help out and provided a wonderful family experience. This truly a gem in Reykjavik and a highlight of our trip. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raquel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We loved our 2 nights at Brattagata. We explored a bit of Reykjavik from there and we can walk our way to all places we would.
Ingunn serve a good "icelandic", may I say, or gesthouses breakfest. We would recommand.

Room Tip: Room on the rez-de-chausse are near the Kitchen, so late sleepers ask for top floor rooms. But you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcAndreMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The best aspect of this guesthouse is the location, right in the centre of the city but on a very quiet street, walk to everywhere but no noise. I had the room on the lower level – a big bedroom with a full and a twin bed, plus a sofa, table with four chairs, and still lots of room to move around. Separate kitchen area in a small room next door with sink, fridge and toaster oven, and private bathroom beyond that. The layout is quite quirky – there are multiple entrances, lots of stairs, and rooms within rooms – but everything is functional and Ingunn is incredibly sweet. Based on location and room size/amenities relative to most nearby hotels, this place is phenomenal value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahN48824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 59 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,491 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brattagata Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brattagata Guesthouse

Property: Brattagata Guesthouse
Address: Brattagata 3b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brattagata guesthouse is a cosy little guesthouse at the host’s home, in downtown Reykjavik. It is located in a small quiet street called Brattagata, and you are made to feel at home there.The family friendly guesthouse offers you single, double and family rooms and an apartment, with or without a rich Icelandic buffet breakfast. Our rooms have an electric kettle, microwave and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Brattagata Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing