We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family atmosphere in the centre of Reykjavik”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brattagata Guesthouse
Ranked #21 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We are always staying at Brattagata during our business trips to Iceland. We always feel there almost like at home. Location is perfect - the very center of the city close to many great restaurants. Best host ever, tasty breakfasts and cozy clean rooms. You will not do mistake staying there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Brattagata Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 70 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were traveling around Iceland and this was our first and last stop. This guesthouse was the best accommodation we had (quality vs. price).
Great host and perfect location with shops/restaurants nearby.
Spacious rooms, well equipped shared rooms (especially kitchen).
Living room full of nice publications about Iceland which gave us perfect tips for trips.
Photo my wife made from terrace of this house don`t need more comments :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FijObb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My recent stay at Brattagata Guesthouse was definitely one of the main highlights on a 3 week European adventure. The guesthouse is located in the old part of the city, close to all major attractions. Ingunn was extremely helpful in advising us on activities for our short two day stay. Our room was spacious, warm, and meticulously clean. Breakfasts were wonderful, including smoked salmon, muesli and yogurt, fruit, breads, and sometimes eggs. Ingunn was kind e out to make us an early breakfast before we left for the airport at 6:30am. She is truly a jewel. Her grandchildren are also always happy to help out and provided a wonderful family experience. This truly a gem in Reykjavik and a highlight of our trip. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raquel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The best aspect of this guesthouse is the location, right in the centre of the city but on a very quiet street, walk to everywhere but no noise. I had the room on the lower level – a big bedroom with a full and a twin bed, plus a sofa, table with four chairs, and still lots of room to move around. Separate kitchen area in a small room next door with sink, fridge and toaster oven, and private bathroom beyond that. The layout is quite quirky – there are multiple entrances, lots of stairs, and rooms within rooms – but everything is functional and Ingunn is incredibly sweet. Based on location and room size/amenities relative to most nearby hotels, this place is phenomenal value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahN48824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feemelusine61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank simongG5915GF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mireille V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,767 reviews
Hotel Hilda
#43 of 54 in Reykjavik
162 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Plaza
CenterHotel Plaza
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik Treasure B&B
Reykjavik Treasure B&B
#9 of 108 in Reykjavik
132 reviews
Ambassade Apartments
#18 of 108 in Reykjavik
100 reviews
Miõborg
Our House
Our House
#25 of 108 in Reykjavik
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brattagata Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brattagata Guesthouse

Address: Brattagata 3b, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $87 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brattagata guesthouse is a cosy little guesthouse at the host’s home, in downtown Reykjavik. It is located in a small quiet street called Brattagata, and you are made to feel at home there.The family friendly guesthouse offers you single, double and family rooms and an apartment, with or without a rich Icelandic buffet breakfast. Our rooms have an electric kettle, microwave and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Brattagata Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing