We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”
Review of Inside The Volcano

Inside The Volcano
Book In Advance
More Info
$433.28*
and up
Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Journey towards the centre of the earth. Descend 120 meters into the dormant Thrihnukagigur volcano in Iceland.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

A great experience. First of all, the weather was perfect: the sun was shining, the sky was blue, and the hike was very pleasant: it felt like walking on the moon (it's a feeling you can easily get in Iceland, just go to Hekla if you don't believe me). Our guide was very nice and funny, and gave us lots of information. Before going down we were provided with a harness and a helmet: the trip down was totally safe.
Inside, the scenario is great! The colours are so beautiful, and you can see many layers of rocks that give you the idea of the passing of time...plus, you're INSIDE A VOLCANO!
You cannot take rocks from the volcano as a souvenir, but nonetheless I actually got out the Thrihnukagigur with a rock, even if a bit different from the ones you see inside: an engagement ring ;)
Yes, our trip was also unforgettable because my boyfriend proposed while we were inside. So we were probably the first couple to get engaged inside a volcano. ^____^
Once outside, we were offered champagne with the lamb soup, and everybody cheered.
What a day! :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lara-e-Cristiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,117
    158
    33
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW this is truly amazing”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a must when in Iceland. An amazingly unique experience! You wont see this anywhere else, it is worth the effort, money and the possibility of battling some pretty terrible weather!! just take a rain jacket. The guides were very friendly and helpful and there is tea, coffee and traditional lamb soup on offer when you arrive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EdwinaLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Cathedral of Mother Earth”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Thrihnukagigur was a memorable experience! My husband and I were looking for something unusual to do in Iceland and this was it. I really think the trip experience depends very much on the weather. We took the 10 am tour and it was raining and super windy. In fact the tours for the rest of the day were cancelled due to the weather. Our 2 mile walk to Thrihnukagigur was a challenge fighting the mud and rocks. We were told “not” to walk on the lichen/moss spongy surface as represented on the video. Again, because of the rain very few took their cameras out to take pictures during the walk. Hiking boots are a must! We spent more time looking down than up to dodge rocks and watch the mud. We arrived about an hour and half later at the base camp, a trailer, next to the volcano. The wind was so high that the hut was vibrating and the trek to the top of the volcano was not for the “faint of heart.” Guides provided harnesses and helmets with lights. As we approached the volcano we were warned that the winds would be even stronger for about 5 meters, till we arrived at the opening. Yep it was frightening, but true to form it stopped. Then we hooked up, walked the plank, hooked onto the suspended scaffold (window washing unit) and down we went. If you have a fear of heights this is not the tour for you. The decent into the volcano was incredibly peaceful and absolutely beautiful. The colors and textures were stunning and very unique. We had about 30 minutes in the volcano to climb around, take photos and just admire the beauty. My photos just don’t do it justice. The ascent was just as captivating, the soup and tea at the base camp were delightful, but the hike back to the bus was even more challenging than the arrival. As a result of the rain and high winds the shortest path was down the side of the volcano. The biggest challenge was fighting the rain, hail and high winds at our backs.
I have been hiking in rain before, but the winds made the trip challenging, despite my years of working out. I hope they do put in a pathway, so that more people can experience the stunning beauty of geology, without the stress and strain.
When I arrived back to the hotel I told my friends, “We have been to “The Cathedral of Mother Earth;” it was moving, beautiful, inspiring and scary at the same time. We are reminded of this religious experience each time we climb a flight of stairs and breathe through bruised ribs!
Be smart, if the weather is bad reschedule, it it's good enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

There are two things you absolutely should do while visiting Iceland - one is to visit the Jökulsárlón glacier/iceberg lagoon and the other is to do this descent into the volcano - the only place on Earth where you can do this. It's about a half hour bus ride to the site and then a 3 km hike to the volcano over the lava field. it is truly the opportunity of a lifetime!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbintheATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hike can be tricky but its part of the experience. The guides were friendly and full of knowledge. We felt safe during the tour and the soup was awesome (homemade). The feeling you get once inside the volcano is simply amazing and powerful. A must do!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drowssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inside The Volcano also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Inside The Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing